Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only ever read one book on marketing. Read this one
Even Einstein said "if you can't explain it simply, then you don't understand it". This book is the simplest explaination of what really matters in marketing and while you can read the most complex detailed marketing texts in the world, if you read this book in 30minutes you know most of what you need to know. If you are in marketing, this book is invaluable -...
Published on 19 Feb 2006 by C. C. Brown

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Needs to be updated
I found this book very interesting and really easy to read, but the examples need updating. Things have changed a bit in the last 11 years (this book was written in 1993) and reading things like "Microsoft is the leader in personal computer operating systems, but it trails the leaders in each of the following major categories: spreadsheets (Lotus), word processing...
Published on 24 Nov 2004 by kiwifruit68


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only ever read one book on marketing. Read this one, 19 Feb 2006
By 
C. C. Brown (Worksop, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Even Einstein said "if you can't explain it simply, then you don't understand it". This book is the simplest explaination of what really matters in marketing and while you can read the most complex detailed marketing texts in the world, if you read this book in 30minutes you know most of what you need to know. If you are in marketing, this book is invaluable - if you ever need to present to a non-marketing audience, your presentation is already written for you, or better still give copies of it to your team or your colleagues. If you are not in marketing, read this book for invaluable and straight to the point insight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Needs to be updated, 24 Nov 2004
I found this book very interesting and really easy to read, but the examples need updating. Things have changed a bit in the last 11 years (this book was written in 1993) and reading things like "Microsoft is the leader in personal computer operating systems, but it trails the leaders in each of the following major categories: spreadsheets (Lotus), word processing (WordPerfect) and business graphics (Harvard graphics)" can't fail to put a smile on your face. I think that the laws still hold true though. One more thing: the book has been written by Americans for Americans and certain brands mentioned in it are not well known in Europe, if at all. It's still worth reading, in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book on marketing I have ever read., 10 July 2000
By A Customer
And I have read a lot!
If you only ever read one marketing book, make it this one. This book is excellent in the way it details the foundations of marketing in one easy to read and fun experience.
My only criticism is that the authors might have put the case forward for when "line extension", an obvious pet hate of the authors, can and does work.
I have a copy of this book at home and at work and always think of the 22 laws when looking at new products or business ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit dated but still a thought provoking and easy read, 18 Mar 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First published in 1993 this book is now a bit dated, but still a thought provoking and easy read. I don't agree with all they say - particularly caveats on line extensions - so would not recommend marketing beginners to swallow it hook line and sinker. But there's gold in there, and it's delightfully jargon-free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 'Removes all the jargon from the basic rules of marketing', 18 Feb 1999
By A Customer
Reading business & marketing books can sometimes be hard work. This is one of the few books that presents all you need to know with simple common sense terminology. The real-life case studies are excellent focusing on the large 'household' names which makes for interesting and light reading.
The book isn't and A-Z on marketing; nor is it a traditional text book. However, for a business manager with little exposure to marketing models and academia...this is the perfect introduction to the marketing philosophy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars nothing special here, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brief 22 point Do's and Don't of marketing. Nothing earth shattering here or anything I didn't know before. Funny thing about books are most of the content is common sense, but books just help to systemize and categorize them that's all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended for anybody starting a business, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Numerous business leaders have recommended this book as the bible of marketing. I am part of the 2013 New Entrepreneurs Foundation and have been recommended this book over and over. Before starting any business venture or project, be sure to give a re read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most practical marketing books on the market, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have a master's degree in marketing and I have see a few books on the subject. However, this is one of the few books that I actually am using in practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Common sense wisdom, 24 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some real common sense. I always wondered if those are real names. But it seems so.

just because it is common sense doesn't mean it is worth writing down. And reading and absorbing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marketing for every one, 8 Oct 2011
This is a great book that sets down fundamental rules for any one and every one looking to clarify and present an idea to the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews