Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars12
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio Download|Change
Price:£8.65
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 February 2011
escape from alcatraz is the story of alcatarz from the very start as a military prison to the escape of frank lee morris and the anglin brothers. how can it not be an interesting read with characters mentioned such as al capone, machine gun kelly and of course the famous bird man. cambell has done a terrific job recounting the story of alcatraz with qoutes from ex inmates, guards and some perculiar wardens. and of course the attempted escapes. buy it read it and enjoy it. and if your stroped with cash go san fransico and visit alcatraz if you do make sure you read the book before hand as it makes the visit alot more entertaining. : }
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2014
The Clint Eastwood film was originally based on this book, the two more or less matching each other scene for scene. Whilst the film was brilliant for many reasons, this book I found just as entertaining, more so due to the added detail and interesting true life trivia gems found inside. Thoroughly enjoyed the book, couldn't put it down.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2016
This book has some five star content, but sadly there’s quite a bit of filler too, particularly in the first half. It begins and ends with the story of Frank Morris’ escape — the escape upon which the film version focuses entirely — but it would be misleading in the extreme to suggest that’s what this book is about, As very little time is devoted to it. Although the Morris escape is the most engaging part, there are other interesting tales from Alcatraz contained within, including the battle, the trial, and Al Capone’s time at the prison. All of these are well-told and fascinating in their own right, but a lot of these threads are interspersed with the earlier history of Alcatraz as a military facility, and this aspect I found fairly tedious and poorly formatted in terms of chronology. At times the book felt jumbled, and I wasn’t always sure exactly ‘when’ I was. Still, the good bits were very good indeed, and it kept me interested more often than not. I'd like to have given this book four stars but I've given that to much better so... 7/10.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2015
'Escape From Alcatraz' is a fascinating book,giving an insight into what it must have been like for convicts who served time on the island.

The book makes particularly timely reading,with the recent revelations regarding the fate of the escapees.
Thought-provoking.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
Very interesting read! The style of writing is informative and interesting! The black and white pictures give you a unique insight in to life on Alcatraz! Stories that have to be read to be believed!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2013
The book was great,after seeing the film I had to have the book. Very good true crime from J Campbell Bruce.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2013
I have read many accounts of life on Alcatraz and this is without doubt in my top three. Factual yet objective throughout.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
It's extremely difficult to try to describe this book. It's a look at life inside a notorious jail for those who were deemed incorrigible. Those who look for justice between themselves and the criminal seem to think that a place like Alcatraz would be a good place to punish those who misbehave. In fact, I've heard someone speak about what he would do if he were in charge of justice, and his speech follows the points made as to why men ended up here. As you'll see, it doesn't work! The stories of daring escapes and how the authorities tried to rectify them end up as a seeming game of chance. How is the prison to be made escape-proof, as far as the authorities desire, and for the inmates, how to get out is an ever-present desire for them. How can justice be firm but fair? Maybe we'll never know.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2015
Bought it for a Christmas pressie for my son...good book for the price I paid :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2014
very interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)