Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big problems for little people
Another race also inhabits this Earth, a race four inches tall that lives and moves very quickly, and they are called "nomes." Masklin, the leader of a dwindling band of nomes, decides that a better life must be found, so they stowaway aboard a truck, and find themselves taken to a huge department store. This department store, Arnold Bros. (est. 1905), is populated by...
Published on 17 Mar 2003 by Kurt A. Johnson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for me so much
Love Terry Pratchett Disc World series but this is not quite my style, sorry Terry but I still love you
Published 4 months ago by 3turn


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big problems for little people, 17 Mar 2003
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
Another race also inhabits this Earth, a race four inches tall that lives and moves very quickly, and they are called "nomes." Masklin, the leader of a dwindling band of nomes, decides that a better life must be found, so they stowaway aboard a truck, and find themselves taken to a huge department store. This department store, Arnold Bros. (est. 1905), is populated by thousands of nomes, something the humans above them never suspect. To Masklin and his band this place looks like heaven, but what is the meaning of the signs that read, "Final Sale: Everything Must Go?"
This book is a laugh-riot. Terry Pratchett succeeds is making the Nomes so different, and yet so human. This book is the first of a trilogy; with the other two entitled Diggers and Wings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great book by a fantastic author, 19 Sep 2004
Terry Pratchett's Truckers, from the Bromeliad trilogy, is the story of a relatively small and unheard-of species, nomes, who live in parallel with today's humans. The majority of nomes resided in what was known as the store, which was in fact a large department store; there were different departments in the store, and each department had a tightly-knit factions of nomes (for instance, the Haberdasheri) who, for the most part, remained in their own departments. Arnold Bros (est. 1905), the founder of the store, was idolized by the nomes who resided in the store; to them, he was the akin to our God.
Then there was another, smaller group of nomes, led by Masklin, who lived in the outdoors; the two groups crossed paths when Masklin decided that he disliked the cold winters, the wild hunting and the general difficulty to survive in the harsh conditions - so they hitched a lift on a truck, which, by complete coincidence, was destined for this store. This store was, apparently, the perfect dwelling; there was food at every turn, and everything a nome could possibly want was easily found. It was discovered that the Store was to be destroyed within a few weeks - and Masklin's seemingly impossible task was to evacuate every single nome from the doomed Store.
Although this is a book aimed primarily at children, it is nothing less than enjoyable for anyone of any age-group. It is fascinating to look down on a completely separate species from a human perspective, and to see them fascinated by ours; the few nomes with the privilege of being able to read saw signs in the department as "messages" from Arnold Bros (est. 1905). The species is thoroughly constructed and cross-referenced to such an extent that you might even believe that nomes actually exist!
Pratchett provides vivid descriptions of both the characters themselves and the surroundings throughout - but the best thing is that these descriptions are written from the point of view of a nome. This makes you feel au fait with the characters and their starkly different observations.
The genre of the book is fantasy, and has many comic elements to it, featuring hilarious power-struggles, heated arguments, and a wonderfully ironic generation gap adding to the humour of the book. It is well worth a read, regardless of the type of book which you prefer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read out loud fun for kids (and their parents), 17 July 2006
By 
Richard Murphy (Winchester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is a great book for kids.

I read this out loud to my 8 year old and, for the final truck scene, we were laughing out loud as the events unfolded.

As you would expect from a great writer, this children's book has all the elements of a good read - a coherent plot (if completely off the wall), proper well-developed characters and sharp witty writing.

If you are a parent looking for a "proper book" rather than a "children's book" for your child, I'd recommend this one - it's fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fabulous and Hillarious Adventure, 2 May 2001
By A Customer
Truckers is the first book of the Bromeliad trilogy (followed by Diggers and Wings).
Masklin and his family are the last ten nomes of their warren, devastated by cold, predators and hunger. Desperately, they set out on a last chance journey and climb up on one of the lorries of the humans.
What they'll soon discover is that this lorry has lead them to the Store of Arnold Bros (est. 1905), the home of thousands of other little nomes who, having never left the Store, think of the Outside as of nothing more than just another fairy tale. The coming of Masklin will be a great upheaval in their quiet lives. And as they learn that the Store is to be demolished, they make plans for their escape.
Although Truckers was originally written for a young audience, it's an enthralling adventure but also a story about understanding other people's ways and helping each other, and no doubt grown-ups will love it too. Because Terry Pratchett's unique sense of humour is lurking round every corner, especially when nomes try to interpret our human world... and what's more to make sense of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This book is interesting and exciting, 10 Nov 1998
By A Customer
Truckers written by Terry Pratchett I like adventure books and"Truckers" is an adventure book. The best bit was when the nomes from the outside went into the storeroom because they didn't know what they were going to find out. There were lots of characters that were described clearly and I liked them all. I would like to read some more books written by the same author. The book got more interesting when the nomes had to look for somewhere else to stay because of the building being demolished. The story happened in the cold winter months when the nomes had to face the dangers of the world after forgetting about it for so long. This book has a strong plot that keeps you interested and it is also funny at times. I would recomend this book for 9-12 year olds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Humorous pastiche of "Orphans of the Sky", 1 Sep 1999
By A Customer
Truckers is a humorous retelling of the 1950's novel "Orphans of the sky". In the origional, interstellar colonists, adrift for centuries come to believe that their space ship is the entire universe until some adventurous free thinkers discover the truth and escape from this self imposed delusion. In truckers its interstellar traveling Gnomes who are trapped on earth. A department store becomes their entire universe untill it is discovered that it is about to close.Truckers then follows the Gnomes half baked atempts to escape to the outer world.
Terry Pratchet places a hint of the link between the two books by naming an incedental charictor the same as that of the other book, "Bobo"
Following other novels by the same auther Truckers covers a number of social issues in this case relating to the nature of tradition, leadership and social change in a crisis. I can thoroughly recomend this book and also the earlyer novel "Orphans of the sky"
Truckers is an intelligent and thought provoking short novel, highly accesable to young.
Its also side splittingly funny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent edition, 1 Aug 2008
By 
Greg (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
Rather than summarise the book, which everyone else has done, I wanted to give the discerning listener a little guidance on the different audio editions of Pratchett available.
Let me begin by saying that Stephen Briggs' reading of Pratchett is hands down the best for me. He has a warm, loveable storytellers' voice and a real feel for the story, with great characterisations, pacy delivery and an understanding of the subject - which may sound silly in the context of a children's series, but really makes all the difference here. You can't read humourous prose as individual as Pratchett's without knwing what you're doing.
Having worked on adaptations of Pratchett books for the stage and authored the Discworld Companion, Briggs is clearly in territory that he loves, and this really comes across. He likes the characters and the humour and, in my mind, does a much better job of better known actors. Nigel Planer's reading is deadpan by comparison, plods along and doesn't pull off the humour - in fact there seems to be a twinge of boredom and even contempt there if you lilsten really closely (and sounds like it's actually sped up to make it move faster). I am struggling to finish his Light Fantastic now and it's really third-rate.
Tony Robinson is clearly more into it and gives the second best readings of Pratchett - his voice is a much better fit to stories about gnomes, but lacks the warmth of Briggs' baritone and the wit and variety of his characterisations.
In summary I would campaign for Briggs to record all of the Pratchett books and would happily buy them all again! Can someone put a picture of the edition up on there and do some proper marketing of this great unabridged recording!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truckers, A Brilliant Book, 9 Nov 2004
By A Customer
I think Truckers is a great book because it is funny and exciting. It keeps the reader reading and it makes you feel as if all those things actually exist. The characters are very funny; my two favorite are Dorcas, an electricity master, and Angalo prince of Haberdasheri. The setting is set near a cafe, in a store, inside a lorry and in a quarry. Again this book is very funny and I would recommend this book to all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic fantasy, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A short and sweet review. I may be nearing 60 years old, but no way is this book purely for children, and I will be getting the second book, not to mention the third book, very soon. Huge fan of Terry, and have read all the discworld books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brill!, 6 Sep 2004
By A Customer
Another great book, my an amazing author. Of course its Terry. This is the first book of the adventures of the nomes; Truckers, Diggers, and Wings (which i'm reading now). The story is about a group nomes who are "outside" and they discover there are other nomes in this place called "The Store". The problem is the store nomes don't believe in outside. So when the other nomes find out that something terrible is going to happen to The Store will they do something in time... YOUR'RE HAVE TO READ OR LISTEN TO FIND OUT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews