Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High Stakes and Nowhere to Run
Nick Conover is the CEO of Stratton Inc. a company that makes office furniture in Fenwick, Michigan. He's lost his wife in an auto accident, so he's bringing up his two children alone. He's had to lay off about half his workers due to Chinese competition and bad economic times and because the company was the largest employer in town, it has made him pretty unpopular...
Published on 7 Jan 2008 by Laurel Whitehead

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Boring Start, Exciting End
To be honest, during the first half of this book i found i didn't connect to the story. It didn't bother me at all if i had to put the book down. I wouldn't say it was a chore to read but i wasn't really enjoying it. It also went into a lot of detail - some of which i found unnecessary. There was a lot of `business' talk. I understand that some of it was crucial to the...
Published 7 months ago by mrsgillies


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Reading Of The Audio Book., 10 Oct 2012
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Company Man (Audio CD)
Note THIS IS A REVIEW OF THE AUDIO BOOK ONLY
Other reviewers, (Non American) on Amazon complain that this book is `too long' with the written descriptions. This is not the case with this abridged audio version.

To my ear the book `reads' really well.
Scott Brick the narrator has done an excellent job. His narration is spot on and he handles the character's spoken lines really well. He that wonderful `mid Atlantic ` voice that to the British ear does not sound too American. For this is an American story. Nicholas "Nick" Conover is the CEO of the Stratton Corporation he has had the unhappy task of decimating the workforce of his local town's major employer. He has gone from local boy done good to the slasher and public enemy number one.
He has problems with a stalker- a person who breaks into his gated estate house and daubs graffiti- Nick shoots the stalker and realizes he will be hung out to dry by the local police force if he reports the shooting.

The rest of the story plays against the backdrop of a concealed killing and the plot within plot of the plant being transferred to China.

This is a cracking story and I believe is made better by being abridged. The story is tight and bright and runs along at a brisk pace read by the excellent Scott Brick. 5 CDs and a full 5hours and 30 minutes long with the added bonus of an interview with the author Joseph Finder.
I can wholeheartedly recommend this excellent audio book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High Stakes and Nowhere to Run, 7 Jan 2008
By 
Laurel Whitehead (Seattle, WA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Nick Conover is the CEO of Stratton Inc. a company that makes office furniture in Fenwick, Michigan. He's lost his wife in an auto accident, so he's bringing up his two children alone. He's had to lay off about half his workers due to Chinese competition and bad economic times and because the company was the largest employer in town, it has made him pretty unpopular.

Person or persons unknown start vandalizing his house, someone is stalking him and then a deranged former employee breaks into his house. In a panic, Nick shoots him, then gets the company security advisor to help him cover up the crime.

Enter Police Inspector Audrey Rhimes. She is good at her job and finds out things at both Conover's work place and home are not as they seem to be, plus it would seem she has an axe to grind as her husband was laid off from Stratton and he has buried himself in the bottle. If Audrey digging into his life isn't bad enough, the new owners of Stratton are plotting behind Nick's back, so Nick's job and financial future are in jeopardy, not to mention his freedom, his sanity, his life and the lives of his children.

There is action a plenty in this story, red herrings galore, characters who live and breath, tension, suspense and more tension. This is one thriller that is very, very hard to put down. Can you tell I liked it?

Review Submitted by Captain Katie Osborne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mostly great, 14 Aug 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Company Man (Hardcover)
I have read all his books now and the latest three are of course the best. But Paranoia + Killer Instinct (latest) and this one do have a lot in common and I am getting a bit worried that he is going to start repeating himself too much. Hence I was very positive on the other 2 (5 stars), but this one gets 4 stars only. The story is a bit less good, a bit slow at times, a bit too long for what it actually has to say.

Why similar to the other two books ? Once again it is the story of some average guy (this time he is already CEO) who is in the middle of some manipulation but prevails in the end. The old friend is also there, this time he is the security director of the company (an ever present character). Once again the book will make you realise how emails are dangerous ...

Don't get me wrong: this is seriously good story-telling, the plot grips you tight, but there is definitely some air of de'j`a vu and I had guessed the end this time - which was impossible in the other two books.

Thanks to Joseph for a good string of books anyway !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch out John Grisham!, 22 Aug 2005
By 
Detra Fitch (USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Company Man (Hardcover)
Nicholas "Nick" Conover is the CEO of the Stratton Corporation. It is the well known name for "Made in the USA" office furniture. It is the largest employer in Portland. While the company ran smoothly, Nick was the most admired man in town. However, Nick became the most hated man when Boston forced him to lay off thousands. Everybody in town had at least one close relative that Nick had laid off. Everywhere he went, the locals made sure to remind him of their hatred.
When a stalker begins breaking into his home and vandalizing, the local police take their time in showing up. The police do not even pretend to collect evidence or care. Nick is a single father with two kids. So when the stalker becomes violent, Nick has some top grade security devices installed. Needless-to-say, when the alarms go off, Nick protects his family. After all, the police would not show up until it was WAY too late. Though it was self-defense, Nick knows the cops would enjoy slapping a murder label on him and hauling him off to prison. Therefore, Nick calls Eddie Rinaldi, Stratton's corporate security director, and ex-cop, who had installed Nick's home security devices. Eddie makes it all disappear.
At work, Nick realizes that he is not being informed about major company decisions. Nick and Eddie quietly investigate and begins to uncover a conspiracy against Nick that involves some of his closest colleagues. Nothing is making sense and everyone is lying to him.
Enter Homicide Detective Audrey "Aud" Rhimes. She has been paired with the loathsome and slovenly Roy Bugbee to investigate a body found in a dumpster on the wrong side of town. Clues are few, but Audrey keeps coming back to Nick as her main suspect. Her gut instinct insists that Nick knows something and is holding back evidence. When she learns of the previous break-ins and the department's numerous negligences about them, Aud cannot blame Nick for his silence. But she is determined to uncover the truth.
***** This author is every bit as good as John Grisham. This is a thick novel with unexpected twists throughout most of it. Readers can easily empathize with Nick. I found myself believing that I would have done exactly as Nick did, every step of the way. This novel starts out exciting and ends up with a huge climax. I was unable to put the book down for long and made lame excuses so I could return to Nick's world. Highly recommended! *****
Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Boring Start, Exciting End, 6 Dec 2013
By 
This review is from: No Hiding Place (Paperback)
To be honest, during the first half of this book i found i didn't connect to the story. It didn't bother me at all if i had to put the book down. I wouldn't say it was a chore to read but i wasn't really enjoying it. It also went into a lot of detail - some of which i found unnecessary. There was a lot of `business' talk. I understand that some of it was crucial to the story however i think it could have been cut down quite a bit. Or maybe this book was written for those who like to read about the ins and outs of a large company.

The story is about Nick, the CEO of Stratton Corporation, who is not the most popular man in town as he has had to lay half of them off. As you can imagine, there are repercussions.

I really liked Nick's character. I think that is what kept me reading. When i had got half way through the book, things became more interesting and it became a `page-turner'. What i found interesting is that i started rooting for a character who had done the wrong thing, which confused me because it made the ending hard to predict. How could it be a happy ending? I think it was very clever writing. The plot twists were also very good.

I wouldn't say there was any `sex' so to speak but there was some sexual references. Not very much at all, but it was there.

I would definitely recommend this book, however i probably wouldn't read it again. I enjoyed it however it had a depressing undertone that i found hard to shrug off after I'd finished reading. It could have been due to the references to mental illness in the book. It's not something uplifting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not really my thing, 30 April 2011
This review is from: Company Man (Audio CD)
I wanted an audio book for playing in the car - unfortunately this wasn't my thing, it was extremely long and winding and really could have been summarised by half and been a better book, yawn!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Be Careful also called Company Man, 30 Oct 2009
This review is from: No Hiding Place (Paperback)
After reading and really enjoying Paranoia I decided to purchased Joseph Finder's other books. Through Amazon, I puchased amongst others, No Hiding Place and Company Man and realised that they were one and the same book, so don't make the same mistake I did. Saying that it was a good book with a good twist at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 30 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Company Man (Hardcover)
Finder is very good at putting 'ordinary' people in difficult circumstances and seeing how they fare. This is no different.

A CEO, having lost his wife, two kids, company lays off half the workforce, and then.... well, you have to read it find out.

I thought it took too long to get going but Finder is great at weaving in a few surprises. Not as strong as Paranoia and Power Play which were a cut above. This is ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars with Company Man Mr. Finder does it again, 4 Aug 2008
By 
CC7 (Berne, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
This is my second book by this author and certainly won't be the last. The plot is great, storytelling even better and the characters well developed. I never thought a corporate thriller could be so thrilling (I would have thought boring would be the describing word, but I'm happy to say I was wrong). The story brings up the subject of mental illnesses such as schizophrenia and I find it was really well explained so that one could sympathize with the character but never losing the thread of the plot or deviating from the story. Keep them coming, you are now among my favorite authors!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not My Company Man, 6 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Parts of the book are OK. But if Mr' Finder is going to continue to write about guns,he wants to have a better understanding on the ballistics side of things.
I think may be the corporate thing running through the the book put me off. By the time I had got to chapter 10,I found myself wanting him to sell the company and consentrate on the thriller side of things.

After reading Chicago Way,by Michale Harvey,Company Man was not the one to go to next. I doubt I will be reading any more by him. Having said all that..There are worse out there,and at the same time..a lot better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Company Man
Company Man by Joseph Finder
Only search this product's reviews