Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine Christmas present from Jethro Tull
I wasn't sure about pre-ordering this double disc set. Firstly one of the discs ia a plain re-issue of the 2003 release "The Jethro Tull Christmas Album", which is good, but not great; too short on new material for me. Secondly disc No.2 is recorded during a cross between a JT acoustic concert and a carol service.

However, it is probably, to my ears the very...
Published on 24 Nov 2009 by D. A. Burmeister-prescott

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ring Out, Solstice Bells and Remove the Holly from the Ivy, Jethro Tull misses the mark.
I am a big Tull fan and love most of his albums due to their innovation and sheer audacity of producing something unique and at times outlandish, while at the same time creating incredibly complex and brilliantly played music. 'The Christmas Album' is another one of those curiosity pieces that you may want to pull out at Christmas times in order to hear the relatives...
Published on 16 April 2012 by S Tuffnell


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine Christmas present from Jethro Tull, 24 Nov 2009
By 
D. A. Burmeister-prescott "Psychic David" (Leicestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Jethro Tull Christmas Album/Jethro Tull Live-Christmas At St Bride's 2008 (Audio CD)
I wasn't sure about pre-ordering this double disc set. Firstly one of the discs ia a plain re-issue of the 2003 release "The Jethro Tull Christmas Album", which is good, but not great; too short on new material for me. Secondly disc No.2 is recorded during a cross between a JT acoustic concert and a carol service.

However, it is probably, to my ears the very best acoustic live concert that JT have ever done, sound is great, the vocal the best from Ian Anderson in many a year, despite his comment that he was suffering with some variety of Lurgy, and the playing by the band is, as ever, magnificent. Add in a sprinkle of readings, some nice choir and congregation carols, plus Ian Anderson doing a skilled job of being the host / MC and the whole ensemble makes a warm and uplifting Christmas treat.

Buy this, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet, 3 Jan 2005
By 
C. Trickett "Chris" (Kazakhstan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Christmas Album (Audio CD)
Armed with the open-minded realisation that they've earned the right to express themselves musically in any way they want, I left aside the selfish yearning for them to recreate the classic sounds of the 60s, 70s and to a lesser extent the 80s and 90s, and began to appreciate this CD for what it is. A wonderful expression of joy, fun and above all, a celebration of music. The mood is uplifting, the musicianship inspirational, and once again some of the new tracks (e.g. First Snow on Brooklyn) prove that Ian is far from a spent force. The Christmas Album is as welcome in my collection as all their other stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Earthy and Ecumenical, 12 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Christmas Album (Audio CD)
This is not your typical and smarmy, sickly-sweet Christmas album. Rather, with this CD Jethro Tull have managed to capture in both verse and melody the spirit of giving, sharing, and perfunctory overindulgence that ostensibly goes with the Christmas season, contrasted with the melancholy and flat-out destitution that the less-fortunate among us actually experience during this time of year. This interplay of content and style are presented against a backdrop of earthly Pagan solstice symbolism, all of which Jethro Tull have managed to integrate as a kind of ecumenical "Birthday Card at Christmas," which not incidentally is the title of the introductory track. This combination is daring and bold, if not outright brilliant, and in my estimation they have pulled it off strikingly well. The musicianship, vocals, lyrics, production and overall execution (not to mention outstanding packaging) are commensurate with and at times exceed even Tull's impeccably high standards, showing this to be a band at the top of it's craft. Anderson's vocals, in particular, complete the album by sounding as warmly weathered as the bearded red-suit uncle himself. It's a decidedly Tull exploration of the seasonal space -- an effort that starts strong and improves with subsequent listens. May it continue to play well for you during the holiday season and throughout the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hey Santa, pass us that bottle, will ya...., 13 Oct 2003
By 
carl iredale (halifax, west yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Christmas Album (Audio CD)
If anyone has the correct curriculum Vitae to do a tongue-firmly-in-cheek Christmas album, then it has to be Anderson and his crew. And this, if you listen to it with a wry smile and a glass of mulled wine (the latter not an essential part of the listening process, but hey, why not?)then a splendid time is guarenteed. This album has both re-recorded versions of songs from the hugely extensive Tull back catalogue which may have even the most tenuous link with Christmas, or other Seasonal tunes and ditties. A fab jazzy version of God Rest Ye Merrie Gentlemen that Tull have played live for donkeys' years is here in all its sloppy jazzy glory. In short a great stocking filler for anyone with a love of all things Tull, or just up for a giggle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jethro Tull Back on form, 14 Oct 2003
This review is from: Christmas Album (Audio CD)
This beautifully packaged new album is a very welcome and utterly justified piece of self-indulgence and celebration on Ian's part - wonderfully tongue-in-cheek, and proving that after 35 years, Jethro Tull can still surprise and delight - whilst at the same time maintaining that essential Tullness. The album consists of a combination of re-invigorated old classics and rare tracks, Tullified Chrsitmas Carols and great new pieces......as well as some expanded flute improvisations that have hitherto only been heard as part of the live set or on rare box sets. Ian has once again proved that he knows exactly what the fans want; The Christmas Album demostrates perfectly the band's propensity for not taking themselves too seriously, whilst still challenging the listener and providing a few suprises. The highlight for me is "We Five Kings" - the most self-indulgent track on the CD is an inspired musical anagram of primary school standard "We Three Kings" and Tull classic, "Living in The Past; and it works brilliantly. The interpretaion of Faure's Pavanne is wonderful, as is that old favourite, Bouree. Jethro Tull made Bach's Bouree their own many years ago - and they have managed to come up with yet another superb version of it here. I'm sure that this album will, in the fullness of time, be considered a classic - alongside Aqualung and Songs From The Wood (from which it takes much influence). No Tull fan can miss this album - it is excellent in every way, and it reminded me of why I love this band. This album is a great Christmas present from Jethro Tull to their fans...I cannot recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic alternative christmas album, 1 Jan 2010
By 
cfnuts (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Jethro Tull Christmas Album/Jethro Tull Live-Christmas At St Bride's 2008 (Audio CD)
This is an excellent album for those looking for an alternative to the endlessly repeated christmas pop music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas album, playable all year round., 5 Nov 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas Album (Audio CD)
At first, I felt a little embarrassed playing this at the beginning of November, but soon the quality of the album forced me to crank up the volume.
The Christmas Album is packed with breathtaking moments, such as the reworking of the reworking of Bouree, you even get the original Bach version at the beginning.
As every minute passes, Ian Anderson and the band reward you with new material, classic moments, or superb reworkings of some of their most famous tracks.
Whether you are a die-hard Tull fan, want to give them a try after a long reprise, or simply want a great alternative to the usual christmas albums available, I strongly recommend you buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas cracker, 10 Oct 2003
By 
This review is from: Christmas Album (Audio CD)
A great new seasonal CD from jethro tull. features a good selection of previous tull christmas tunes , a few brand new songs and some well known christmas songs recorded tull style. Highlights are "A Christmas Song" re-recorded with Dave Pegg returning to the fold on guest mandolin, "Solstice Bells" "Weathercock" and "Fire At Midnight" all sounding superb having benefited from new digital 24bit recording, also being reworked is the classic "Bouree" which has a new arrangement for 2003. A few new tracks also grace the album, the best being "Birthday Card At Christmas" which is the albums opener and "First Snow On Brooklyn". Nearly half of the album is made up of instrumental tracks and all feature some very nice flute work from Ian. The final track on the CD is a Martin Barre instrumental called "Winter Snowscape" which is a differant version to that which was released on his latest album "Stage Left". Give yourself an early christmas present and buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars if you like tull you'll like this!, 11 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: The Jethro Tull Christmas Album/Jethro Tull Live-Christmas At St Bride's 2008 (Audio CD)
Best Jethro Tull album for a long time and the way things are going perhaps the last with original material. The extra disc with the concert at St Brides is a pleasant listen and shows how well the tracks fit into a church environment. So much so I've parted with more money to attend such a concert in December!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It only happens once a year, 1 Dec 2006
By 
Mr. Steven Empson "Voyage34" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Christmas Album (Audio CD)
It's the 1st of December today. I can now put this album on until the last day of christmas. Since release this has been a tradition that will never leave my side. Don't let those miserable sardines who call themselves 'massive tull fans' tell you any otherwise. Get in the spirit, live the moment, enjoy the fun. This is a cracker!!! 'bout time for number 2 don't you think Ian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews