Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars54
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio DownloadChange
Price:£5.24
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 September 2013
I give this product five stars because I love the stories and there's no one I'd rather listen to reading them than Sir Derek Jacobi. I've loved listening to his voice ever since I heard him read the Brother Cadfael novels and the ghost stories of M. R. James. Harper Collins recordings are first class, clear and bright. I'd recommend this edition to all Tolkien fans everywhere.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2004
'Tales from the Perilous Realm' is a magnificent collection of children's tales. Containing four short stories called: 'Farmer Giles Of Ham', 'The Adventures Of Tom Bombadil', 'Leaf By Niggle' and 'Smith Of Wootton Major', it is yet again one of the most enthralling books you'll ever read. Also, close to the greatness of 'The Hobbit'. The Book proves that JRR Tolkien is still number one. Sorry, Pullman. If not already, go and buy it, now. Now, go on then don't just sit there. GO NOW!
0Comment6 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2005
Gives a high quality airing to some of Tolkien's lesser known works. 'Leaf by Niggle' in particular is quite a surprise for those who only know The Hobbit & The Lord of the Rings - superbly performed by Alfred Molina in the lead role.
'Smith of Wootton Major' is another enchanting tale of the realm of faerie and the 'Adventures of Tom Bombadil' is essentially the chapters of the Lord of the Rings most usually dropped from dramatisations (The Old Forest & Barrow Downs). Well, the BBC Radio and both film versions have skipped over it anyway. The USA radio version did cover it, but that production is best forgotten.
Only 'Farmer Giles of Ham' is a little bit below par, with Brian Blessed giving his usual booming performance and a sligthly irritating dog.
But all-in-all this is an essential item for any Tolkien fan and any lover of good stories, well told.
0Comment8 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2004
Three short stories and a collection of poems.
Farmer Giles of Ham: Very simular to the hobbit. It's about a farmer that becomes a hero and yes! It does have a dragon.
Leaf by Niggle: Is a must for all. A peice of litterary genius.
Smith of Wooton Major: A humourous story about a disguised fairy.
If you like Tolkiens work but find Lord Of The Rings very heavy, then this is the book for you.
0Comment11 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
I bought this book for my son. He likes Tolkien's books . He wanted it so that he could read it to his son. I'm not too sure at this time wither he has started it yet or is waiting for an appropriate time a little later on.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2015
I loved the elegant way that the books writing form changes per story in terms of how it fitted with the situations. I learnt more about Tolkiens world in a non rushed way and felt that this was a light read worth reading.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2014
Some excellent stories brought together , some are easy to read and some are not , I was sceptical to begin with but with a few pages I was hooked by a master story again
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
An excellent collection of short stories by the master of imagination and fine words. Good for all children and adults alike.highly recommend this as very engaging.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2015
I love the hobbit and the lord of the ring so I thought to buy this one as well. However, it is for children only. Even my 12yrs old found it too simple.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
Tales from the Perilouse Realm by J.R.R. Tolkien is a great collection of five of his smaller works which are captivating for both kids and adults alike..
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items

£12.68

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.