Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars From hell's heart I stab at thee!
This is the second part of Greg Cox's life story of Khan Singh, the greatest Trek baddie from the greatest Trek film. It's an interesting experiment in that Khan was supposed to have taken over the world by 1996, but we never saw that did we? So Cox weaves Khan into real history as a shadow mover, secretly taking over the world like a Bond villain.

Moving...
Published on 11 Feb 2008 by S. Bentley

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not What I Had Hoped For
At the start of the novel Khan has managed to become a dictator with control over parts of India and has begun the process of bringing together his fellow genetically engineered humans in the hope of the uniting the world under his leadership. However, when a meeting between various other superhuman warlords, generals and leaders goes wrong, war breaks out amongst them...
Published on 18 Jan 2012 by Killie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars From hell's heart I stab at thee!, 11 Feb 2008
By 
S. Bentley "stuarthoratiobentley" (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is the second part of Greg Cox's life story of Khan Singh, the greatest Trek baddie from the greatest Trek film. It's an interesting experiment in that Khan was supposed to have taken over the world by 1996, but we never saw that did we? So Cox weaves Khan into real history as a shadow mover, secretly taking over the world like a Bond villain.

Moving against him is Gary Seven and Roberta Lincoln from the Trek episode Assignment Earth about a human being made superhuman by alien overseers from far away (which was a backdoor pilot that never went to series).

In this book Khan has matured and is ready to wash his hands of the human race. It explains how he ended up in space and how mankind could have a spaceship in 1996. I feel it shows some good research and clever thinking, that Cox is able to wind Khan and his fellow supermen into real history. However the book, being Trek, is never quite hard-edged enough. Khan is never as ruthless as you imagine him to be, and in fact doesn't seem to do a lot in the book which instead focuses on Seven and Lincoln instead. It's also slightly campy, feeling like the Man from UNCLE at times.

That said, I read the book very quickly and quite enjoyed it. I just weep for what could have been if it had been more full-blooded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars star trek, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
enjoyed reading it, I found volume 1 at a charity shop, enjoyed reading that too hopefully there will be some more books to buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Same as Vol 1...poor., 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read my review of Vol 1, this is the same only worse. I had to speed read the last third.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This Book is great as I have not finished reading it yet. It is just as good as the first
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as gift and was in good condition. Haven't read it so cant comment on that. But the friend i bought it for was very happy with it.
Took a long time - but was emailed about the conditions involving hurricane sandy so was understandable.
overall good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not What I Had Hoped For, 18 Jan 2012
By 
Killie (Armadale, Scotland) - See all my reviews
At the start of the novel Khan has managed to become a dictator with control over parts of India and has begun the process of bringing together his fellow genetically engineered humans in the hope of the uniting the world under his leadership. However, when a meeting between various other superhuman warlords, generals and leaders goes wrong, war breaks out amongst them. Gary Seven and his colleagues are then left with the unenviable job of trying to deal with Khan and his superhuman brethren before they do irreparable damage to the planet and humanity.

My initial comment on the novel is that it has much more action packed than the preceding novel as the older Khan and his brethren now take a greater role in the various proceedings. Cox also once again manages to cleverly entwine what really happened in the 1990's with the story of the Eugenics Wars. What he has created is an interesting enough story and I am sure some fans will love the fact he has reconciled reality with the Star Trek Universe.

However, personally I felt let down by this as what Cox has created is nowhere near as interesting or exciting as what I had envisioned from watching the TV show. There are no great battles and high levels of casualties, Khan doesn't control large parts of Asia and he isn't feared or even really known by the population. The entire Eugenics Wars seem to have been relegated to a collection of skirmishes between some minor warlords, most of which are covered up by various governments so the population know nothing about it. I just felt that this determination to use real events actually ruins the image of the Eugenics Wars and Khan himself that the reader may have formed from watching the TV show or movie.

The next issue I have is actually something that may appeal to some Star Trek fans but just irritated me thoroughly. It is the constant use of characters from other Star Trek stories that at times added nothing to the story at all. As I wrote in my review for the first novel, the odd cameo is nice and fun to read about but the number interspersed throughout this novel is uncalled for. There is also the problem that a number of these name-dropping moments don't actually add anything at all the story and just detract from the rest of the story. The number of nods and winks to the fans out there can only make me think that Cox maybe didn't think enough of the novel as a good book shouldn't need this level of "fanwank" to appeal to its readers.

In summary I was rather disappointed in this novel although it wasn't to do with the writing or the plot itself. The issue I had is that it didn't really depict what I imagined the Eugenics Wars would involve and I think it also weakened the character of Khan into little more than a petty warlord. Whilst some people will like the manner in which Cox has attempted to merge reality and Star Trek history I would much rather have seen an alternate history with much greater divergence from reality. Basically, if you loved the first novel then you are probably going to enjoy this one as well. However, if you had some reservations then it is likely that these will be even greater after reading this volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Would you reveal to war-weary nations that some 80 or 90 supermen might still be alive?", 23 Dec 2007
By 
TK-1308 - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Star Trek: The Eugenics Wars Volume 2 is the 17th classic Trek hardback and without a moment's break, heads straight into the conclusion of the epic saga that was started in book one. Once again Greg Cox's tireless research gives an added dimension of realism to the sections of the stories set in contemporary times.
While Kirk has to deal with sabotage on the Sycorax colony far in our future, the epic struggles between the various superhuman generals continues on Earth. After Seven's failure with Khan in the last novel, he begins a very dangerous game of pitting one of the children of Chrysalis against another in order to get them to do destroy themselves while limiting civilian casualties.
With Roberta on a mission into the stronghold of a genetically enhanced general of an American military cult, Seven has to deal with Khan alone. With doomsday weapons hanging over the world and Khan prepared to unleash a bacterial armageddon the tension is high throughout the whole story.
Like book one, the novel is a real page turner and you will have a hard time putting it down. With the links to all the episodes covered in book one, Cox demonstrates with ease how a DY-100 class sleeper ship could've been launched from 1990's Earth. Trek fans will find themselves laughing at that one!
The emotions brought out by the plight of Seven as he struggles to ensure humanity's survival are intense and world seen through the maturing eyes of Roberta Lincoln are at times sad and painful, especially for those of us that remember such tragedies as Waco.
Written with the same passion and zeal as the first volume, Greg Cox gives us a satisfactory conclusion to one of the best unexplored sagas of the Star Trek universe. A must have for any Trek fan - enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Eugenics Wars - The rise and fall of another Dr Evil, 22 April 2006
By 
Gail Pearson (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
I love Star Trek. I have loved Star Trek since I started reading the original series novels. I have always had a soft spot for Spaceseed and Wrath of Khan. Khan Noonian Singh being such an interesting character.

In the "Rise and Fall of Khan Noonian Singh" the eugenics wars are described vaguely to shadow behind major, current real life events. I found the whole premise behind it interesting, but unfortunately when put into motion it comes across with very poor craftmanship. The desire smash in every single time hopping, alien's on earth Star Trek episode ends up causing the story to fragment into more of an author pointing to what canon he knows, instead of dealing with the far more important plot.

Gary Seven and his faithful sidekick Roberta both come across as four color super-heros. Khan himself comes across as more Ming the Merciless with the knock-on super-intellectual ability to utter from the Merriam-Webster Dictionary of Quotations at the drop of a hat.

There is an eery feeling that this would have made a fantastic Austin Powers meets Star Trek novel, but it was done far too seriously to have even an element of humor.

I have read a few reviews that have praised this as being a piece of fantastic writing. Please don't believe the hype, but read a few passages and make the informed decision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cox is Supreme!, 27 Nov 2006
Brilliant researched & thought out, a masterpiece of trek fiction. The best is yet to come with part three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews