Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The psychological thriller at its best
I have been meaning to start reading Andrew Taylor's highly acclaimed Roth Trilogy for years, and now I finally have I'm delighted to say that it didn't disappoint in the least. 'The Four Last Things' can be read as a stand-alone novel, but it also forms the first part of a trilogy which moves back in time to explore the history and development of a psychopath...
Published on 16 Aug. 2009 by M.D. Smart

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Loved it
The first in a brilliant series, I loved it
Published 1 month ago by Glowreads


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The psychological thriller at its best, 16 Aug. 2009
By 
M.D. Smart (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been meaning to start reading Andrew Taylor's highly acclaimed Roth Trilogy for years, and now I finally have I'm delighted to say that it didn't disappoint in the least. 'The Four Last Things' can be read as a stand-alone novel, but it also forms the first part of a trilogy which moves back in time to explore the history and development of a psychopath.

Taylor's characterisation is excellent; he is utterly convincing whether delving into the confusion and paranoia of damaged, disturbed minds or describing the guilt, terror and powerlessness experienced by the parents of a missing child. His control of the plot and the pacing of the book is exceptional, slowly building the suspense, gradually peeling back layers of his characters' histories and teasing the reader with hints of secrets yet to be revealed.

The book reminded me strongly of Barbara Vine at her best, and I can't think of higher praise than that. If you enjoy slow-burning psychological crime then you should put this at the top of your reading list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was fantastic. Quite gory but a brilliant read. I saw the TV adaptation as well with Emilia Fox. Another of my favourite by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, 23 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked they way the story unfolded from different character perspectives. Felt anxious about what was going to happen next, there was a feeling of unease. Very well written and intriguing to know how the characters were developed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
book is in good condition and prompt service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 16 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first in a brilliant series, I loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A real page turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews