Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars56
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio Download|Change
Price:£10.85
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 July 2008
Great to see the Scott Sigler making the crossover from his "new media" podcasting roots into the traditional publishing arena.

An updated version of a story originally told as a serialised audio drama, Infected is a real page-turner. The plight of the central character, Perry, is not for the faint-hearted, but while you might feel squeamish about learning what happens next you also feel compelled to read on and discover how it all pans out. A difficult balance to strike in a novel, but one that has been expertly handled by the author.

Scott Sigler is definitely one to watch and I'm glad to learn that a sequel is already in progress.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2009
Every once in a while I go to the bookstore and treat myself to a browse through the "Thrillers" section. A couple of months ago I noticed this book with a black cover and a mesmerizing green eye with a triangle iris..hmm..sounds good, a bit science fictionesk as well..let's buy it..

Started to read on a rainy Saturday afternoon. Chapter 1, and I fell for it hook, line and sinker. This book is a combination of "urgh" moments when Perry takes on the Triangles in his own unique way (I'll never look at a tweezer in the same way again), and helpless chuckles once the Triangles start to make their presence known to him (is it wrong to find them extremely funny in their reactions ?) Good twist and turns as well, although the last chapter (the "grand finale") felt a little bit thrown together.

Best book of the year I think. The sequel has already been ordered, and I can't wait to dig in Scott Sigler's weird 'n wonderful world again !
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2008
This is a must-read, particularly for fans of the sci-fi and horror genres. A gripping story, combined with well-realised characters, I was hooked from beginning to end.

A word of warning though - this book is most certainly not for the faint-hearted or weak-stomached. If you can handle the gore Sigler dishes out, you're in for a great ride! Be sure to check out Sigler's other works, particularly his podcast novels - all superb and highly recommended.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 June 2010
'Infected' by Scott Sigler is a highly readable, nausea inducing (in a good way), take on the 'body horror' genre best illustrated in the films of David Cronenbourg like The Fly. It is only let down - partially - by an apparently rushed ending which fails to convince.

Good things first - the premise is strong; the 'science' is well-realised and the pace is relentless. The central character - ex-football player; resourceful, tough, champion of the human race - Perry Dawsey is a wonderful creation. His battle with the lurgies infecting him is utterly compelling. The way Sigler uses the spectre of his abusive father to drive Perry on is particularly effective.

Less good are the CIA/CDC team chasing after the infection. The lead CIA agent is just a walking cliche - burnt-out Vietnam vet - and the micro-biologist - foxy, Latina, ambitious woman - under-drawn. The main problem with this disparity is that Sigler starts with the less interesting people, though the real heart of the novel is Perry. I'm not even sure he could not have excised the chase team ands just left it as a sweaty, bloody, gore-filled struggle between man and parasite; Perry versus the triangles.

As i said, the end doesn't really scan and the debt to Stephen King's 'The Tommyknockers' (not the greatest King work) is very evident, however I was entranced by this book and read it very quickly indeed. Images from it still live in my imagination and, i think, you can have no higher praise for a book of this kind.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2010
ok. I have been purchasing books off Amazon for years, but am very rarely moved by a book to submit a review. This book is one of those occassions.
This title is the first I have read by Scott Sigler and while not a 'horror' fan, I found this book almost unputdownable (if there is such a word!). Itis an excellent read, which keeps you on tenderhooks all the way through. I hope a sequel is planned ...
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2009
the one thing I admire about an author, besides a great knack for storytelling, is the fearless ability to kill off characters. there's none of this namby-pamby nonsense about ALWAYS having your characters saved at the very last minute- if they die, they die...and SO horribly.

It's mind blowing, exciting, gross, scary and you CAN'T put it down...trust me...

but i won't give away the gold...go, read...now. Or, ya know, if you can't be bothered to read it yourself go listen to it on podcast.

Earthcore, infected and it's sequel: contagious are the best.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 January 2010
Plague, zombies, infection - it's all old hat. What Sigler creates in Infected is an in-your-face no-holds-barred story on one man's infection in minutiae. From a cellular level the infection is explained and it's effects on the host vary throughout the stages of the growth. This level of detail coupled with the almost colloquial narrative provides an easy to read horror thriller, a world apart from Crichton or the usual horror entries. The story, beyond the interesting angle, offers very little content and at times is unnecessarily dumbed down. At times Sigler seems almost cocky during his writing, a style that often seems out of place during the story, although it injects a little light relief from the blood and violence. Overall Infected is a fun and interesting tale and readers will be likely to pick up further Sigler stories.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2009
The author writes these pressurised chemical protection suits into all of his books, I'm not sure if he has shares in a company that makes them or some strange kind of fetish?

Infected is the first in the series of books and podcasts about an itch, an itch that talks to you, that tells you to do things an itch that grows. What's worse about this itch is when it stops itching, chemicals are released into the hosts blood so that they don't feel the pain that the growing infection would be causing as it makes a home of their body.

Scott is a very accessible author, with accounts on all the social networking sites, his own fan site which he's very active on and of course his podcats, you get a real insite into the man who will one day rule us all.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2009
This book is fantastic. I bought it without knowing anything about the author or his other work. This was an impuls buy and it is one of the best ones I have ever made in the book area. It is a sci-fi type horror and the suspence is fantastic. The story telling is brilliant and the characters are easy to connect with. I couldnt put it down and I had finished it within a few days of getting it.

This is a must buy if you are a sci-fi fan, horror fan, gore nut or if you just read books. I will be looking in to the authors other works.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2008
this is a block buster gore fest of a book with non stop action and charactors that you gringe for their suffering but cant wait to find out whats going to happen to them next! this is scotts third book but his first with a big time publisher, if your not sure that you want to buy this as scott is new then why not try his website ([...] he has everything he has done either in podcast form or even in pdf form (available for free!)then if you like it enough then you can buy a copy! no risk.i have and bought all three books.
whats to lose? just beware the chickens scissors!!!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items

£11.30

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)