Customer Reviews


119 Reviews
5 star:
 (99)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic bang for buck!
Just completed my new build with a 965 BE C3 at the heart and what a phenomenal beast it is! Upgraded from an Athlon 4600 and the difference is insane. Handles everything I throw at it and tasks such as video conversion etc are just a breeze. The stock cooler that comes with the retail kit is a tad loud at full tilt but not a major issue. This cpu would benefit form...
Published on 11 Nov 2010 by Andrew

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Its alright
The CPU itself works pretty well. However, the CPU cooler is very loud. It's very difficult to concentrate on reading with that racket; the cooler volume has forced me to buy a new cooler.
Published 15 months ago by ben


‹ Previous | 111 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not required at present, 4 July 2012
This review is from: AMD HDZ965FBGMBOX Phenom II X4 965 - 3.4 Ghz AM3 Black Edition CPU, Retail Packaged (discontinued by manufacturer) (Personal Computers)
at the present time i decided to not buy this item as i managed to get my old system working ok it appears to be what i want and will come back to it as and when GEOFF
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not happy with Gtronics, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AMD HDZ965FBGMBOX Phenom II X4 965 - 3.4 Ghz AM3 Black Edition CPU, Retail Packaged (discontinued by manufacturer) (Personal Computers)
firstly would like to state the CPU is fantastic for a budget gaming system.I have been building PC's since the 386's when 4mb of RAM was top of the range... I have built 2 identical systems with this CPU, for myself and a friend. My problem was when it started to heat up and giving me the blue screen. I sent it back to Gtronics as it was still under warrrent. Although i didnt keep originaal packaging, all was sent back in original Plastic moulded casing making sure everything was packed so as it could not be damaged.
Now i am being told the warrent is not valid as there was pins on the CPU that were bent, total rubbish like i said i've been building and repairing PC's for long enough to know how to remove and fit a cpu. I have never had trouble with CPU's in the past as you can usually get a good 3 - 4 years out of one without any problems. So i recommend this CPU but also would also recommend getting it off another supplier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its AMD!, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AMD HDZ965FBGMBOX Phenom II X4 965 - 3.4 Ghz AM3 Black Edition CPU, Retail Packaged (discontinued by manufacturer) (Personal Computers)
Its an AMD what can I say? AMD is what you want for gaming rigs and this has always been one of the best made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but slow to arrive., 26 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AMD HDZ965FBGMBOX Phenom II X4 965 - 3.4 Ghz AM3 Black Edition CPU, Retail Packaged (discontinued by manufacturer) (Personal Computers)
The X4 965 is a solid processor and definatley an impovement on my last cpu.
It worked straight out of the box, just popped it in and away it went.

As for the negatives this default heatsink and fan is a little loud, but there are plenty on the market that will decrease the noise levels. Also it was late arriving, which is unusual for amazon. But they did refund my shipping costs so all is well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE! PROCESSOR NOT AS ADVERTISED!, 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AMD HDZ965FBGMBOX Phenom II X4 965 - 3.4 Ghz AM3 Black Edition CPU, Retail Packaged (discontinued by manufacturer) (Personal Computers)
Was sent an OEM version, not the Retail version as described. The OEM version only comes with a one warranty! Returned for a FULL refund, but did not get one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent gaming CPU but buy your own cooler, 29 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AMD HDZ965FBGMBOX Phenom II X4 965 - 3.4 Ghz AM3 Black Edition CPU, Retail Packaged (discontinued by manufacturer) (Personal Computers)
I can't really fault the performance of the CPU as it is brilliant for gaming and for this price it's not worth paying so much more for such little performance increase as this will do fine, i run all games on high settings and normal web browsing and other tasks are great.
The only downside to this CPU is the stock cooling fan, it is way too loud to the point where it puts me off gaming because its so loud, reaches up over 6000RPM when gaming which sounds like a rocket. I will be buying an aftermarket cooler soon which will hopefully reduce the noise.
So if your looking for a decent cheap CPU i would say go for this, but if you don't like noisy computers then buy a new quiet cooler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not so good for overclocking, 22 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: AMD HDZ965FBGMBOX Phenom II X4 965 - 3.4 Ghz AM3 Black Edition CPU, Retail Packaged (discontinued by manufacturer) (Personal Computers)
I found i could only overclock to around 3.6-3.7 Ghz if i went to + 3.8 GHZ it would not even start up I am using the very over clockable Asus M4A89GTD Pro Mother board. Other's on youtube have also said they can't get much above 3.6 GHZ without loss of stability starting.
I did try both the built in motherboard o.c. facility in the Bios and the windows utility Software Asus Turbo Boost. Same result on both an auto setting of 3.6 GHZ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not always compatible, 6 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AMD HDZ965FBGMBOX Phenom II X4 965 - 3.4 Ghz AM3 Black Edition CPU, Retail Packaged (discontinued by manufacturer) (Personal Computers)
I've had the CPU for approximately 5 months, within that 5 months my motherboard decided to develop a fault and required replacing (Do note that the fault was NOT with the CPU, it was with RAM slot #1 . Upon removing the components, I found that the retention straps had held the heatsink on the CPU so tightly that it had "welded" the cpu to it, I could not remove the CPU from the heatsink.

Worse still it ripped it right out of the motherboard, which rendered that CPU useless even if I had been able to remove it properly.

The motherboard was a GIGABYTE GA-970A-UD3 with all stock settings and the stock CPU fan and heatsink. They are simply not compatible with each other. If you are trying to use this stock heatsink and it requires extra force to put it on the board, STOP, buy a third party cooler and count your losses on the stock cooler.

Long story short, the stock cooler system is just not compatible with that motherboard type and can cause damage unknowningly to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this one, 26 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AMD HDZ965FBGMBOX Phenom II X4 965 - 3.4 Ghz AM3 Black Edition CPU, Retail Packaged (discontinued by manufacturer) (Personal Computers)
I bought this Processor for my first computer and It is a lot cheaper than the intel equivalent.

Its a very good processor but on amazon i have found that you can buy the same processor but 0.2 ghz for £20 cheaper! (because this is quad core thats a total of 0.8ghz faster for -£20)
AMD HDZ975FBGMBOX Phenom II X4 975 - 3.6 Ghz AM3 Black Edition CPU, Retail Packaged
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 111 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews