Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool!
Delivered to time and cost.

Bought for family members who are fans of the show. They like it.

Recomend especially to fans of the programme.
Published 22 months ago by Steve Clark

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Feels like incompetently written fanfiction
Even though the idea of the voracious craw, an unstoppable eating machine, is a good one and could have made for an interesting story, most of the book feels underdeveloped and repetetive. The members of the "family in distress" come across as cardbord characters and even though one crisis follows another the plot is boring and predictable. I've read most of the New Who -...
Published on 30 Jun 2009 by Eris


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Feels like incompetently written fanfiction, 30 Jun 2009
By 
Eris (Deutschland) - See all my reviews
Even though the idea of the voracious craw, an unstoppable eating machine, is a good one and could have made for an interesting story, most of the book feels underdeveloped and repetetive. The members of the "family in distress" come across as cardbord characters and even though one crisis follows another the plot is boring and predictable. I've read most of the New Who - novels but this is the first one I found so disappointing I only skimmed through at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Soem good ideas, but..., 28 Oct 2007
The basic premise of this story is fascinating, and there are some wonderfully graphic descriptions, but while Barbara, Toaster and Domovoi are genuinely well-written, the other main "guest cast" are more or less cardboard cut-outs, including the boy I think I was supposed to empathise with. What was supposed to be a revelation about the woman, too, was obvious to me from her first appearance.

The Doctor and Martha are OK, but overall, I found Sick Building one of the more forgettable additions to the Doctor Who range
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool!, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Delivered to time and cost.

Bought for family members who are fans of the show. They like it.

Recomend especially to fans of the programme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A real disappointment, 21 Feb 2012
By 
Book Critic (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Ten's voice and manic, gurning energy is absolutely spot on in this book. I thought I'd get that observation out of the way first because I hate to be negative but it's the only good thing I have to say about Sick Building.

Paul Magrs has long been my favourite writer of Eight-Doctor novels and his name on the cover was what encouraged me to branch out and try a new-Who novel. This is the first time I've read a book based on the new series so I'm not sure whether it's a lapse in Paul Magrs hitherto magnificent form or the range as a whole, but Sick Building - a Ten and Martha novel set on a planet inhabited only by one super-rich family and their robots - is so terribly simplistic and childish in tone it made me cringe from start to finish.

I don't know if there's a conscious decision behind this, to write the range of Doctor Who books as children's lit, or if it's something specific to this title but gosh golly, if it's typical, I doubt I'll be reading any more. As someone who loved the EDA and PDA's, the change of gear is terribly grating.

I do love Paul Magrs writing and was looking forward to a new Who novel from him, but this was a real disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Original and fun., 1 May 2010
By 
Mr. M. Jones "Jonesmz" (Chester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book stands out from the series because of the originality of the monsters. The monster the Doctor was intending to deal with is continent sized, and reminiscent of the sand worms in Dune. The other monsters are the household objects that the mad genius has imbued with intelligence. They are full of personality, well used in the story and the idea of them kept me chuckling to the end.The sun bed, vacuum cleaners and living fireplace were especially notable, and despite a bit of a sudden ending left me pleased that I had read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars it has its good points and its bad points, 25 July 2009
this is one of those storys i tend to think what were they doing when comming up with this story ( same for the idiots lantern ) first of all a unbeteble killing thing that eats everything in its path is a great idea unfortunetly its just an excuse to get the doctor and martha to the real danger the terimin house

when they get inside weird things begin to happen and the house becomes mad and the secret with the family is a nice twist a very nice twist indeed unfortunetly all of it is just padding untill the craw comes in to it i relize it would become tiresome if the thing features in every chapter but the wrrtier could have made this story intresting saying that there are some good bits

the robot whos smokes for the kid and martha is nice imagery as i said the twist with the family is awsome as you never expected it you supsect it but you think theres got to be more to it

the house takin over is another great part too unfortunetly as i said and i will say again the whole thing is padding untill the showdown the doctor and martha is seperated for most of the book ( i know it happens in most books but some of those are entetaining )

the wrritng is very good here and what happens in the end dose shock you but its diffrent the way the craw is defeted is way below doctor who and feels too childish for my taste

so yea i didnt enjoy it unfortunetly but it has its moments

so half recomended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sick Building, 24 Feb 2008
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
A seemingly unstoppable eating machine called (appropriately enough) the Voracious Craw is the ever-present threat in this 16th novel in BBC Book's New Series range, but the real danger comes in the form of the Artificial Intelligence controlling the dream home of would-be evacuee Professor Tiermann and his family, which is understandably peeved when it finds out that the Tiermann's are planning to leave it to it's fate. As with much of Magrs previous Doctor Who novels and audios, 'Sick Building' is quite light, campy and offbeat, and with a robot sunbed and vending machine being major suppoting characters this feels not unlike one of the early Doctor Who Weekly comicstrips.

With time the novels 'murderous house vs humans' plot does get a little repetetive, but this is a light and breezy fun read, and the scenario is bizarre enough to make thisworthwhile. 'Sick Building' may not be an all-time Dotor Who classic, but it is different in a good way.

3.5 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mad man and madder machines, 26 July 2009
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
a doctor who novel telling an all new story for the tenth doctor and his companion martha jones not seen on tv. it runs for 243 pages and can be read by readers of all ages. the characterisation of the two lead characters is well in keeping with the way they're portrayed on tv.

The story involves the doctor and martha discovering a giant creature is devouring everything on a planet, and trying to warn the man who lives in a large and almost entirely automated house there of the impending danger. But his desire not to leave and the secrets of home turn things into a race against time.

like some in this range it does take about one hundred pages to really get going. during those first one hundred pages the pace is a bit leisurely and you wonder how the idea will stretch to full book length. but then with the main characters put into jeopardy everything goes up a nocth and it turns into quite a gripping page turner.

the setting and many of the supporting characters - mostly intelligent machines - are well realised and quite imaginative, making it one of the more alien settings seen in the books. but it succeeds in presenting this very well.

a good little read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who - Sick Building, 19 April 2013
Tiermann's World: a planet covered in wintry woods and roamed by sabre-toothed tigers and other savage beasts. The Doctor is here to warn Professor Tiermann, his wife and their son that a terrible danger is on its way.

The Tiermanns live in luxury, in a fantastic, futuristic, fully-automated Dreamhome, under an impenetrable force shield. But that won't protect them from the Voracious Craw. A gigantic and extremely hungry alien creature is heading remorselessly towards their home. When it gets there everything will be devoured.

Can they get away in time? With the force shield cracking up, and the Dreamhome itself deciding who should or should not leave, things are looking desperate...

Featuring the Tenth Doctor and Martha as played by David Tennant and Freema Agyeman in the hit Doctor Who series from BBC television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars doctor who-sick building, 27 Jan 2008
By 
S. smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A thoughtful funny story for older children and adults as well.The Doctor is portrayed well as the funny, eccentric genius and all of the characters are interesting too. It is well written, very entertaining and full of good humor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews