Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep and delightful character development and character interplay coupled with cultured superb writing
A 4.5 star read, my first by this author. Superb character development. Juxtaposed against each other, the contrasting and deeply developed characters of Morse and Lewis (in many ways one as different from the other as the day from the night) and their unfolding relationship with each other are a delight to read. The characters and their interplay are cleverly and very...
Published 12 months ago by Leigh

versus
10 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unfilmable early work
You may have wondered why The Secret of Annexe 3 was never adapted for television. Almost certainly this was because it hinges on an unfilmable and ludicrously unbelievable situation of mistaken identity (obviously I can't say what) that no viewer would swallow - and yet the reader is expected to. In later Morse books, Dexter's style acquired some of the gloss and...
Published on 18 Jan. 2003 by Durnovaria


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a lot to say about paperback book, 13 May 2013
By 
Nicholas. Taylder (Letchworth, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book was in excellent condition and delivery was very prompt. As an addict to Dexter's Morse and as a 75 year old I can only requote the introduction to chapter one of this book. " The pomp of funerals has more regard to the vanity of the living than to the honour of the dead" I wonder if a similar statement could be made about births and marriages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
no commemnt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old but unusual, 29 Dec. 2014
By 
G. TAYLOR (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of the few Morse books not made into a TV episode but it is full of the intrigue and sophisticated dialogue that made Dexter's books so enjoyable to read. Aspects of the story seem very 'dated' in 2014 but still a very worthwhile purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unfilmable early work, 18 Jan. 2003
You may have wondered why The Secret of Annexe 3 was never adapted for television. Almost certainly this was because it hinges on an unfilmable and ludicrously unbelievable situation of mistaken identity (obviously I can't say what) that no viewer would swallow - and yet the reader is expected to. In later Morse books, Dexter's style acquired some of the gloss and subtlety of the TV series; but this is an early work, its contrived plot padded out with pompous description and lengthy half-page asides about Oxford geography. Unless you're a Morse completist, ignore it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Secret of Annexe 3, 30 Nov. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always been thouroughly captured by Inspector Morse but I did not find this one caught me in the same way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mistake, 18 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I did not purchase this. There must be some mistake. Will have to check my account. This is somewhat worrying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars inspector morse, 5 April 2010
By 
Janet Friedli "jfriedli" (switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
regret that colin dexter has retired the inspector morse series. morse is a great character and has become somewhat of a "friend" over the years. we'll miss him
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dear oh, dear...what was he thinking?, 19 Feb. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Secret of Annexe 3 (Audio CD)
Having read a few of the 'Inspector Morse' books ,I was amazed/horrified that Dexter got this one past the publisher. It must be because his work is now such a surefire moneymaker that no one dare tells him when he churns out rubbish.This book goes to show you that in this day, this age, the author clearly reckons all black people look alike. NOONE who's ever looked at black/multiracial faces would try to get away with the premise that a white man blacking up as a Rasta(what else?) would fool everybody. The whole premise of this story rests on this. Black people in Oxford are obviously so rare in Oxford that the inhabitants don't know the difference. If you want to see where I think Dexter seems to have got his idea, watch Dan Ackroyd's performance in 'Trading Places'...or Al Jolson in 'The Jazz Singer'.This story is THAT bad- Slack, sloppy ,and deeply insulting. Why bother read any of his others? Rendell does a better job (most of the time).What's disturbing is that other reviewers should've and didn't pick up on this,clearly thinking it's just fine to praise ignorant nonsense because it's Colin Dexter slurry. A lesser known author would surely have been shot down in flames. The book IS a handy bathroom read...you'll never have to worry about running out of...essentials again if it's placed by the cistern.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews