Customer Reviews


1,553 Reviews
5 star:
 (627)
4 star:
 (228)
3 star:
 (201)
2 star:
 (172)
1 star:
 (325)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


116 of 126 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Abridged
Very enjoyable. However it should be noted that this is an abridged version. It dosen't tell you that in the details.
Published on 18 Mar 2005 by G. Palmer

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Agonising
This is a foetid mess of a book spewed by accident from the substandard brain of one Dan Brown. It is possible that the following review contains spoilers, although since the book has already been thoroughly spoiled in the writing process it's hard to see how I could make it worse.

Essentially, the lead character, Robert Langdon, is a symbolologist who is...
Published 9 months ago by Hedgehogbutty


‹ Previous | 1150 151 152156 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Holy Grail of books, 9 July 2004
By 
A. Wright "alwrighto" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is, to coin a phrase, a rollercoaster of a novel. However, it's a rollercoaster with no downs, it's up up up all of the way. I would recommend this to anyone and everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Leanardo Di-Caprio Code, 21 April 2005
By 
Barry White (Torquay-On-Sea) - See all my reviews
Why anyone would want to write a whole book about a second rate actor is lost on me.
I do, however, like the cover of this book - which is why I bought it in the first place.
I've read this novel twice on the tube - both times over fellow passenger's shoulders. It must be an indie classic.
The fact that you can buy it in Tesco's is worrying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mind Blowing, 31 Dec 2006
By 
The fact that this is the mostly widely talked about, and the best selling book of the last few years goes a long way towards praising this novel. The protagonist is Harvard professor Robert Langdon who Brown introduced to readers in Angels and Demons. Once again Langdon is breaking codes and chasing clues while himself being chased. He is accused of killing the curator of the Louvre who has left a strange message - find Robert Langdon - as he died. Langdon teams up with Sophie Neveu, the deceased's granddaughter and they follow the trail of the Holy Grail via the curator's clues. This is a fast paced thriller that challenges the belief systems of centuries by claiming Mary Magdalene was Christ's lover and the mother of his child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Da Vinci Code, 16 Mar 2006
I absolutely could not put this book down. I was recommended the title by a friend & was half hearted about the whole Dan Brown saga, I tend not to rely on the hype to encourage me to read a book. The Da Vinci Code was worth that hype. The characters and descriptions are so well executed that I literally had to remind myself that I was reading fiction. I think that the present situation will only strengthen peoples' fascination with this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST THRILLER THE WORLD HAVE EVER SEEN!!!!!, 13 April 2005
This book is FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!! Mr. Brown I would classify you with the best authors in the world (if not the best!). I'm not surprised this story is going to be a film next year, and if the film is exactly like the story it would have a great success. The thing that makes this book magnificent and unmissable is the huge reasearch Dan Brown made (especially about the Holy Grail) and the non stopping action in the story. My friends if you don't read this book you'll be losing a treasure!!!!!!!!!!!! Read it because it is just GREAT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OMG why do people keep saying this book is about Jesus Christ? WHAT?!Was Jesus even MENTIONED in this book?!, 29 July 2006
By 
I truly, like, liked this book and I TOTALLY bought it, like, right the next second I heard Paris Hilton-the Goddess-was reading it. This book is about four girls and a gay guy: Madison, Sophia, Kylie, Aimee and, of course, Christiano aka Kiki. It's a story about this little group of trendsetters and their struggle to find the greatest boutique of all high-fashion boutiques--Da vinci. Here's the story: like, they have to decode the most hidden code of all time. The code is actually the only way you can get, like, IN the shop and it's in a form of a password. But that's not the only catch: they not only have to discover the code, they also must find the shop. And that's the hard part cuz only, like, four people or something know where it is. It could be six feet under somewhere in Egypt or it could be in a zeppelin that takes of,like,only three times a year and has about six people aboard (plus the pilot whose memory will probably be erased after landing or something).The shop is, by the way, named after some not very well known guy that was probably a designer or something and now he's dead and all. Whatever. Oh, wait-I once saw this really old documentary about this guy-I wasn't really paying it a lot of attention since Clueless was on at the same time so I was like: Hello? OF COURSE I'm gonna watch Clueless again rather then some boring gay guy with a beard the size of Texas (aka J.lo's butt). Anyway. Where was I? Okay, never mind. It's, like, totally cool, you should, like, totally read it and find out if everybody get's their Manolo Blahnik's and Cavalli dresses in the end.

Well, ta-ta! Hope you like this little chick-lit miracle!!

Marlena xoxoxoxo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nonsense, 4 Sep 2004
By 
Innes Muir (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Absolute nonsense !!! Especially the reference to the New York publisher thinking the world's No1 bestseller of all time was Harry Potter, please.....
Fisher Price does Atheism Conspiracy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Secrets of DaVinci, 19 Mar 2007
The Da Vinci codes suggest that Leonardo Da Vinci was the leader of a clandestine society and that he hid secret codes and messages in his art work. Is this true? In addition to his role in history as a famous painter, scientist and inventor, was he also the keeper of some vast secret to be passed down through the ages? Well, Leonardo was certainly no stranger to the use of codes and encryption. His notes are all written backwards with mirror writing andis unclear exactly why Leonardo did this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars da vinci code, 28 Mar 2005
By 
Mr. D. W. Thomson (South England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
if you do not have this book in your collection then shame on you.this book is fantastic.what adds to the uniqueness is the fact thats involved within the fiction.that the grail is not a goblet but the bloodline of christ has been a subject of biblical scholars for years and now someone has had the guts to put it into print.if you've read HOLY BLOOD AND THE HOLY GRAIL then you will relate to this book entirely. from the first page you will be hooked.buy this book now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I read it in a week, which is a first!!!, 19 Mar 2004
By 
Mr Mark W Sweeney (Leigh, Lancs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
this is the best book i have ever read. it is intelligently written, with clever puzzles, action and plenty of twists and turns. i read about 120 pages in one evening, which gives you an idea as to how gripping it is. I cant wait to read more of Dan Browns stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1150 151 152156 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews