Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Glad I bought this
Am a real talking book fan because I don't always have time to read. I wasn't disappointed by the story - really enjoyed it.
Published 17 months ago by Jac

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wolf it down!
Sarah Jane Smith is back on BBC One! So is the Tenth Doctor! And to cash in on the excitement, BBC Audio has released two exclusive-to-audio books featuring Sarah Jane (of which this, of course, is one) and one featuring the Tenth Doctor.

As usual, Sarah Jane herself, Elisabeth Sladen, narrates this one-hour single-disc release, doing a decent job of capturing...
Published on 27 Oct 2009 by R. C. McGinlay


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wolf it down!, 27 Oct 2009
By 
R. C. McGinlay (Ilford, Essex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Sarah Jane Smith is back on BBC One! So is the Tenth Doctor! And to cash in on the excitement, BBC Audio has released two exclusive-to-audio books featuring Sarah Jane (of which this, of course, is one) and one featuring the Tenth Doctor.

As usual, Sarah Jane herself, Elisabeth Sladen, narrates this one-hour single-disc release, doing a decent job of capturing the speech patterns of her co-stars, Tommy Knight (Luke), Daniel Anthony (Clyde) and Anjli Mohindra (Rani) - though Clyde and Rani don't get as much to do in this tale.

Author Gary Russell takes the characters on a welcome trip out of the city and into the countryside. He throws us straight into the story with a gripping flash-forward in his pre-credits teaser (which bears a passing resemblance to the teaser to the Series 3 storyline The Mad Woman in the Attic). From there, he piles mysteries on top of enigmas, including memory loss, alien abduction and a giant hill carving.

During the latter half of the CD, the plot gets somewhat over-complicated, and mystery gives way to confusion, but Russell certainly managed to defy my expectations as to how things would pan out. I'm not sure that we ever do discover the significance of the White Wolf carved on the hillside, but given the price (curiously the CD is cheaper than the download), there's no reason why you shouldn't wolf this adventure straight down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Glad I bought this, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Am a real talking book fan because I don't always have time to read. I wasn't disappointed by the story - really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars T.S.J.A. - "The White Wolf.", 20 Mar 2013
By 
James "I'm a retired security guard. I enjoy ... (MARYPORT, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good story excellently read as ever by Elisabeth Sladen. Highly recommendable for fans of Sarah Jane and Elisabeth Sladen. Well done all concerned in the production of these CD,s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars RIP old girl!, 10 Jun 2011
Listening to this a few weeks after the tragic death of Elisabeth Sladen is a very poignant experience. Sladen's precise and warm narrating style fits the tone of the audio perfectly, and it is another reminder of how much she will be missed. This is an audio reading rather than a full-cast drama, and as such the story is not particularly memorable. This doesn't matter too much though as it is so well read that it is easy to picture the story in one's mind, and Gary Russell's tale of alien abduction and secretive villagers is definitely worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Would have made a good TV episode, 20 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Reminisant of 'Children of the Stones' (a very old childrens tv show)A good tale that would have made an interesting tv episode. Lis Sladen is excellant in her telling of the story. Children Of The Stones [DVD] [1977]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not bad..., 6 Feb 2010
A Kid's Review
The story itself is a bit unrealistic (well, the Doctor Who universes are) but interesting. Some of the characters e.g. Rani are a bit different to how they are in the TV series, but it still makes a great story. Recommended for all Sarah jane Adventures fans, but maybe not for Torchwood or older Doctor Who fans...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great listen for Dr who freaks., 21 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. C. F. Kay "Barrel-rider" (cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The great Liz sladen gives a quality reading to a good story. Although a childrens series there is enough depth for adults to enjoy as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars the sarah jane aventers the whit wolf, 3 Oct 2010
I saw this audio on amazon and thought it looks interresting when i got it i listin to it stright away elisabeth sladen is aways good 2 listin 2 she dose the voices of her co stares brillient espicalce clyde and i like how it takes them out of the city and off 2 wolfenden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews