Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best there is
If, as has been claimed, The Pardoner's Tale is the best short story ever told, then Winny's expert commentary is an admirable companion to it. Winny sets the tale in historical context and discusses sources as well as Chaucer's poetic devices and literary style. As a result, not only is this matchless tale brought alive but one sees through fresh eyes the genius of the...
Published on 2 Oct. 2007 by Rgh1066

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars scruffy & full of doodles
really shabby condition,
+ scribbled notes doodles cartoons of rabbits smoking & allsorts throughout!
My son cannot use it for his a levels at KES grammar school in Stratford as it is so messy & inappropriate,
so I have to find him another one, and would like a refund actually thank you, as it was very expensive for a
very thin book that is in such a...
Published 17 months ago by emma


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best there is, 2 Oct. 2007
If, as has been claimed, The Pardoner's Tale is the best short story ever told, then Winny's expert commentary is an admirable companion to it. Winny sets the tale in historical context and discusses sources as well as Chaucer's poetic devices and literary style. As a result, not only is this matchless tale brought alive but one sees through fresh eyes the genius of the poet telling it. For the first time, I was able to see how Chaucer had carefully fitted each tale to the teller (rather than randomly attribute stories as, for example, Bocaccio did). Only the slimy and sinister Pardoner could have told this tale, and only Chaucer could have put it in his mouth. This Cambridge edition (in fact the whole series) is an excellent window into the poet's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Student Friendly, 10 Feb. 2011
Length:: 7:08 Mins

Hey There,
This is a detailed review of The Pardoner's Tale book. I am focussing on the way the book has been set out and why it will save readers so much time! :) Enjoy!

xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 11 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The translations to the side are so helpful so you have a slightly better understanding of the middle English text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chaucer in his original language, 26 Jan. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A useful single volume of one of Chaucer's Canterbury Tales. Has a useful introduction and a glossary. If you have to study this and are interested in doing a good job, this is an excellent text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Promise fulfilled, 17 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Speedy delivery, good quality. The description was delivered, and it's a great book too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars scruffy & full of doodles, 1 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
really shabby condition,
+ scribbled notes doodles cartoons of rabbits smoking & allsorts throughout!
My son cannot use it for his a levels at KES grammar school in Stratford as it is so messy & inappropriate,
so I have to find him another one, and would like a refund actually thank you, as it was very expensive for a
very thin book that is in such a terrible state!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars get what you pay for, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
was used, and had notes on pages etc, but this is what i expected.

as a cheap A level text it does the job
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars happy with product, 1 Oct. 2009
By 
G. Sarigul "heyo" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
book in good condition perhaps couldve been faster sent as i didnt receive it until a week or i think maybe more but good service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 37 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars proper confusin!!!!!, 9 Jan. 2004
theyr makin me do this for school but i cant understand a word.the spellin is wack, an like theres all this preachin stuff b4 the story which even when the story u reach which is well slow an borin innit.i think the pardoner was a bad riter an this chaucer dude should have corected his mis-takes. i hope he dont rite no more books cos i ent gonna read em. all in all, it was rubbish. i dont re-comend it.but if u is like posh or swot or summimk, ull like well like it probs innit!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews