Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something for bedtime
A short, fast-paced sci-fi / detective cross from Simon Green. Ok, the mystery isn't exactly taxing; the detective part comes from the fact that John Taylor is a private detective in a distinctly seedy area of London. The book starts off like a parody of the Philip Marlowe-type story, but quickly abandons this to rush headlong into Simon Green's own peculiar version of...
Published on 3 Sept. 2003 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing premise, could have been better realised
This was my first foray into this particular sub-genre, and I bought this on the strength of the reviews. Not for the first time, book reviews being so subjective, the expectation didn't match the reality.

The actual idea of The Nightside is very interesting. If it's similar to worlds created by the other authors mentioned I wouldn't know since I haven't read...
Published on 16 May 2007 by nicolocin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars If Jim Butcher's 'Dresden Files' and Neil Gaiman's 'Neverwhere' had a baby, it would be this book, 7 Nov. 2013
Something from the Nightside by Simon R Green is a relatively short novel but never the less an enjoyable opening book in what Inow know to be a 12 novel series.

John Taylor is a Private Detective based in London who claims to have the ability to find absolutely anything. The only proviso to his gift is that it can only be used in a place called the Nightside which is a city of magic, dark creatures and great danger which co-exists with London but seemingly on a different plane of reality. When a woman comes to John to help find her missing daughter he is forced to go back into the Nightside which is something he didn't ever want to do and hadn't done in five years.

What follows is an interesting tale centred around a character who has built something of a dread reputation around himself in the Nightside, one which the reader only gets to glimpse in this book. Primarily it is a story that introduces and sets the stage for the rest of the series, acquainting the reader with the strange place known as Nightside.

Nightside itself was troublingly familiar to London Below which is found in Neil Gaiman's excellent 'Neverwhere'. Where Neverwhere showed us a new magical world that is fantastical and alluring however, Nightside is a place that is far to deadly to be able to see the wonder in it. The characters talk about life being more real in Nightside and they have a strange attraction to the place but the author describes it as a place where only the deadliest thrive and from what we are shown it is a daily battle just to survive. Therefore rather than seeming like a magically fantastic place with an aftertaste of danger as is found in Gaimain's London Below, we are instead left with a city that is one giant battle ground for powerful beings who love to kill.

The main reason why this story lost two stars was because of its characters. The book was well written and the characters themselves weren't wrong or unlikable. However, they lacked any kind of magnetism that captures my attention and by the end of the novel I truly didn't care who lived or who died.

This is where the second similarity for this book would have succeeded where this one didn't. The magical private eye was of course similar to Jim Butcher's Harry Dresden. Dresden however is a loveable character who is an old and chivalrous soul when it comes to women, a man who detests bully's, a loyal friend and an all round funny character you love to read about. By contrast John Taylor is a grim character who shares some of those qualities but not in an intriguing way. With some fleshing out he could be an interesting character but as things stand I have no emotional attachment to him or any of the characters in this book.

That being said this isn't a bad first novel and certainly shows a lot of potential for future books. It was certainly well written with flowing dialogue and an interesting new world so I will look forward to reading future novels in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gritty, Edgy, Urban Fantasy, 19 Feb. 2013
Review of Something from the Nightside by Simon R. Green
Nightside #1

"Something from the Nightside" is a delectably imagined urban fantasy, the kind that is not for the faint of heart or idealistic of mind. "Nightside" is an area that co-exists with London, where the sun never shines (but the Moon and Stars do), where it's always 3 AM, where the worst perversions can occur, and where danger is a matter of breathing--ever-present. Monsters of mythology and legend exist there, but so do apparently "normal" individuals. John Taylor was born and raised in the Nightside, born to a mother not human, whom he never knew, and a father who drank himself to death after she disappeared. Taylor has been gone from the Nightside for five years, scuffling to make a living in low-rent London as a private investigator. He has a very important gift: he can find anything and anybody; and in this introduction to the series, he is tasked to find a runaway daughter.

Author Simon R. Green writes deftly and has a wildly creative imagination. This is urban fantasy on the razor's edge (sometimes quite literally), just the way I like it: no holds barred, no punches pulled. Personally I can't wait to leap into the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars light and easy reading, 22 Jun. 2010
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Simon Green gives us Private Detective John Taylor and an unseen aspect of London, the Nightside that can only be accessed by the few. Taylor has certain powers and reputation but keeps out of the Nightside until he is asked to help rescue a missing daughter and goes back for the first time in five years.
This is very light, short and easy to read fantasy, nothing deep, complex or special about this one but a harmless way to lose a couple of hours as the author treads a path already well worn by (perhaps) better authors. A few minor errors that Londoners will recognise (British Rail uniforms in the Underground?) and a fairly light story that does a lot of scene and character setting will certainly not tax the reader but may provide a glimpse of better things to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected delight, 11 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book really takes you on a journey of highs lows and heart pounding moments
Love it am hooked. I have read Simon's other works and this comes very close to the expectation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ack! Brilliance!, 14 Sept. 2006
Oh my God, when my friend mentioned this book to me I was doubtful, usually our tastes are radically different, but I was astonished by how great it was! Yes, it's true, there are some similarities to other books, but who cares when it's so well written and when the main character is someone everyone can identify with in some manner?! The setting is fantastic, the characters are just hysterical and the ending is totally unexpected. You are so going to love John Taylor, I know I did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rollicking fantasy with humour and wit., 3 Aug. 2005
By 
Big Ben "fly_mo" (Bedford, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yes, there are background similarities with other books in this genre, but our hero and his tale are unique, and the book gallops along from start to resounding finish.
We bought the whole Nightside collection immediately!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
lovely
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great if you can stand the pace!, 17 Aug. 2003
A cross between the best of Deathstalker and Haven... on speed. Don't expect to catch your breath till the end, and watch out for nightmares!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews