Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Master and disciple
Seen the lot on TV (many times over) but this was my second novel. Far greater detail on Morse himself, especially the back-story about his youth (script ideas for 'Endeavour', anyone?). Even more surprising was the time devoted to develop the character of Lewis whom I had dismissed as a blank sheet of paper in 'Last Seen Wearing'.

One surprise is the...
Published 15 months ago by Officer Dibble

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars My wife and I have always enjoyed the TV series
This a highly convoluted story, typical of Colin Dexter. This is only the second book of his that I have read & it makes me think that he is showing off his erudition; but then he is a college professor. My wife and I have always enjoyed the TV series.
Published 3 months ago by Charles Hooker


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A good riddle, 10 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is a riddle, keeps you on you toes trying to think who is the murderer. Good one Mr Dexter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another good story, 2 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love Inspector Morse books - Mr Dexter pens an excellent read! Thank you Mr Dexter for taking the time to produce such an excellent novel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Riddle of the Third Mile, 31 Oct. 2013
By 
G. Pettitt - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good crime story that has more twists than a rope. It takes until the last chapter to find the intricate plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Morse., 16 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Had these as hard copies until they were 'lost'. I lived in the area which makes the stories more interesting.
Having John Thaw as the picture in my head helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping and exciting from the start, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent read a true masterpiece I loved this book. It was so well written I can't wait to read the rest of the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Riddle Of The Third Mile. Excellent, 23 Mar. 2013
By 
gary c atkins (leicester.england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very enjoyable read. Five star rating for a brilliant writer. I enjoy the television series of Morse and also the books. This title was typical of Colin Dexter, very hard to put down. I recommend all Morse crime stories to Kindle readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Detective Story, 12 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really good plot. Its so good I am reading it for a second time to appreciate fully the story. Best detective story I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i have read most of Colin Dexter's books, my favorite detective story's, with Morse and Lewis taking center stage. This book doesn't disappoint, full of twists and turns, loved it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Converted to detective fiction, 23 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've never thought I liked crime fiction but then read Watermark and wanted to read more, particularly with universitites and academia as the backdrop. My father-in-law loved Inspector Morse, so I thought I'd try one, and now I'm completely hooked. Colin Dexter is just a great author and the plots and twists in The Riddle of the Third Mile kept me turning the pages from start to finish. The sense of Oxford and the charaters that inhabit the academic world are beautifully evoked, warts and all. I'm sure I'm going to read my way through the whole Colin Dexter catalogue!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars My wife and I have always enjoyed the TV series, 28 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This a highly convoluted story, typical of Colin Dexter. This is only the second book of his that I have read & it makes me think that he is showing off his erudition; but then he is a college professor. My wife and I have always enjoyed the TV series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews