Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Murder of Manners
Daisy Dalrymple is striking out on her own. Using her wealthy background, she gets a job for a magazine photographing and writing about the famous Wentwater Manor. Not too long after she arrives, one of her fellow guests is found dead in a hole in the ice. At first, it's thought to be an accident, but soon Daisy is convinced it's murder. Aiding the handsome Scotland Yard...
Published on 1 Jan. 2003 by Mark Baker - Carstairs Considers

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Light, easy read
I was recommended this series of books so thought I'd start with the first. I found it to be quite an enjoyable, lightweight novel. On the other hand, all the "spiffing", "topping", etc., supposedly 1920s words and phrases, were overdone to the point of irritation. I think she tries too hard to evoke the atmosphere of the age which results in it being laboured in parts...
Published on 16 April 2012 by P. Fray


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Murder of Manners, 1 Jan. 2003
By 
Mark Baker - Carstairs Considers (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Daisy Dalrymple is striking out on her own. Using her wealthy background, she gets a job for a magazine photographing and writing about the famous Wentwater Manor. Not too long after she arrives, one of her fellow guests is found dead in a hole in the ice. At first, it's thought to be an accident, but soon Daisy is convinced it's murder. Aiding the handsome Scotland Yard detective assigned to the case, she does her best to find the truth while keeping the family out of scandal.
This is a fun mystery set in 1923 England. I was drawn into Daisy's world and was quite curious about what was really going on. Having said that, the plotting did seem a bit uneven. Still, it moved along nicely and reached a conclusion that was surprising and satisfying at the same time. The characters are almost all English aristocracy, and it was interesting getting a glimpse into their world at a less then ideal time. The dialog was so good that I could hear the "accents" most of the time.
I'm looking forward to reading the other books in this fun, historical series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death at Wentwater Court, 29 Oct. 2011
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first in the Daisy Dalrymple mystery series. I am overjoyed these have all appeared on kindle and I can replace my battered and torn paperbacks, because I love this series and am looking forward to re-reading them. They are best read in order and so, if you are interested, then this is the place to start.

When we first meet the Honourable Daisy Dalrymple, she is on her way to Wentwater Court. Although the daughter of a viscount, she has no wish to live with her mother or cousin Edgar, who has inherited her family home and is trying to make her own way in the world as a writer. She has a writing assignment for the magazine "Town and Country", to write about stately homes, and her social connections are useful to gain her access and invitations.

It is January 1923 and Daisy finds a house which has a very uncomfortable house party going on. The Earl of Wentwater has a young, new wife, Annabel. His sister and her husband are also staying, as are his children, James, Lord Beddowe, Lady Marjorie and younger sons Wilfred and Geoffrey. There are also some other guests - Fenella, who is engaged to James, and her brother Phillip Petrie, who was the best friend of Daisy's brother (her brother and the man she loved, both died in WWI) and the seemingly unwelcome Lord Stephen Astwick, best described as a 'cad'. He knew Annabel previously and, despite Marjorie's crush on him, is paying her very obvious attentions, while she seems afraid of him, James is using his resentment of his new stepmother to make trouble and everyone else is affected by the difficult atmosphere.

Then, Lord Astwick is found dead and Detective Chief Inspector Alec Fletcher C.I.D. comes to investigate. It is Daisy who alerts him that all is not as it seems and who helps him with his investigation. Luckily, the Chief Inspector was nearby investigating jewel thievies who have been targeting country houses.

If you like cozy mysteries, then really this has everything. A country house setting, good characters, the relationship between Alec and Daisy, which deepens as the series carries on, and a good mystery which plays out well with lots of possible suspects and where motives abound. It is great fun and I am sure you will want to read on - the next book in the series, should you want to, is The Winter Garden Mystery (Daisy Dalrymple Mystery 2).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very British cozy, 17 Sept. 2001
By 
D. Kaplan "sleuth029" (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am an ardent reader of British mysteries. I was first drawn to this genre by reading a series of cozies. Over the years my tastes have changed, though, and I now much prefer a British psychological thriller or police procedural. However, I still read a cozy now and then for a change of pace.
"Death at Wentwater Court" is the first book in a series featuring The Honourable Daisy Dalrymple and Inspector Alec Fletcher of Scotland Yard. Take a weekend gathering at a country estate in the 1920's, one of the guests who is the unfortunate victim, suspects galore, a promising romantic story line, more red herrings than clues and you have the makings of the ultimate cozy.
Most of the sleuthing is done by Daisy, a member of the British aristocracy who, being rather down on her luck, is supporting herself by working as a journalist. Alec seems to be along for the ride providing her with bits of information that set her off in her pursuit to solve the murder. Oh, he also serves a very important role as a possible suitor for Daisy.
I am giving this book three stars because I found it to be a bit too one-dimensional for my tastes. However, if you like an old fashioned very British mystery, this just might be your cuppa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Twenties Tale, 12 Feb. 2011
By 
Jo D'Arcy (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This is the first in an ever growing series of books featuring Daisy Dalrymple and I am rather late in finding them. However the premise of a nice cosy mystery set in the 1920s was enough for me to pick this book up.

Daisy Dalrymple is writing a piece for Town and Country magazine and to prove her worth as someone who can make her own living and live independently in the ever changing modern 1920s and not simply wait to be married off and become Mrs somebody with interests only in her husband. Daisy is herself a member of the high society but uses it to her advantage and helps her forge a career.

It is this career that Daisy, notebook, typewriter and camera in hand she finds herself at Wentwater Court. The many characters there making up a house party are intriguing and varied. Lady Annabel the Earl of Wentwater's second much younger wife, the infamous step children Marjorie, Wilfred, Geoffrey and the eldest James who harbour doubts about her reasons for marrying their father in protection of their own ends. James fiancée Fenella and her brother Phillip, who has courted Daisy in the past or tried. And to balance the `young set' the Earl's sister Lady Josephine and husband Sir Hugh Menton. All interrelated in some way but there was also another guest Lord Stephen Astwick who meets his end by falling through a hole in the ice seemingly having drowned.

All is not quite as it seems with this death, and to try and avoid scandal locally, they call in help from Scotland Yard. Enter Chief Inspector Alec Fletcher who is already in the area investigating a rather large theft of gems from another house party. Daisy and he hit it off, and she proves invaluable in the investigation and can see what she can achieve as an independent young woman.

To start of the series this was a good first book. The plot is somewhat woolly in parts and there was no obvious red herrings as that sometimes can be seen in these mystery books. For me there were far too many characters thrown in to begin with and I could not align who was who and connected to whom. However, once I had overcome this hurdle, the book goes a long at a steady sedate pace and was enjoyable. Daisy is going to make her mark on the detective world and her relationship with Chief Inspector Fletcher will probably raise a few eyebrows. Women in a man's world in the 1920s especially one from the higher echelons of society is going to make for some interesting reading and I will put the second book on my list - I think Daisy is going to grow on me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Light, easy read, 16 April 2012
By 
P. Fray (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was recommended this series of books so thought I'd start with the first. I found it to be quite an enjoyable, lightweight novel. On the other hand, all the "spiffing", "topping", etc., supposedly 1920s words and phrases, were overdone to the point of irritation. I think she tries too hard to evoke the atmosphere of the age which results in it being laboured in parts. However, taken all round, it's a bit of fun and great if you want holiday reading that's not chick-lit or boys' adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars P.G.Wodehouse's Bertie Wooster mixed with murder mystery, 26 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book!The cover looks somewhat infantile or girl-bookish but do not judge the book by it's covers. The US edition looks quite different with a more art deco style to all of this series' covers. Because this is the first book of 18, and the author seems to still be writing them.
This book brings you straight in to P.G.Wodehouse's world and Bertie Wooster's. The dialogue between the Honourable Daisy Dalrymple and her fellow titled peers makes half the book if not more. It's hilarious. Add to that a mystery in the class of Agatha Christie's Hercules Poirot or Miss Marple without DNA samples, mobile phones, luminol... And finally the third ingredient, a little bit of romance since Daisy has lost her one love during WWI and the police detective that is sent from Scotland Yard to investigate the death, has lost his wife. In subsequent books this budding romance will turn in to the real thing...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cloche-hats and ice-skates, 19 Oct. 2010
By 
Alisoun Francis (kent, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Introducing a shiny new heroine, Daisy Dalrymple, determined to make her way in the changed world of 1920's Britain. A woman of her times Daisy is an engaging character full of the curiosity necessary for an amateur sleuth without the irritating ego of some we know.

The love interest, neatly understated, is provided by a policeman who is simultaneously attracted and exasperated by our heroine.

The hook for this series is the period detail, from sandwich fillings to seedy nightclubs. For the eternally curious it provides a good read.

The series has me grabbed, and I am now a collector. The cover art is top-hole and drew my attention immediately.

For those who like a yarn to read with a cup of tea and a scone, or on a train journey, this takes the biscuit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a new discovery, 11 Jan. 2011
By 
Thinker - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
If you like Agatha Christie books i think you will enjoy these, set in English country houses , about 1920's or 30's, they tell the story of daisy who mixes in the circles where she ends up in these places and a crime happens, she is a likeable character, not perfect, and the other characters, some of whom reappear in later books, are well drawn. I found the mystery one i couldn't guess and if you fancy readying an old fashioned murder mystery book then it will be for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Spiffingly Good 'Cosy', 24 July 2011
By 
The Honourable Daisy Dalrymple is determined to be a modern miss, and dependent on nobody. So saying, she bags herself a job writing articles for 'Town and Country' magazine and wangles an invitation to the illustrious Wentwater Court, where she is to write a feature.
Winter has hit England with a vengeance and the inhabitants of Wentwater, including Daisy's brother's best friend (and her erstwhile protector) Philip Petrie, are enjoying the cold snap with some skating on the lake. Until, that is, one of the guests - an obnoxious friend of the heir to the court - ends up meeting his death there...

This is the first in a long series of Daisy Dalrymple murder mysteries, of the cosier kind, as they are sometimes called! Rather too full of 'top-ho's' and 'old bean' at times, it's a fun, easy to read 1920's mystery, set against a backdrop of women's growing emancipation and the dying Edwardian upper class. Lovely to see the meeting and subsequent interaction between Daisy and Chief Inspector Alec Fletcher, having read a later one of the series where the two are well acquainted. And overall, a satisfyingly good read that had me reaching for the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great first book in a fun series, 9 April 2012
By 
Sarah Lambert "Book addict" (Bournemouth) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having previously read one of the later books in this series I was keen to read the first book and see where it all began. This book is a great read and introduction to Daisy Dalrymple. The story is set in 1923 and Daisy has left her privileged upbringing behind her to have an independent life. She lives in a flat with her friend Lucy and has got a job with Town and Country magazine. She travels to Wentwater Court to write a story about the estate as she knows some members of the family. She soon gets to work on her article but this is interrupted by the death of one of the guests in the skating pond. Evidence points to the death not being accidental and before long Daisy finds herself joining forces with Chief Inspector Fletcher of Scotland Yard, who is called in to investigate as he is already in the area looking into a jewel theft. Daisy is a great character, I love her determination and curiosity, and her burgeoning friendship with the Alec Fletcher is believable, I am looking forward to reading the other books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews