Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only ever read one book on marketing. Read this one
Even Einstein said "if you can't explain it simply, then you don't understand it". This book is the simplest explaination of what really matters in marketing and while you can read the most complex detailed marketing texts in the world, if you read this book in 30minutes you know most of what you need to know. If you are in marketing, this book is invaluable -...
Published on 19 Feb. 2006 by C. C. Brown

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Needs to be updated
I found this book very interesting and really easy to read, but the examples need updating. Things have changed a bit in the last 11 years (this book was written in 1993) and reading things like "Microsoft is the leader in personal computer operating systems, but it trails the leaders in each of the following major categories: spreadsheets (Lotus), word processing...
Published on 24 Nov. 2004 by kiwifruit68


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only ever read one book on marketing. Read this one, 19 Feb. 2006
By 
C. C. Brown (Worksop, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Even Einstein said "if you can't explain it simply, then you don't understand it". This book is the simplest explaination of what really matters in marketing and while you can read the most complex detailed marketing texts in the world, if you read this book in 30minutes you know most of what you need to know. If you are in marketing, this book is invaluable - if you ever need to present to a non-marketing audience, your presentation is already written for you, or better still give copies of it to your team or your colleagues. If you are not in marketing, read this book for invaluable and straight to the point insight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Needs to be updated, 24 Nov. 2004
I found this book very interesting and really easy to read, but the examples need updating. Things have changed a bit in the last 11 years (this book was written in 1993) and reading things like "Microsoft is the leader in personal computer operating systems, but it trails the leaders in each of the following major categories: spreadsheets (Lotus), word processing (WordPerfect) and business graphics (Harvard graphics)" can't fail to put a smile on your face. I think that the laws still hold true though. One more thing: the book has been written by Americans for Americans and certain brands mentioned in it are not well known in Europe, if at all. It's still worth reading, in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book on marketing I have ever read., 10 July 2000
By A Customer
And I have read a lot!
If you only ever read one marketing book, make it this one. This book is excellent in the way it details the foundations of marketing in one easy to read and fun experience.
My only criticism is that the authors might have put the case forward for when "line extension", an obvious pet hate of the authors, can and does work.
I have a copy of this book at home and at work and always think of the 22 laws when looking at new products or business ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb - albeit the same as the 22 Immutable laws of branding, 25 Feb. 2008
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Twenty years ago I knew hundreds of things about marketing. Now I know just a few things. Almost all of them are in this book, and the authors crystallise them excellently.

The 22 laws is in many ways superb, but it could be criticised on three counts
First, it seems quite opinionated. Who is Ries to say that things are this way and not another way? Interestingly, basic books on marketing will cut the cake both ways, saying 'you can do this, or you can do that...'. Top marketing books, though, written by the gurus that people in the know want to hear from, are much more in agreement. What Ries is saying may not be original, but it fairly represents the balance of opinion at the top table.
Second, the book is quite dated. It was written in 1994, and, in many ways, we're in a different world now. On the other hand, this is no bad thing: you can look at the brands that Ries said would not prosper unless they changed their marketing, and compare them with what did prosper. Eight times out of ten Ries was right. The other two times fit perfectly with his law of unpredictability.
Third, the book is actually pretty much the same as the 22 Immutable Laws of Branding, by the same author. I've got both books, and I don't begrudge Al Ries the money. The emphasis is a little different, and the one reinforces the other.

Ultimately, marketing is about distilling a distinctive promise to the consumer and then promoting it aggressively. This book is mainly about the distinctive promise and its distillation. It talks about the kinds of campaigns that this leads to, but it isn't a how-to book for doing your first city-wide outdoor advertising campaign. There are lots of other books out there that do that -- but, be warned: many of them fall into the frequent traps that Ries warns us about.

For my money, this is a book well worth heeding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit dated but still a thought provoking and easy read, 18 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First published in 1993 this book is now a bit dated, but still a thought provoking and easy read. I don't agree with all they say - particularly caveats on line extensions - so would not recommend marketing beginners to swallow it hook line and sinker. But there's gold in there, and it's delightfully jargon-free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I've read thousands..this is still my #1, 30 Jan. 2011
By 
D. Morell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Of all the thousands of books on business and marketing I have read over the years - This is still my favourite.

It's the most helpful book anyone starting a new business can read, it seems the secret to success for small and medium businesses IS FOCUS. What a brilliant idea, so many business-people start up and try to grow their business immediately by diversifying into everything and anything and adding new products and services. They, naively, believe that's how you grow a business to build the big company they dream of. - Misguided people. Whatever you think, think the opposite, and this book will teach you how to do exactly that. Grow a company by doing the exact opposite of line extension - FOCUS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good - but similar to 22 laws of branding, 23 Dec. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this book because I had read their other book the 22 Imutable Laws of Branding and whilst there are some similarities, there is still some good stuff in here. They explain marketing in a simple way and don't over theorise. You can still pick up some marketing gems even if you have been marketing for years. I agree with one reviewer who said marketing is "not an exact sicence" because it relies on the human mind and emotion so much. Something which is very important and is explored in The Brighter Marketing Bible for Small Businesses. If you really want to find out more about marketing but don't have much time the 22 Immutable Laws of marketing is a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Business, 21 April 2008
By 
S. Rayner (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is quite old - ten years - but that only shows how right they got it then. I know nothing about marketing but reading this book made me see where I've gone wrong so many times. A lot of it is counter-intuitive, which is probably why it gets some less that brilliant reviews. Some people don't want to hear or acknowledge the truth - especially those who call themselves professional meketeers. Keep your heads stuck in the sand guys!

Read it twice and then have a long hard think about your marketing strategy. Write out the 22 laws and see if you can honestly tick them off. It works for more than just business too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Trout and Ries write the laws on marketing, 27 Sept. 2007
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Using actual examples and sharp analysis, Al Ries and Jack Trout offer 22 "laws" that amount to a basic, concise distillation of their marketing experience and wisdom. Their examples are pithy enough to keep the most jaded marketing person engaged. And their lessons are embedded verities that would be hard to dispute. The only drawback is that this classic may be a bit dated, so it is interesting to see how surprisingly well some of their original observations have fared over the years. We recommend this classic to anyone seriously interested in marketing. After all, you can't ignore the law.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 'Removes all the jargon from the basic rules of marketing', 18 Feb. 1999
By A Customer
Reading business & marketing books can sometimes be hard work. This is one of the few books that presents all you need to know with simple common sense terminology. The real-life case studies are excellent focusing on the large 'household' names which makes for interesting and light reading.
The book isn't and A-Z on marketing; nor is it a traditional text book. However, for a business manager with little exposure to marketing models and academia...this is the perfect introduction to the marketing philosophy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews