Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just what the Doctor would order!!!!
If you're a fan then I recommend this CD. Barrowman for my mind does a fine job of his telling on this abridged version of the book. Sure as previous reviewers say it's Torchwood therefore predictable in plot but what do they expect East Enders?? What you see is what you get a typical Torchwood, aliens thru' the rift in Cardiff adventure. And just what the Doctor (!)...
Published on 5 Feb 2008 by Glenn Cook

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It was pretty good
As a guy that adores audio-dramas and a fan of Torchwood, I was excited to buy the Torchwood audiobooks and honestly... it was pretty good. It's not an audio-drama like those on BBC Radio 4, it's exactly what it says on the tin, or in this case, the CD case - Torchwood: Another Life (Audiobook) read by John Barrowman.

In my opinion, these audio serials would...
Published on 27 Mar 2008 by Diamond


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just what the Doctor would order!!!!, 5 Feb 2008
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
If you're a fan then I recommend this CD. Barrowman for my mind does a fine job of his telling on this abridged version of the book. Sure as previous reviewers say it's Torchwood therefore predictable in plot but what do they expect East Enders?? What you see is what you get a typical Torchwood, aliens thru' the rift in Cardiff adventure. And just what the Doctor (!) would order! Or rather that should be what you hear is what you get. Barrowman does a great job at reading (It is a talking book for goodness sake previous reviewer! Full cast indeed!) And is great for people like me that enjoy a good story, and a well told Torchwood one but haven't got time to read the book! It's a fine sit down /relax and imagine you're there type tale and well it's great entertainment!! It's not war and Peace, it's not Tolstoy but Torchwood/Barrowman/entertainment and for around seven quid and that's not all bad is it??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Torchwood: Another Life Audio, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having heard there was an audio version to the book I knew I had to own it. And this time narrated by John Barrowman, well, all the more reason to hear his narration to another brilliant novel by Anghelides. There was another reason. I wanted to hear John say words of the style of shoes by one particular character in the story and he didn't disappoint.

Although, unlike other cast members of Torchwood who add in clear distinct differences to their accent, John remains American all the way through, it doesn't draw you away from the story. John appears to come into his own after coming into battle with the creature in the bathtub, then you begin to hear more Jack Harkness coming into play.

I wanted to hear what John sounded like when he read audios. I wasn't disappointed, although it would have been interesting to hear him speak in different accents like the other cast members do, aside from Tom Price that is.

But don't let that put you off. The story is fantastic and he punctuates the line regarding the shoes perfectly well. Just make sure you don't have any small children or prudish friends and family in the car with you at that moment...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous story, 4 Dec 2010
By 
Ruthie (yorkshire, uk) - See all my reviews
Good fun, I listened to CD one then had to go out, couldn't wait to get back to listen to the second CD. Fabulous story line with a wonderful narrator. If you like John Barrowman he carries the story through very well and keeps the audience interested and wanting to know where it is going next.

I have 4 Torchwood CDs, the other 3 including the full cast so it was the first time I have chosen a single narration CD but it's just as good, and fully enjoyable.

I loved it, and have listened to it several times since!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It was pretty good, 27 Mar 2008
As a guy that adores audio-dramas and a fan of Torchwood, I was excited to buy the Torchwood audiobooks and honestly... it was pretty good. It's not an audio-drama like those on BBC Radio 4, it's exactly what it says on the tin, or in this case, the CD case - Torchwood: Another Life (Audiobook) read by John Barrowman.

In my opinion, these audio serials would be far better if read by the entire cast with the sound effects like that of audio-dramas. Other than that, it's pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable, but predictable in places, 4 Feb 2008
This audio features John Barrowman reading from the book.
The plot is typical Torchwood fare,and bumps along quite nicely, with the romantic focus very much on Owen. Unfortunately it does suffer a bit from predictability and you can pretty much figure out the story and the eventual ending very early on. Nevertheless it is entertaining, and well written.
Generally Barrowmans reading is ok, but disappointing in that he hasn't given much of a differentiation to the other characters voices- he reads both Gwen and Owen in the same tone, for example. As a result, you don't really get the feel of their characters here.
Generally I'd recommend it to people who are definitely fans of the series,who will enjoy it, as I did. People who can take-or-leave the TV program will probably want to look elsewhere - perhaps the Big Finish Dr Who audios for example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars okay if you haent read the book, 1 Jun 2007
This is okay i bought it thinking that it would be the novel, read by the whole cast, but its not. Its Just John Barrowman reading it, it would hae been better if it was the cast, howeer i would read the book because then you can imagine the different characters living their parts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews