Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good read from Colin Dexter
Another good read from Colin Dexter. I really enjoyed LAST SEEN WEARING. The missing girl in the shape of the character Valerie Taylor had been missing for two years, three months and two days and had gone missing on her way back to school.

I liked the rapport between Morse and Lewis (Lewis in my mind as I read the book) had really got more confidence when...
Published on 28 Jun 2007 by Andy Capp

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor Plot & Unpleasant Characters
Valerie Taylor went missing two years ago and hasn't been heard of since. Now the detective on the original case is dead and a letter arrives from the missing girl. So is she still alive? Where is she?
This is the first time that I have read an Inspector Morse book and quite possibly the last. I wasn't totally sure why Valerie Taylor's disappearance was being...
Published 9 days ago by DJF


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good read from Colin Dexter, 28 Jun 2007
Another good read from Colin Dexter. I really enjoyed LAST SEEN WEARING. The missing girl in the shape of the character Valerie Taylor had been missing for two years, three months and two days and had gone missing on her way back to school.

I liked the rapport between Morse and Lewis (Lewis in my mind as I read the book) had really got more confidence when talking to Morse and even when Lewis had to go to bed with the flu, he really thought about the case and gave Morse plenty to think about when he visited him.

I don't want to spoil it for readers who haven't read the book but what I can tell you is that the characters Baines and Phillipson were very dark and Colin Dexter invented twists and turns that were very surprising. This is what made the novel interesting for me to read and I was surprised by Mrs.Taylor's actions (Valerie's mother) and the big surprise was at the end but you'll have to read the book as I don't want to spoil it for anybody.

Congratulations to Pan (Colin Dexter's publishers) for the great covers) and to Colin himself for penning another great novel. Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poor Plot & Unpleasant Characters, 21 July 2014
Valerie Taylor went missing two years ago and hasn't been heard of since. Now the detective on the original case is dead and a letter arrives from the missing girl. So is she still alive? Where is she?
This is the first time that I have read an Inspector Morse book and quite possibly the last. I wasn't totally sure why Valerie Taylor's disappearance was being investigated - teenage girls do go missing and there was no suspicion of foul play. Although Morse's meddling in the case does result in a murder later in the book. However, Morse decided that the letter was a hoax, Valerie was dead and a murderer needed to be found.
It seemed to be that Morse's entire investigation lurched from one hypothesis to another. Most of these were based on hunches of Morse's and not on facts at all. Right from the beginning Morse made conclusions based on no facts that I, as the reader, could see. To be honest I got rather fed up with it all. There didn't appear to be a methodical investigation of facts, although all the main characters were interviewed and Lewis followed up on alibis etc. So Morse was lurching from one assumption to another, often making a fool of himself in the process, whilst I and Lewis got rather fed up with it all. Had I been reading this as opposed to listening on an audio book, I suspect that I would have given up before I got half way through!
I did not like the character of Morse in this book. To be perfectly frank he appeared to be a bit of a dirty old man and quite happy to sit in a strip club or read porn which wasn't directly relevent to the investigation. Morse assessed all of the women in this book on their looks, eyed up their assets and contemplated jumping into bed with more than one of them. It did not make for enjoyable reading and I did not like the character of Morse at all. I presume this was rather toned down for the TV series!
Lewis was a much more likeable character and keener to stick to the facts of the case. However his assessment of his wife seemed to basically consist of him getting used to cold, burnt chips and her wanting him out of the house as he got under her feet!
I really did not enjoy this book much. The plot was poor and Morse quite odious. I am certainly in no hurry to read another book by the same author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than the first one, 3 Feb 2013
This is the second novel in the Inspector Morse series, which was a very popular tv series in the 80s. This novel had a much better plot than the last. The mystery was much more interesting, I actually felt interested about what was going to happen and how the mystery would end. It flowed much better than the last, I didn't feel so disappointed when I reached the end.
The plot was more puzzling, and I actually didn't have any idea who did it, it was a lot less obvious. There were also a lot of plot twists through out, just as you thought you knew "who-dunnit" Dexter threw in a twist and you're back to square one.
I thought in general the characters in this book were much better than in the previous one, there was a wide and diverse range of characters which were much more interesting than the last. It was also great to learn more about Lewis, Morse's sidekick. Lewis is probably my favourite character.
In the last novel I really didn't like Morse, I thought he was some perverted old man who spent more time leering at young ladies than actually solving the crimes. Unfortunately he was the same in this novel, his personality causes me to approach these novels with caution.
Overall I enjoyed this novel more than the previous one, but it wasn't anything special, and I wouldn't recommend unless you are a fan of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars detective work by trial and error!, 13 Dec 2011
By 
Ter (Aberdeen) - See all my reviews
Detective work by trial and error! Morse is an unusual, or perhaps just old fashioned detective, as he appears to base all of his theories on very flimsy ideas. I first read this book many years ago, and now, coming back to them I am surprised how equal Morse and Lewis appear - I had recollections of it being very much a master and servant relationship.

The looping back of the storyline is quite well managed but it is not a particularly riveting read.

Women get a fairly raw deal in any Dexter novel, very much there to be leered over rather than as any real part of a plot. Amazing how many beauties secretly urge for borderline alcoholic miserable police detectives!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good story!, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love Inspector Morse books - Mr Dexter pens an excellent read! Thank you Mr Dexter for taking the time to produce such an excellent novel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Inspector morse book, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's good to read the book instead of just watching the TV. However, the TV is a little more pacey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the second inspector morse book and its as good as the first.I only recommend this to more advanced readers and its occasionally very difficult to read.overall its really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Significant differences to the TV episode based on this book. Enigmatic ending., 3 April 2013
By 
James Byrne (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good read; but readers should be aware that the books are generally not simply the script of the TV series. In particular Lewis is an older man than Morse in the books and some characteristics of the characters are very different. The TV episode, though using many of the same character names, is generally a different story to the book. If the reader is familiar with the televised series, they may find the books a little disappointing, the reverse being equally true!
Well worth reading however, although the ending I found to be rather enigmatic - I still don't know for sure who killed Baines!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars wonderfully constructed story of feints and blind alleys, 22 Sep 2012
By 
Rob Kitchin - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
There are two elements that raise Last Seen Wearing above usual police procedural fare. The first is the plotting and the second the characterization. Dexter maps out a wonderfully constructed story of feints and blind alleys as Morse stumbles from one line of reasoning to another, his theories constantly dashed on the rocks of empirical evidence. Every time it appears he has found a path forward, it turns into a cul-de-sac. This is not a tale of a genius cop who always finds his quarry, but is rather more Clouseau in his bumbling, much to Lewis' delight. Morse and Lewis are both well drawn, somewhat complex and paradoxical characters. Morse, for example, is both cultured and coarse, buying the Sunday Times and the News of the World as his Sunday papers and dragging Lewis into a strip club on a visit to London. The support cast of suspects were also nicely realised. As always, Oxford and its surrounds provide a scenic backdrop. Overall, a very enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Morse- Last seen wearing, 17 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The second in the series of Morse novels by Colin Dexter. An interesting and rewarding read. Morse is still driving a Lancia so I will have to buy Book three to see if he swaps it for the Jaguar that featured in the TV series!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews