Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Regard yourself a leader? How well do you measure up?
Wow what a book.Ever wondered why some people can take groups to incredible heights and other seemingly as capable individuals can,t? Ever thought howcome a team performs completely differently when a new leader is installed? Most leadership books I have previously read dealt really with management. Maxwell has an absolute understanding of the qualities a leader must...
Published on 8 Oct. 2000 by mark.holland@breathemail.net

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Maxwell = Marmite
You will either love this or hate it!

I picked up this book based on the amazon customer reviews which, for the most part, are spot on. However, on this occassion, I felt very let down.

As with many leadership books, authors sometimes use their personal experiences as examples for the reader to learn from but the number of times Maxwell refers to...
Published on 9 July 2007 by Saracen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Regard yourself a leader? How well do you measure up?, 8 Oct. 2000
Wow what a book.Ever wondered why some people can take groups to incredible heights and other seemingly as capable individuals can,t? Ever thought howcome a team performs completely differently when a new leader is installed? Most leadership books I have previously read dealt really with management. Maxwell has an absolute understanding of the qualities a leader must display. In the 21 Laws.... Maxwell breaks down leadership into 21 chapters each dealing with a specfic 'Law of Leadership'. With insights into how famous leaders performed and with ideas on how to develop yourself as a leader. This book is a must for all budding and fully bloomed leaders alike. Anyone who can take a church congregation from hundreds to over 30,000, who can be instrumental in the success of companies such as Chick Fila must understand true leadership! John Maxwell understands leadership. If you want to understand leadership, if you want to be regarded as a leader, this book is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars your personal leadership inventory, 29 Dec. 2003
By 
Larry Hehn "Christian in the Rough" (Toronto, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Socrates advised, "Employ your time in improving yourself by other men's writings so that you shall come easily by what others have labored hard for."
Whether you like him or not, there's no denying that John Maxwell has a handle on leadership principles. This book boils down more than 30 years of Maxwell's life of learned and applied leadership to 21 laws. If you could condense 30 years of a man's life into one book of basic principles that you could learn and apply to your own life, what would it be worth to you?
Although they all combine to form the foundation for leadership, each of the 21 laws stands alone. As you read through each law, take a personal inventory to determine which areas are working for you and which need to be improved.
This book is not particularly good at showing how to apply each law to your own situation, but it does give excellent real-life examples of what happens when these laws are (and aren't) applied. Maxwell likes blowing his own horn to illustrate the laws in some cases, but he also uses many other "big name" examples from the world of business, politics, the military, sports and the church.
Each chapter will enable you to understand a key facet of your leadership ability, assess it for yourself, and begin the next step of filling in the gaps that have held you back from being the leader you could be.
Larry Hehn, author of Get the Prize: Nine Keys for a Life of Victory
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short and sweet: 21 principles of leadership, 8 Aug. 2006
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Frequent motivational author John C. Maxwell, a former pastor, squarely based these 21 laws of leadership on enduring values. These guidelines are meant to inspire, not innovate, as they offer techniques to make leading by principle a practical reality. Maxwell's straightforward, insightful rules are well worth the time you will spend reading them. We recommend this gem of simplicity as a game book for building stronger teams and becoming a better leader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read and very useful, 12 Dec. 2010
By 
There are many books that after a while you get bored and stop reading them. This book is fast to read and very useful.
Although the author seems religious and some of the examples are irrelevant, in general the book is good and it teaches a lot useful points.
I have directly used some of the points and I have seen their immediate positive responses. The only problem is that you have to have the discipline to apply them constantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Wealth of Experience passed on with love, 24 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
John Maxwell has now dedicated his life to helping others become better leaders, and this time its not for monetary profit. Rather he sees it as his God given mission to raise up people who can lead effectively. Simply put, he wants to see the world changed through people being effectively led.
This book is readable and none too long, though I really struggled with the American references to "Football" and basketball which I have no clue about! Otherwise there are great observations from his own life.
The 21 laws are pretty sound, though perhaps not quite all of them are "Irrifutable" - I had trouble with the law of buy-in. Anyway, there are real gems of understanding inmto the huiman condition with Biblical sories and other (American!) historical examples too. In that way it was enlightening.
All in all the man is pointing to the desparate need for the world to be changed by people who really care and can love enough to lead. That is for the Church and any community or business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Why stop at 21? Which law is more important than another?, 15 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once past the Americanisms, this book is easy to read and hard to put down. It applies not just in business but to life and I liked the fact that the examples used were not just business related. It is now being used a a reference by me and to be read every few years or when I need to solve an issue. A worthy investment of time and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Maxwell = Marmite, 9 July 2007
You will either love this or hate it!

I picked up this book based on the amazon customer reviews which, for the most part, are spot on. However, on this occassion, I felt very let down.

As with many leadership books, authors sometimes use their personal experiences as examples for the reader to learn from but the number of times Maxwell refers to himself makes this more of an autobiography than a book on the "Laws of Leadership". By the end of Law 2 I felt like throwing it in the trash.

To my mind, leadership laws are timeless principles whose examples should be taken from great leaders of the past and not the cliche-ridden, self-centred motivational speakers of the present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 12 Aug. 2013
Clear and concise; an excellent introduction with plenty to ponder and act upon. The use of examples helps illustrate his points, even if the lance Armstrong references now seem a little unfortunate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must Read for any Leader, 17 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Awesome book. Definitely crucial for anyone trying to develop in a leadership capacity. Eerily sums up a lot of habits or traits an individual may have and can change for higher success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Really useful, 14 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very useful challenging book. I didn't agree with everything but everything made me think & I think that is they key to this kind of read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews