Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent mystery
Hercule Poirot is feeling bored, so he is delighted when he is visited by his old friend Superintendent Spence of the Kilchester Police. Spence has recently been in charge of murder case, an old charwoman, Mrs McGinty, has been brutally bludgeoned to death. Her lodger, James Bentley, has been convicted of her murder and is due to hang. But Spence is convinced Bentley...
Published on 5 Feb 2005 by L O'connor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading, but only just
Like its magnificent predecessor "Taken at the Flood", this book paints a vivid picture of how hard life was in Britain after the end of WW II. But now we are at the beginning of the '50s; thanks to American financial aid the economy is on the turn, rationing is coming to an end, and things are starting to look up a bit. But that's where the similarities with "Taken at...
Published on 10 May 2012 by Thomas Holt


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent mystery, 5 Feb 2005
By 
L O'connor (richmond, surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hercule Poirot is feeling bored, so he is delighted when he is visited by his old friend Superintendent Spence of the Kilchester Police. Spence has recently been in charge of murder case, an old charwoman, Mrs McGinty, has been brutally bludgeoned to death. Her lodger, James Bentley, has been convicted of her murder and is due to hang. But Spence is convinced Bentley didn't do it, and he wants Poirot to find out who did.
So Poirot goes to stay in the village of Broadhinny, where the grizzly deed was done, and he soon begins to uncover reasons why other people might have wanted Mrs McGinty dead. While striving to discover the real murderer, he also has to cope with the appalling conditions at the truly terrible 'guest house' he is staying at. The Summerhayes, whose house it is, have no idea how to run a guest house, nor even how to prepare an edible meal.
The scenes where Poirot's sufferings at the Summerhayes's horrible guest house are described are among the funniest in the book, which is replete with humour. There are many interesting characters, especially the scatty but charming Maureen Summerhayes, whom Poirot likes in spite of her atrocious cooking. The character of the convicted murderer Jame Bentley is particularly good, he is utterly unprepossesing, which makes Poirot all the more determined to prove him innocent.
The best exchange in this very entertaining book comes near the end:' "Bon Dieu, how stupid I have been" said Hercule Poirot. "The whole thing is simple, is it not?" It was after that remark that there was very nearly another murder - the murder of Hercule Poirot by Superintendent Spence'. Enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As a narrator Hugh Fraser is unsurpassed., 29 Sep 2011
By 
Hugh Fraser is a master at the art of narrating the audio book. I have never heard anybody as good as he is, and he is very good in this particular one, perhaps because 'Mrs. McGinty's Dead' contains quite a bit of comedy, and he excels at this. The voice he gives to Mrs. Ariadne Oliver, Agatha Christie's alter ego, is quite convincing, but he has a huge variety of different voices upon which to draw for various characters, including Poirot himself. If you are after an audio book do give Mr. Fraser a try - you won't regret it. He is excellent company and I guarantee that you will be back for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Poirot story., 6 Jun 2001
By 
W. O'NEILL "Sochalien anglais" (Wirral, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An innocent man accused of murder and it is up to Poirot to save him in this well-written story. The wool is pulled well over the reader's eyes and the end is a revelation. I got completely the wrong suspect. A good read, even if it does feature the infuriating Ariadne Oliver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent and humour filled mystery, 6 Jun 2013
By 
Jim J-R (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
It's been quite a while since I last read an Agatha Christie novel and I'm pleased by what I got on my return to the world of Hercule Poirot and Ariadne Oliver. When the police arrest a man they believe to be innocent, yet to whom all the evidence points, they call on an elderly Poirot to find the truth.

It's a classically complex tale of a rich tapestry of suspects and clues which could point various directions, and which had me fairly baffled almost throughout. At one point I did suspect the truth but only fleetingly amongst a number of other possibilities that I was bombarded with.

This is one of the examples of a novel that Christie has filled with humour, often making herself the butt of the joke, and the amusement it gave nicely balances parts that could come across as brutal (although perhaps not compared to crime novels of the modern day). The comedy absolutely makes the book, and I really loved this aspect, which is often forgotten, of her writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sinister goings on in 1950's rural England, 28 Sep 2000
The book is a great read from begining to end and has a dark and sinister feel to it.Mrs Mcginty is killed and her shifty lodger is arrested but Poirot thinks he is innocent so he comes to stay in Broadhinny. The key to the crime seems to be past cases of murder as reported in The News of the World but murder comes to Broahinny in this sinister and incredibly ingenoius mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hercule Poirot does his stuff!, 15 Jan 2014
By 
John M "John M" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When Mrs McGinty, the charwoman/housekeeper in a small village, is found dead the obvious suspect is her lodger James Bentley who is convicted and sentenced to hang. However Superintendent Spence is not convinced of his guilt and calls in Poirot to re-investigate; wise move!
Hercule Poirot duly visits the local residents and uncovers cupboards full of secrets in his search for the truth. It seems Mrs McGinty's snooping uncovered a dark and deadly secret, which proved fatal for her.
There's plenty of clues and mis-direction along the way as Poirot uncovers the truth in his usual inimitable style. The character of Ariadne Oliver also appears once more, an intriguing self-portrait of Agatha Christie herself. Unlike some, I found her humorous rather than grating. Poirot is such a great character, and here he is laid bare with his sharp and incisive mind and his vanity on display in equal measure.
A good story told in the no-nonsense Agatha Christie style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An unusual Poirot, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fascinating plot with lots of twists and turns. As usual, Poirot leaves everyone dumbfounded as he expertly solves the crime
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 26 Nov 2013
Yet again Agatha Christie doesnt dissapoint us. classic Poirot solves another case using his little grey cells. Classic! This should be part of every collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mrs Mcginty's dead, 12 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good it is what you expect from Agatha Christie you think you know who done it and then you are proved you are wrong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read a lot of Agatha Christie. I really enjoyed this one, did not disappoint me one bit. Thought I knew who did it, but actually I was wrong! A good deal of humour too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews