Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Finest Surf Movie Ever Made?
There is absolutely no need to have ever taken the slightest interest in surfing to enjoy this movie. I have never been interested in surfing, but when i caught this movie by accident on TV i was spellbound. Captivated from start to finish.

I've watched quite a few surfing movies since, nothing comes close to this. Buy it, Keep it, Enjoy it many times and show...
Published on 31 Aug 2006 by S. Whitehead

versus
3 of 57 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Movie for surfing nerds
Dull, dull, dull. Bunch of surf bums justifying their sport. Unfortunately the real drama of the surfing experience is very difficult to capture on camera. Given the advances in effects I had expected some interesting close ups - but it was mostly fuzzy shots taken from the beach, of blokes in shorts riding up and down waves of indeterminate size.
Published on 10 April 2006 by Susan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Finest Surf Movie Ever Made?, 31 Aug 2006
By 
S. Whitehead (Cornwall UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Riding Giants [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
There is absolutely no need to have ever taken the slightest interest in surfing to enjoy this movie. I have never been interested in surfing, but when i caught this movie by accident on TV i was spellbound. Captivated from start to finish.

I've watched quite a few surfing movies since, nothing comes close to this. Buy it, Keep it, Enjoy it many times and show it to all your friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blimey..., 14 Dec 2005
This review is from: Riding Giants [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
What an amazing film, charting the rise of surf culture in California and Hawaii through the '50s and '60s, starting with the early long and heavy board proponents of the sport. It was the era of the beat generation, only this offshoot was dedicated to the hedonism of beach culture and surfing, living off the land, and generally dropping out. Loads of high-quality amateur footage show the progress towards bigger and bigger waves - I don't even surf, but some of these monsters are utterly awe-inspiring. It follows the surf bums as they scour Hawaii's northern reaches for bigger and bigger breaks, landing at last at Waimea where Greg Noll rose to become the finest big wave rider of all.

For me, the film really took off when it moved to California and the insane Maverick break - a mile or two off-shore (close to San Francisco) in rip tides and freezing water, 30ft waves - a break ridden by one single hero for FIFTEEN years, before it came to wider attention! Then onto Jaws in Hawaii (60 - 80 ft waves!!), where tow and surf was born, and then onto the three-mile offshore breaks with even bigger waves. I'll leave the finale for you to discover!

I found this a truly mesmerising film. If documentaries about extreme sports and the lifestyles that go with them is your thing, this is unmissable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Riding Giants, 29 Aug 2006
By 
M. Struthmann "waternut" (Cape Town, South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Riding Giants [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Riding Giants is a documentary made at the right time for preserving the history of big wave surfing. The movie was produced recently and the possibilities and techniques of filmmaking in the 21st century were exploited.

The various characters themselves take the viewer through the story most of the time. As the characters do not all relate to each other face to face, this narrative technique prevents the film from taking on its own personality, in contrast to Bruce Brown's Endless Summer movies which have taken on their own personalities so well.

At first viewing the special effects usually used in action movies seem confusing. These effects range from waves breaking fast forward to a flash appearing when a narrator snips his fingers after making a point. I am not sure whether the special effects are irritating or contribute to showing what surfers experience.

The film gives some time to exploring the psychology of surfers and what made them do what they do. This the film does very well without this aspect of the film becoming overwhelming. Pitty only that the movie focuses almost exclusively on America and Americans - big wave surfing has gone worldwide by now!

Riding Giants was well made, but is not a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lairdtastic, 17 Jan 2005
By A Customer
A must see, although slightly more historical than Billabong Oddysey. Still, the last half hour makes up for the slow beginning. Awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring stuff, 20 Sep 2007
By 
Neil Gibson (Bath, uK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Riding Giants [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I only watched this recenty and I really loved this film.....just captures the progression and danger of surfing at the highest level. I am not a surfer and I don't think you really have to be into it to appreciate this film at all...it's shot nicely and the documentary style with interviews makes it flow nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant watch, 31 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Riding Giants [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I'm a surfer from the UK so I don't deal with anything quite on a level featured in this documentary film. However this film did not just leave me transfixed, my girlfriend, who hates surfing was also unable to peel her eyes away. The scenes from Mavericks were heart stopping at times. Worth a watch whether you're aurfer or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big waves, 30 Aug 2010
By 
D. Step - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Riding Giants [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Absolutely incredible value for money. Not just great footage of some of the biggest waves ever ridden but a comparison of 3 big wave surfers and how their sport changed over the years. Never tire of watching this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A greatly influential and inspiring film, 19 Aug 2010
This review is from: Riding Giants [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This film gives a great insight into the world of big wave surfing right from the beginning to the modern surfer. With a mix of eye pleasing vintage footage and impressive and palpatating waves. You will be caught up in an addiction to getting an eye full of waves that are given the mainpart of screentime in this film. The deeper and spiritual meaning that these surfers found is easy to be engrossed in as this film invites you in. What a great film, it suits those involved in surfing but is also great for anyone to watch. If you want something different but wholey awesome and good for you buy this film now. Good deal aswell quite cheap. :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riding Giants, 13 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Riding Giants [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Mother Nature and her children - would that we could all be respectful and in love with Her in this day. I lived on the Beaches of Southern California the first 30 years of my life--this excellent montage of surfing film reflects our innocence in the late 40's and 50's - securing a slice of fact-in-bliss as a political charade called a cold war swirled our nation! The film 'travels'to Hawaii through and to present day - mingling the origins of surfing, providing Mother Nature and her children a whole new level of Love and Respect for 'one-another'. The Super Stars of Surfing are seen in true humility-loving the ocean, living NOW for the waves that seem to know-who-they-are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well wax down my board, 24 Dec 2009
By 
Terence Bowen (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Riding Giants [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
A brilliant film! Great photography and the most death defying surfing you could imagine. If you are in anyway interested in surfing you HAVE to buy this film.
The only down side about this film is that all the man featured in it are unfeasably handsome and my partner, bless her, keeps asking me why I don't look that good in a pair of swim shorts?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Riding Giants [Blu-ray] [2004] [US Import]
Riding Giants [Blu-ray] [2004] [US Import] by Stacy Peralta (Blu-ray - 2010)
9.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews