Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
13
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio Download|Change
Price:£7.00
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 February 2004
There is always the danger with specials that they are an episode stretched out but this is not the case here, the plot moves along at a cracking pace, generating loads of laughs and the additional characters are hilarious, with my favourites being the talking crocodiles.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2010
More sublime humour from the talented Andy Hamilton (co-writer behind Outnumbered and Drop The Dead Donkey).

A 2 part visit to Hell where the brilliantly scripted comedy sees Satan (played by Hamilton) showing a slightly softer, caring side which is a nice touch. The devious side is also present of course.

The familiar characters of Thomas, the Professor and Scumspawn continue to get some of the funniest lines and it's great to see the return of the popes!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
Old Harry is the most wonderful character. He exhibits such curiously innocent glee in his wicked punishments of the awful Thomas, spars with the professor over just everything and just can't get to grips with Edith, then there's the dog and the ba.........oh! just go out and buy them; all seven series. No! I'm not related to Andy or the producer or anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If you're reading this you probably don't need any introduction to Old Harry's Game. You know all about Andy Hamilton's excellent portrayal of the Devil, cynical and twisted with a voice like Anthony Newly. You know about Scumspawn, his most revolting and fawning demon, played by Robert Duncan. You're familiar with the most damned of damned souls, Thomas Crimp, and the Professor, who would be in heaven if only he believed in him with a capital H. You know this is a wickedly funny comedy, which follows Satan as he tries to win philosophical arguments with the Prof, whilst inventing cruel and unusual torments for those unlucky enough to find themselves in his realm.

In this two episode Festive special, falling in between series four and five, Satan finds himself trying to sort out the case of Hope, a young lady dead before her time and sent to Hell by mistake. He has to do something quickly, as seeing all the tortures of hell is starting to upset her, and this makes even Satan feel uncomfortable. And as for the effect that she has on Scumspawn...

This is a bit different in format form the previous series, in that Thomas and the Professor are sidelined for most of the running time, and the action concentrates on the devil and Hope. The format allows Hamilton to take swipes at a lot of good targets, such as reality TV, drink drivers, and people who send texts at midnight on New Year's Eve. Hamilton takes them all down mercilessly. It's good, but I think that people already familiar with the series will enjoy it a bit more than newcomers. I would recommend that beginners start at Series 1, to get a bit of a feel for the characters.

So, for an hour of classic comedy, and to find the fate of tambourines in Hell, get this little comic gem.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2010
I didn't know there was an Old Harry's Game Christmas Special until I went browsing for OHG series 1. I bought it on a whim as some Christmas specials can be good (e.g. Humph in Wonderland). This isn't one of them. The series is generally much better. This doesn't have the pacing of the series although I did like the idea of blackmail at the end. Even fans of the series could quite happily give this a miss.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2010
If you enjoyed the others in the series you will love this one. All the usual suspects are behaving just as they usually do however with a tambourine to play with perhaps the devil doesn't always have the best tunes
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
Anyone who likes Andy Hamilton's superb, yet somewhat strange, sense of humour has to love all of the Old Harry's game series. This special is no exception.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2013
Listened to the series on the radio when first broadcast and listening to it again and it is still very funny
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2010
Old Harry's Game is one of the best radio comedies I can remember. I love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2010
Very funny oddly humourous especially with the fella called Scumspawn and Thomas and such. Andrew Hamiltons witty take on how he thinks Hell works opposed to the good place. You should send this to someone whom you will know would understand it. I in a preference manner would not send this to RC's as they are doctrined this is because of people i know that assume that religion. If you happen to know a person that maybe in that religion that you think might see the funny side fair enough. Im trying to not sound dogmatic or racist here its just what i know with my relatives, not all perhaps would be like that. Apologies if this sounds rather bold it is not intentional but im just trying to explain about over the Hell thing in the show. It did used to be on Radio 4 So I am not sure whom has listened to it originally.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)