Customer Reviews


119 Reviews
5 star:
 (99)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic bang for buck!
Just completed my new build with a 965 BE C3 at the heart and what a phenomenal beast it is! Upgraded from an Athlon 4600 and the difference is insane. Handles everything I throw at it and tasks such as video conversion etc are just a breeze. The stock cooler that comes with the retail kit is a tad loud at full tilt but not a major issue. This cpu would benefit form...
Published on 11 Nov 2010 by Andrew

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Its alright
The CPU itself works pretty well. However, the CPU cooler is very loud. It's very difficult to concentrate on reading with that racket; the cooler volume has forced me to buy a new cooler.
Published 13 months ago by ben


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic bang for buck!, 11 Nov 2010
By 
Andrew "impulsive gadget buyer" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: AMD HDZ965FBGMBOX Phenom II X4 965 - 3.4 Ghz AM3 Black Edition CPU, Retail Packaged (Personal Computers)
Just completed my new build with a 965 BE C3 at the heart and what a phenomenal beast it is! Upgraded from an Athlon 4600 and the difference is insane. Handles everything I throw at it and tasks such as video conversion etc are just a breeze. The stock cooler that comes with the retail kit is a tad loud at full tilt but not a major issue. This cpu would benefit form some Arctic Silver (5) paste and a non-stock cooler. Overclocking it is also a doddle and you can get 3.9ghz easy cooling the thing on air!

Update: I have now fitted a themrolab BARAM heatsink and the temps and noise have just dissappeared! Dropped mine to an idle temp of 28c and a full load temp of 45c. In fact the cooler Is soo good I know it could also cool passively! It is quite tall though so best to make sure it can fit your case! Worth changing the stock cooler I found in the end but don't get me wrong, the stock cooler does an ok job.

This chip continues to rip through most tasks, and for gaming is spot on! Plays everything exceptionally well. Very happy with this chip and it should see me for a while now, especially as the black edition has the unlocked multiplyer for easier overclocking if that your thing.

Update: I've been tinkering with an oc and it sits nice at 3.6 on stock by just updating the multi. beyond that a small vcore bump to 1.425 was needed to get 3.8 stable. I've not gone beyond that yet as I think it disables the cnq feature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for AM3 board users, 8 Feb 2013
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AMD HDZ965FBGMBOX Phenom II X4 965 - 3.4 Ghz AM3 Black Edition CPU, Retail Packaged (Personal Computers)
Who can't use the newer FX processors (check your motherboard some can support them with a bios update)
It performs well for the money, but consider your options with care here.

First off make sure your motherboard supports the processor, it's a 125 Watt CPU and some budget boards won't play ball with that power consumption (go for an Athlon II x4 if that's the case)
It comes with a beefed up heatsink with copper heatpipes, but I prefer to use an after market cooler (this cooler isn't that quiet esp when the speed ramps up) Try a TX-3 or 212 from Coolermaster both are good and well priced.

Performance is good, esp in applications that make use of the level 3 cache (in particular games) which is better than the Athlon II x4 or non level 3 Phenom II 840/850 models (they have no level 3 cache but slightly higher clock speeds than the regular Athlon II's) Worth pointing out though this isn't hugely faster than those processors (in some applications that is), but gamers will desire this more.

If you have a board that is capable of taking the FX processors I would suggest the FX6100 as a good purchase, it costs a little more, has better performance in heavy threading workloads, and uses quite a lot less power compared to this. Other options are the PhII x6 processors still some around even now.

I'll give this 4 stars I've build a few pc's around this processor and it's good, but not perfect getting on a bit (still a good choice if you want a quad core though) and it pulls a bit too much heat for me (v the newer ones) For most users even doing some decent work like video/photo editing this will still have a good performance in those applications. And the price is right too (it's quite a lot cheaper now than it was, but remember long term energy consumption)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheap powerful quad core, 8 Jun 2012
By 
Thomas Coote (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AMD HDZ965FBGMBOX Phenom II X4 965 - 3.4 Ghz AM3 Black Edition CPU, Retail Packaged (Personal Computers)
As of the time this product was purchased (8th May 2012 and cost 74) this was the cheapest quad-core CPU on amazon, and I have brought its little brother the AMD Phenom II X4 955 before, so I knew this would be a good buy. Personally I have an Intel CPU in my own system but can't justify the price difference as the main use for my PC is gaming - This product does just excellently. The clock speeds are high enough that is doesn't make too much difference overclocking and the four cores allow multi-threaded applications and games to run well. There is reasonable overclocking headroom as well if you want to squeeze even more performance out of it. If you do intend to overclock, I can't stress the importance of a good aftermarket cooler as the stock one provided just isn't up to the job now! One of the all-in-one watercooling kits like the Corsair H80 CPU Cooler will work wonders.

I would recommend this every day over an Intel CPU if all you are doing is office work, gaming and light editing (or anything that isn't completely high end) it simply isn't worth the extra money. I rate this 5-star just because of the amazing 74 price tag and the power it will deliver for that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phenom II Black Edition, 16 Nov 2011
This review is from: AMD HDZ965FBGMBOX Phenom II X4 965 - 3.4 Ghz AM3 Black Edition CPU, Retail Packaged (Personal Computers)
The Phenom II 965 is superb processor with lots of potential. The 3.4Ghz is easily put to use by any decently set up system with the correct motherboard, bios and if you really want some overclocking software. I recommend AMD overdrive in terms of software and it's free from the AMD website. For newbies to pc building... DO NOT put this in a "compatable" AM2+ socket motherboard. You will only end up slowing your system down. Use an AM3 or AM3+ socket motherboard with a 4 pin fan power connection.

Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality OC CPU, 4 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AMD HDZ965FBGMBOX Phenom II X4 965 - 3.4 Ghz AM3 Black Edition CPU, Retail Packaged (Personal Computers)
I purchased this CPU solely with the view of overclocking the transistors off it. I wanted a decent amount of processing grunt, mainly for gaming, without having to pony up for a new motherboard and associated gubbins and this chip has delivered just fine. As a quad core with a high clock speed it'll run anything that I can throw at it for day to day gaming and office work with power to spare. I wouldn't recommend this chip for a new build as it is a few years old at this point, but as an upgrade to a compatible AM3 socket system (Athlon II, Sempron) it'll do the trick just fine. For the advanced user, the chip i got also overclocked like a dream with my wife's Noctua - Heatsink + Dual Fan CPU Cooling Kit - NH-C14, hitting a stable 4.2 Ghz with very comfortable temps. Top notch value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOMEEE!!, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AMD HDZ965FBGMBOX Phenom II X4 965 - 3.4 Ghz AM3 Black Edition CPU, Retail Packaged (Personal Computers)
I've had this for well over a year now and i've had nothing but high performance from it,
Never had problems and i love to play a lot of high graphic games, I would strongly recommend this if you're going for the AMD build.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars noise levels too high., 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AMD HDZ965FBGMBOX Phenom II X4 965 - 3.4 Ghz AM3 Black Edition CPU, Retail Packaged (Personal Computers)
The processor works a treat however the stock cooler is akin to a light aircraft coming into land....the noise is terrible even at idle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BARGAIN PERFORMANCE, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AMD HDZ965FBGMBOX Phenom II X4 965 - 3.4 Ghz AM3 Black Edition CPU, Retail Packaged (Personal Computers)
you cant find a better proccessor mfor your money, will safely overclock to 3.6ghz with a 10 aftermarket fan but with watercooling i got mine to 3.8 nice and stable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Only the cooler lets down what is an amazing CPU, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AMD HDZ965FBGMBOX Phenom II X4 965 - 3.4 Ghz AM3 Black Edition CPU, Retail Packaged (Personal Computers)
The cooler would get three stars, the CPU is a solid 5.

The problem with the cooler is that it is so loud because it spins at a massive RPM. I never wanted to have a silent PC as some do, but this is almost to a point to distraction. However, aftermarket coolers can be brought for not much more than 20.

The Phenom is actually a bit long in the tooth now, but you would never know that if you used it. Being the black edition, it is overclockable to 4.0ghz, but it is not needed for me. It scores 7.3 on the Windows Experience Index too. If you arm it with a Solid State Drive, you would have an unstoppable PC!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great processor,fan's a little loud., 28 July 2013
This review is from: AMD HDZ965FBGMBOX Phenom II X4 965 - 3.4 Ghz AM3 Black Edition CPU, Retail Packaged (Personal Computers)
This processor is the fastest one I've ever owned.It perform's really well and at the price I got it for (65) it's a bargain.The heatsink and fan are a little loud but when I bought the processor it was really hot weather and I've noticed it's not as loud as first thought now the weather is cooler.If you want it to be silent tho you will have to buy a after market heatsink but for me it's not a big deal.All in all it's a great processor and if you can get it for under 70 it's well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews