Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars which is a series of pocket sized books with very fine and thin pages
Because there already exists so many reviews on the contents of Anna Karenina, I'll only describe this edition of the book, not what it's about. This book is a part of the Collector's Library, which is a series of pocket sized books with very fine and thin pages. The tet is somewhat small, but I already knew that, so it wasn't a problem for me. However, if you have a bad...
Published 3 months ago by Irene

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A rather long winded tale
This is in essence a love story, or rather a combination of love stories set in late 19th Century Russia. It touches on certain political and social issues and problems appropriate to that age and setting but Tolstoy does ramble on quite a bit on matters that really do not add anything menaingful to the storyline.
It may well be that something has been lost in the...
Published 15 months ago by Gerry Atrick


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A rather long winded tale, 22 Aug 2013
By 
Gerry Atrick (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anna Karenina (Kindle Edition)
This is in essence a love story, or rather a combination of love stories set in late 19th Century Russia. It touches on certain political and social issues and problems appropriate to that age and setting but Tolstoy does ramble on quite a bit on matters that really do not add anything menaingful to the storyline.
It may well be that something has been lost in the translation into English but there are many passages that seem to lack coherence. As the story unfolds Tolstoy tends to include more and more sentences and phrases in French in direct speech passages. This may have been a habit of the Russian aristocracy to confound their domestic staff, but I found it incredibly irritating as it ruins the flow of the narrative when I have to consult Google translate to get an idea of what is being said.
As far as the Kindle version is concerned there are numerous instances of bad layout with sentences broken mid-line with perhaps just one word on the next line and the remainders of the sentence next line down. Perhaps I am too fussy in my old age, but it would not be acceptable in a printed book so I do not see why we should accept it in an electronice version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars which is a series of pocket sized books with very fine and thin pages, 7 Aug 2014
Because there already exists so many reviews on the contents of Anna Karenina, I'll only describe this edition of the book, not what it's about. This book is a part of the Collector's Library, which is a series of pocket sized books with very fine and thin pages. The tet is somewhat small, but I already knew that, so it wasn't a problem for me. However, if you have a bad eyesight, this series might not be the one for you. It is bound in red cloth, with a dust jacket with an illustration on it. There are no illustrations on the inside, as some of the other books in this series have. The edges of the pages are plated with a gold colour, and this makes the book look quite elegant in my opinion. Kind of old fashioned in a way. It also has a thin cloth bookmark attached to it. I adore this series, so when Anna Karenina arrived in the mail, I was so glad to put it beside all the others. As this is the unabridged edition, and the book is quite small, it is a very thick book, but still manageable, so it shouldn't be a problem. My overall impression is that this edition is a really nice, small, old fashioned and cute book, and it arrived in perfect condition, so I have nothing bad to say about it. 5 stars easily! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anna Karenina book, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anna Karenina (Kindle Edition)
Have read this book a long time ago, and never came across it again.
Now with my new gifts from good friends, the Paperwhite kindle I have found this book on amazon
and startet to read it yesterday.

This Kimdle has opened a new world to me, and its lit up so no strainingmy eyes.

Love it all. Thanks amazon, Lee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful, 6 Jan 2013
This review is from: Anna Karenina (Paperback)
The size, format, font, quality, everything about this book is awful. Haven't read a word as couldn't have been put off more by the presentation. I read a lot and am more than happy with thin pages and small font but this was truly ridiculous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Anna Karenina (Collectors Library), 11 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I ordered this hard back edtion as a birthday treat for myself. It has been many years since I read Anna Karenina and I wanted a book to treasure and re-read in the future. I am very dissapointed with the clumsy translation and the abundance of typos on small words. When finished this edition is heading for the charity shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Book - Bad Audiobook, 29 Oct 2003
By A Customer
I had reached the 4th CD in this audiobook and all the time I had a nagging doubt that I was missing something. So I went on-line to do some research to find a text for this book.
I find to my disappointment that the audiobook supplied is less than 30% of the actual book and yet nowhere did Amazon say that the audiobook is an abridged version.
If you love classic original literature don't bother with this audiobook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Masterpiece, 28 May 2010
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
With part of the proceeds of this novel, and the others in this series you are helping to support fighting AIDs and trying to eliminate it in Africa. So you can read one of the world's greatest masterpieces and support a charity at the same time.

Anna Karenina was originaly slated by critics in Russia when it first appeared, but since then has gone on to be acknowledged for the masterpiece it is, indeed some cite this as the perfect novel. Funnily enough I have only met one other person who has read this book, he was an English teacher that I met at a money raising event and he was enthusing greatly on this. I have personally read it many times and it always enthralls me, and I hope that if you read it you will feel the same. Admittedly it is quite a big story but the basic plot is about a love affair. To give anything more than this away would really spoil it for anyone coming to it for the first time. Taking in love, passion, double standards and hypocrisy this novel firmly sets itself in its time by Tolstoy including things that were of concern to the people then living, but despite that this is a story for all time and is ageless.

This can be considered as a crossover between realism and modernism in the novel, as well as incorporating stream of conciousness, and for that alone it would be considered important, but with its great storyline it transcends such things, that really are only of interest for those who study literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Anna Karenina, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anna Karenina (Kindle Edition)
I did not enjoy this book at all; I found it extremely confusing. In fact I deleted most of it without reading. It is the first time I have ever not completed a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anna Karenina (Kindle Edition)
The translation is a little quirky at times, and the Russian names take some keeping up with, but overall, a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab read, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anna Karenina (Kindle Edition)
Been meaning to read for this years. So glad I finally got round to it. Thoroughly enjoyable :) Fab read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews