Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutey superb comedy - finally available!!, 23 Jun 2009
By 
Matthew (Chertsey, Surrey) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In my opinion, this is one of the funniest series that has ever been on the radio. I caught the last few episodes when it was originally on Radio 4 in 1988. BBC 7 then ran the series and I was finally able to hear the early episodes, including the pilot. It is well overdue, but fantastic nevertheless, that the BBC have finally got around to releasing it on CD. Much of the humour is based around clever word-play, and it might not appeal to everyone, but if you're a fan of the later Fry & Laurie stuff you should not be dissappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unequalled radio comedy., 29 Aug 2009
By 
E. K. Platt "KP" (Belfast) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I loved this show when it first ran on Radio 4 many moons ago.

Erudite, warm and surreal, it opened up my young mind to a new world of comedy. Stephen Fry is brilliant as the compere through this humour journey with Hugh Laurie and the rotating cast perfect foils.
The most influential comedy programme on the development of my chuckle muscles, it still retains its bizarre charm.

I highly recommend this gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It bears fruit, 2 July 2009
By 
Clarissa (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Saturday Night Fry (BBC Audio)
This is pure British cleverness, and it hasn't dated. I am entranced; I am personally a tiny bit more entertaining after having listened to this CD, and I am a dull sort. Fry and his colleagues are so witty and fast-paced that you need a few listens to get the best jokes. For some reason I am entranced by Hugh Laurie's "You've met your match, Jennifer Flammisto!"
I can't recommend it highly enough; it's a P.G. Wodehouse level of wit, all brought to your CD player for an at-home cleverness injection. I wouldn't like anyone who didn't like this. So you can give it to all your friends and make them love you even more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this was a great purchase, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this was a great purchase, I was delighted about the delivery of this CD and hope that next purchase will be the same
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Regular listeners will have no need of a high bran diet, 18 Sep 2012
By 
Irish Critic (Leopardstown, Republic of Ireland) - See all my reviews
Probably one of the most underrated of Stephen Fry's comedic creations, this imaginative little series aired on Radio 4 over six consecutive Saturdays in 1988 (30th April thru 4th June). It was the epoch of experimental comedy. Script writers were "moving on" from the Two Ronnies / Monty Python era when audiences still laughed at nonsense for nonsense sake (eg. the Ministry of Silly Walks). And yet 1988 was in the decade before the really clever satire of Rory Bremner, The Now Show, etc.

Fry and his friends (Robert Bathurst, Jim Broadbent, Barry Cryer, Julia Hills, Hugh Laurie, Phyllida Law, Alison Steadman & Emma Thompson) serve up six highly entertaining episodes of fun-filled frolics. Emma Thompson plays an author who assures Fry that "every penny of the proceeds of this book", while Hugh Laurie boasts that he has "worked in both television". Some of the characters have rather eccentric names such as "Tumphrey Puke", "Elvin Arsecloth" and "Clefdene Straightbladder", but this kind of humour can be an acquired taste. There's an hilarious parody of a linguaphone course teaching the 'Strom' language, Laurie orders lunch in fluent Welsh and Fry's version of the Shipping Forecast is an all-time classic ("come home, veering suggestively"). The edition that aired on 21st May 1988 is "the very fourth episode", so for nostalgia the team are all wearing April 1988 fashions! But my favourite is Episode 6, in which they visit the gates of Hades and Laurie tells a frog joke that's so dangerously funny it triggers loud guffaws of laughter from his co-presenters.

At various times throughout the series the presenters slap & kick one another in the studio, which is slightly weird. Fry himself probably imitates Nicholas Parsons a little too frequently with the Just-a-Minute intro "and as the music fades away..." but then we all have our hobby horses. In any case it proves a useful segue to the next sketch! The only real blemish is the gut-scorchingly hideous signature tune by Louis Jordan, which can completely ruin your listening experience. So it's well worth buying 3 blank CDs and splicing it out.

Note also that the series is now available on a special BBC oven glove!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Delight, 26 Sep 2009
By 
William D. Freeman "wdavidfreeman" (Southern California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unlike the also recently released "Fry's English Delight", this is a CD set that all Stephen Fry fans should consider absolutely essential to own. "A Bit of Fry and Laurie" aficianados will enjoy this "audio" precursor as much as the "video" sequels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Oct 2014
By 
R. Gold "rg" (kent uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
grows on me each time i listen again and again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Saturday Night Fry (BBC Audio), 16 Aug 2009
By 
L. Nicholl (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I remember this fondly - in fact my tapes of the original broadcast were
warped with overuse.
It's silly, it's fun and somehow has held up well considering how quickly comedy dates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There only was one series, 5 Aug 2009
By 
Joe Caesar (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
The cover states that it's the complete first series, which is true but suggests that there were more. Sadly this version of Saturday Night Fry only had the pilot and the six episodes, the series with the same name broadcast 10 years later was a chat show and quite a different format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for Stephen Fry and Hugh Laurie, 12 July 2009
By 
S. Jones "Ink Stain" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This disk is perfect for anyone who is a fan of alternative comedy and fans of Stephen Fry and Hugh Laurie. This disc is the precursor for " Abit of Fry and Laurie" and perhaps influenced later modern comdedy like Mitchell and Webb. Although I feel this is better by a huge margin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews