Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THERE IS NO FARMER IN THE DELL...ONLY A KILLER...
This story begins in the mountains of North Carolina, where eleven year old Emily Steiner lived. She had left a youth meeting at her church one afternoon and was on her way home. She never arrived. A week later, her nude, lifeless body was found.
Kay Scarpetta, medical examiner and noted forensic pathologist, is called in by the North Carolina authorities, After an...
Published on 31 Dec 2002 by Lawyeraau

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What a shame
What a shame, this book had so much potential and the story line was good but there were several flaws in my opinion. The most annoying one for me was the person they suspect in the beginning of commiting the murder followed on from another book and, even though ive read them all in order, its been a while and i kept waiting for a recap in the book, like Kay thinking...
Published on 9 Mar 2012 by C. Pearce


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What a shame, 9 Mar 2012
By 
C. Pearce "Amelia" (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What a shame, this book had so much potential and the story line was good but there were several flaws in my opinion. The most annoying one for me was the person they suspect in the beginning of commiting the murder followed on from another book and, even though ive read them all in order, its been a while and i kept waiting for a recap in the book, like Kay thinking about her first encounter with him etc etc but it didnt come and i felt all at sea! It was like id missed a book out and i know i havent so i think thats really bad of Patricia Cornwell to leave us in the lurch like that!
The story with Lucy was cleverly weaved into the plot and i enjoyed it, personally i think it could have been a book on its own if she fleshed it out and added a bit more murder into it but thats my opinion.
I really wanted to give this book 5 stars cos i love Dr Scarpetta and the stories but unfortunately she fell a little short of her usual standard. To many ideas in one book that werent fully explained or exploited in my opinion, but deffinately worth a read if you want to follow Dr Kay Scarpetta's adventures because it will get you through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THERE IS NO FARMER IN THE DELL...ONLY A KILLER..., 31 Dec 2002
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This story begins in the mountains of North Carolina, where eleven year old Emily Steiner lived. She had left a youth meeting at her church one afternoon and was on her way home. She never arrived. A week later, her nude, lifeless body was found.
Kay Scarpetta, medical examiner and noted forensic pathologist, is called in by the North Carolina authorities, After an initial review, she believes that the murder may have been commited by serial killer, Temple Gault. Long known to the FBI, He has managed to elude capture and remains at large. More careful review of the forensic evidence, however, leaves her with unanswered question that initially puzzle her. As she endeavors to untangle these strange and tantalizing clues, she realizes that they begin to point away from Gault and in a direction more horrifying than anyone ever imagined.
Meanwhile, Dr. Scarpetta must contend with other issues closer to home. Her troubled niece, Lucy, an intern at the FBI facility at Quantico, becomes enmeshed in a legal controversy that threatens to derail her future employment hopes. Scarpetta's long time associate and homicide detective, Pete Marino, may have bitten off more than he could chew and has personally gotten involved with Emily Steiner's mother. Meanwhile, Dr. Scarpetta, herself, is undergoing a certain amount of personal angst over the sexual tension that is building between her and married FBI agent, Benton Wesley. All these personal concerns overlay her investigation for Emily Steiner's killer.
The forensic questions that arise from Emily's murder lead Dr. Scarpetta to "The Body Farm", a secret research facility in Tennessee, where some of the answers to her questions may be found. It is the forensic clues and their analysis by Dr. Scarpetta that provide the most interesting aspects of the book. All in all, It is another excellent addition to the Kay Scarpetta series and well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A weird winding story, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just when you think you have worked it out a tangent appears shooting off in a totally obscure direction proving you're nowhere as clever as the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars THERE IS NO FARMER IN THE DELL...ONLY A KILLER..., 19 Jan 2003
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This story begins in the mountains of North Carolina, where eleven year old Emily Steiner lived. She had left a youth meeting at her church one afternoon and was on her way home. She never arrived. A week later, her nude, lifeless body was found.
Kay Scarpetta, medical examiner and noted forensic pathologist, is called in by the North Carolina authorities, After an initial review, she believes that the murder may have been committed by serial killer, Temple Gault. Long known to the FBI, he has managed to elude capture and remains at large. More careful review of the forensic evidence, however, leaves her with unanswered questions that initially puzzle her. As she endeavors to untangle these strange and tantalizing clues, she realizes that they begin to point away from Gault and in a direction more horrifying than anyone ever imagined.
Meanwhile, Dr. Scarpetta must contend with other issues closer to home. Her troubled niece, Lucy, an intern at the FBI facility at Quantico, becomes enmeshed in a legal controversy that threatens to derail her future employment hopes. Scarpetta's long time associate and homicide detective, Pete Marino, may have bitten off more than he could chew and has personally gotten involved with Emily Steiner's mother. Meanwhile, Dr. Scarpetta, herself, is undergoing a certain amount of personal angst over the sexual tension that is building between her and married FBI agent, Benton Wesley. All these personal concerns overlay her investigation for Emily Steiner's killer.
The forensic questions that arise from Emily's murder lead Dr. Scarpetta to "The Body Farm", a secret research facility in Tennessee, where some of the answers to her questions may be found. It is the forensic clues and their analysis by Dr. Scarpetta that provide the most interesting aspects of the book. All in all, It is another excellent addition to the Kay Scarpetta series and well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Page turner, 15 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good read, just one thing wrong, I couldn't put it down, often staying up until early hours of the morning, and falling asleep while reading! I will definitely be buying more Patricia Cornwell novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great reading, this was a real page turner, i recommend it for any avid readers of suspense/thrill novels guarantee you will want more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not for me, 23 Mar 2013
I admire all the readers who love reading Patricia Cornwell books. I mainly brought this book and Postmorton because i liked the reviews. However i have discovered sadly Patricia Cronwell books are not for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Body Farm, 27 Sep 2008
By 
molko (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is the 5th in Cornwell's acclaimed Kay Scarpetta series and it is just as good as the first 4 amazing books in the series.
Scarpetta is investigating the death of school girl Emily Steiner and she begins to think that her old nemisis Temple Gault may have struck again. Meanwhile she has to deal with her neice Lucy being accused of stealing highly classified information from the FBI.
Cornwell is a master in the genre and binds the threads of her characters tightly and keeps the reader hooked.
I'll definately be reading the next book in the series and I hope Cornwell keeps up this high standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Body Farm (Paperback)
I love these books and love that the character has been made into a t.v show (bones) all of the storylines are based on past cases from a real forensic anthropologists and the stories are amazing - I have bought every book in the series so far and will continue to do so

Good fast delivery and the book was in good condition for a very reasonable price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Body Farm, 7 Jun 2014
By 
C. Winterburn (Wakefield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wasn't sure I'd like this one. Someone told me that this series dies off around this time but I have all the books and want to read all of them.

I liked the part about her niece finding herself as she grows up, finding herself in a gay relationship. I'm not too sure about all the Quantico stuff where theres so much security that it surely would be impossible to bypass all the security, but hey, I'm only the reader.

The actual crimes were a good read, of which I'll say nothing coz it'll spoil it for anyone bothering to read this review.

I feel sad for Marino. It's time he got himself a decent woman. He can't live off his desires for Kay any longer.

The Kay/Wesley romance thing is very intriguing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews