Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "This Would be a Good Michael Weston Story, if People Were Allowed to Tell Them."
Michael Weston (Jeffrey Donovan) thought that finding out who burned him would be a good thing. Instead, finding out has made this former spy's life much more complicated. Now that Carla (Tricia Helfer) has stepped out of the shadows as the organization's mouth piece, he has to do her bidding. She has him on some assignment, and Michael thinks it isn't a good thing...
Published on 16 Jun 2009 by Mark Baker

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting characters, action, some humour and (for this season) Tricia Helfer, but not totally compelling
Burn Notice is lively, has interesting characters, action and some humour. Although long-running (at time of writing Season 7 is on television) it is possible to pick up enough of what it is about to follow individual episodes even if you have not seen all the series in order.

I do not know if it bears any relation to the real worlds of spies or of crime in...
Published 1 month ago by Legal Vampire


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "This Would be a Good Michael Weston Story, if People Were Allowed to Tell Them.", 16 Jun 2009
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Michael Weston (Jeffrey Donovan) thought that finding out who burned him would be a good thing. Instead, finding out has made this former spy's life much more complicated. Now that Carla (Tricia Helfer) has stepped out of the shadows as the organization's mouth piece, he has to do her bidding. She has him on some assignment, and Michael thinks it isn't a good thing. So he's trying to find out all he can about the organization and the big picture so he can try to stop them.

But, meanwhile, he needs to eat, so he continues to take on assignments for people in desperate trouble. There's the woman stalked by a drug dealer, the ex-con being roped back into a life of crime, the man who was lost his life savings to medical scam artists, and the football player being harassed by car thieves. Heck, Michael even gets involved in tracking down a Haitian fugitive.

Fortunately, Michael has the help he needs in the form of ex-FBI agent Sam Axe (Bruce Campbell) and ex-girlfriend Fiona Glenanne (Gabriella Anwar). Then again, those two often bring him clients with simple problems that turn complicated. Not making things any easier is Michael's mother Madeline (Sharon Gless) who insists on family bonding moments at the worst possible times.

As much as I enjoyed season 1 of this show, I got even more hooked on season 2. Everything was stronger. The on going storyline is more than enough to keep anyone coming back from week to week. Carla seems to be one step ahead of Michael the entire way, and I wanted to know what was going on as much as he did. The weekly stories were just as strong. I never saw how Michael and his friends would save the day. And if you want tricky gadgets and plenty of explosions, this is the show for you.

But the human element of the story actually becomes stronger, too. They play up the relationship between Fiona and Michael even more this season, making both those characters more real. I wasn't a fan of Madeline in the first season, but I warmed to her here. I still wouldn't mind if she was only a recurring character, but I do feel she adds to the show now.

As I write this, season 3 has just started, and they are building admirably on what came in this season. Believe me, if you like action and suspense, this show is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Second Season of a Great Show, 16 April 2010
By 
C. Green "happily low brow" (Quenington, Glos, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Burn Notice - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Burn Notice airs on the 'USA Network' in America, the same cable channel that shows Monk Seasons 1-6 [DVD] and Psych - Season 1 [DVD] [2006] amongst other things. It started life as what is known in the US as a 'Summer Show'; in other words a low key effort put out in the television off-season when all the major American networks such as NBC and CBS are showing repeats or reality shows. As such it was never really meant to be that successful, but somehow Burn Notice bucked its humble beginnings, drew in an audience and has just finished airing its 3rd season on US TV, which was shown in two blocks; half in its original summer slot and half during the peak Winter TV season. Its also been renewed for seasons 4 to 6.

The reasons that Burn Notice has proved so popular (picking up 7 million viewers in the US) are on display in Season 2 of the show. Although ostensibly a light drama about spies set in Miami in reality its more like a contemporary and far cooler take on those shows that were popular back in the 80's like MacGyver, the A-Team or Knightrider where a lone hero fights for justice on behalf of the little guy each week. In Burn Notice's case the lone hero is Michael Weston, a former spy who has been given a 'Burn Notice' by his erstwhile employers and banished to enforced retirement in Miami. Aided by on/off girlfriend and former gunrunner/terrorist Fiona, fellow former spook and pal Sam (the legendary Bruce Campbell) and his mother, Michael uses his spy skills to help those who need him whilst he also works to find out why he was 'burned' and declared persona non grata.

Mixing some great writing, fantastic character interplay and solid action Burn Notice is by turns exciting, funny and dramatic. Whilst Season 1 did a great job setting up the show Season 2 expands on that success, introducing a compelling background story arc involving the mysterious Carla (Tricia Helfer) and some great guest stars (Tim Matheson and Michael Shanks being standouts). It also progresses and develops all the regular characters, making them all more rounded, relatable individuals. This is one of the show's particular selling points; whilst it might look like a light-weight action adventure show it actually takes the time to make you care about Michael, Sam, Fiona etc. It doesn't pull its punches either, with people dying or being hurt on a regular basis. In both respects its a far more adult affair than many of the TV shows that preceded it. In Burn Notice when cars crash the bad guys don't simply walk away shaking their heads like they did back in the 80's.

Most of all however, Burn Notice is fun. Michael's voiceovers, as he describes the skills of a spy whilst putting them into action on screen, are a particular hoot. The whole show has an energy and a vibe that makes it enjoyable to watch and there are enough twists and turns to the mystery behind Michael's Burn Notice to keep you coming back to find out what happens.

I will certainly be picking up Season 3 when its finally released on DVD here in the UK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second season, just as good as the first, 15 Oct 2010
This review is from: Burn Notice - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This is the second season of Burn Notice, which sees the ex-spy Michael Westin try and find out who is behind the plot to get him fired from being a spy by handing him a burn notice.

The plot thickens in this season. Michael is beginnings to find out more about who burnt him and other spies who were burnt and now being used by the same "organisation" for want of a better word.

The stories are in a similar vein to the previous season; they see Michael help other out where the police can't with his spy training, shooting and explosions. The over arching story of trying to find out why he was burnt and what the purpose of being in Miami is a focal point that is explained near the end of the season with more shooting and explosions. Michael continues to explain things with an internal monologue that helps in understanding what is happening, such as making an explosive or a listening device, which I really like.

One of the things I liked about this season was the familiar faces that appeared in it. We have Carla who played Six in Battlestar Gallactica and Victor who played Daniel Jackson in Stargate SG1 (although he is looking rather sun burnt in this one).

This season sees the return of Fi and Sam who are just as good in this season as the previous one as well as some return visits from supporting characters, such a Michael's Mum, Madeline, his brother Nate, Barry the Money Launderer to name a few.

Another 2 big thumbs up from me and I am looking forward to season 3 ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Burn Notice - Season 2" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues For UK Buyers On This 'US-ONLY' Release..., 6 Mar 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
It drives me mad that enforced Region Coding is denying us truly great TV - and Season 2 of the superb "Burn Notice" is a good case in point.

You will notice that most reviews are for the 'DVD' version. But like say, "Boss" (which has the stunning Kelsey Grammer in Golden Globe winning form) - "Burn Notice" is only on American BLU RAY (in this case 20th Century Fox) and it's REGION A LOCKED. This means that it won't play on our machines unless they chipped to be 'all regions' (which few are). Don't confuse Multi-Region playability for 'DVD' on some BLU RAY players - that won't help.

Unfortunately a lot of truly great TV is like this now - released in the States on BLU RAY and nowhere else ("Boss" with Kelsey Grammer and "Mercy" with Taylor Schilling jump to mind). It appears that if the show has only a 'cult' audience in the UK and beyond - commercially that denies us the goodies and therefore no one will release it. At least we're seeing the stunning "Orange Is The New Black" (Taylor Schilling also) and "Ray Donovan" (Liev Schreiber) with UK release dates on BLU RAY for 2014.

You may love "Burn Notice" but be aware - the 'US' discs won't play on your UK machine. Best perhaps trying to hunt them down on Netflix as an option...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars even better than series one, 12 Dec 2010
By 
tallmanbaby (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burn Notice - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Our family enjoys watching films together, but a great box set gives you a lot of viewing pleasure for not a lot of money.

This is one of the very best, we all really love this. It is good looking, driven by great characters, full of exciting action scenes, with a witty voiceover full of spy hints and tricks. The main characters are likeable and amusing, while the peripheral characters are less annoying this time out. Onto the second series and it is still fresh, with not a single dud episode here.

In each episode Michael Westen goes beyond the law to sort out someone's problems, generally besting the criminal or corrupt with considerable guile. His use of different personas to trick people is a real joy. There is also an overarching story arc where Michael attempts to find out who was responsible for the original burn notice and why. The danger with any series is that they settle into a familiar format and style which then becomes repetitive. The overarching story arc avoids this, as do the shifting dynamics of the key and peripheral characters. The story arc inevitably hots up considerably at the start and end of the series with friends and foes appearing again.

There are a few extras, and the delight of a disc with former Cagney and Lacey star, Sharon Gless on it. Four discs are packed into a standard DVD size, handy if you don't want DVDs taking over your house.

I've got the next series on pre-order and cannot wait for it to arrive. If you enjoy stuff like N.C.I.S. - Naval Criminal Investigative Service - Series 1 - Complete [DVD], Sledge Hammer - Series 1 [DVD] and Leverage - Complete Season 1 [DVD] [2008] and you can get this then you are in for a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars burn notice, 24 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burn Notice - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
A very good melodrama loved season one. season two not as good, but had a lot to live upto. Glad to see Fiona has dropped all attempts at an Irish accent! Max is my favourite character, the guys portayed as a ladies man and a boozer and is perfect comic foil for the more serious characters. Sharon Gless is also great as the slightly devious mum.

The action sequences are brilliantly done, and the cast are very good. Some of the episodes are more entertaing than others.

Overall, I would recommend the series as a top notch american import.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting characters, action, some humour and (for this season) Tricia Helfer, but not totally compelling, 5 July 2014
By 
Legal Vampire (Buckinghamshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Burn Notice - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Burn Notice is lively, has interesting characters, action and some humour. Although long-running (at time of writing Season 7 is on television) it is possible to pick up enough of what it is about to follow individual episodes even if you have not seen all the series in order.

I do not know if it bears any relation to the real worlds of spies or of crime in Miami, Florida, but if you expect documentary realism from this kind of programme then you are taking it too seriously.

Several episodes in this Season feature Tricia Helfer, who was brilliant in Battlestar Galactica - The Mini Series [2003] [DVD] [2004] and its continuations. Here she plays a character with the air of a seductress even if we never actually see her in an erotic situation, who represents a secret organisation probably up to more bad than good. A rather obvious role in which to cast her but still quite enjoyable.

However, I can only give my own personal reaction and while some people clearly love this programme to me it is ultimately not so compelling that I would watch every Season.

If you like this sort of thing I personally prefer another a slightly tongue in cheek action show set in a sub-tropical part of the USA, the modern re-make of Hawaii Five-O - Season 1 [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burn Notice - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Was not sure what this was all about when I got Season 1 but having seen that I had to get Season 2 and was not disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Weston does it ., 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burn Notice - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Great season going to get them all brilliant program a must see if you have not seen this before very good value get them from amazon better value get them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Burn Notice, 2 Jan 2014
By 
Jacob Steven Huigen "Jaap" (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burn Notice - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Burn notice became my favourite show to watch. I chanced on season 7 as a subscriber to on demand movies broadcasted by MIO TV of Singtel. I loved it so I had 6 seasons to catch so I went to Amazon (who else) and I could find all I needed there.
Delivery was a breeze. Highly recommend both the series as well as the Vendor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Burn Notice - Season 2 [DVD]
Burn Notice - Season 2 [DVD] by Jeffrey Donovan (DVD - 2010)
10.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews