Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good e-book version
This e-version, unlike some others, has a linked table of contents which greatly aids navigation. It also has the charts missing from another e-version I have reviewed. The charts are not linked in the table of contents but you can find them after 'acknowledgements' then bookmark them so that you can easily refer to them while reading the text.The Riddle of the Sands: A...
Published on 26 Aug 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'The Riddle of the Sands' in the COLLECTOR'S LIBRARY edition
The little Collector's Library volumes are of beautiful quality, with fine paper and sewn bindings - and now offer a perfect alternative to the bigger Everyman's editions when you want a permanent copy.

This is a fairly disappointing volume in the series, however, because of the clumsy and simplified redrawing of some of the maps. The original book included...
Published on 13 Jun 2012 by Simon Esposito


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good e-book version, 26 Aug 2011
This e-version, unlike some others, has a linked table of contents which greatly aids navigation. It also has the charts missing from another e-version I have reviewed. The charts are not linked in the table of contents but you can find them after 'acknowledgements' then bookmark them so that you can easily refer to them while reading the text.The Riddle of the Sands: A Record of Secret Service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 27 Nov 2007
By 
Pat Ruane (Cork, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love this book, I've read and re-read it again and again and still get something new out of it each time. The prose style is very much of its time and takes getting used to for a modern reader. Having struggled initially, I now think it's so well written, not as fast-paced as a modern story might be and all the better for it - the clarity and depth of the descriptions strike a balance between the needs of a first-time reader reading for the narrative and the boat-obsessed reader who already knows the story but wants to work out exactly what the tide is doing... I loved it before getting involved in small boats and now that I've become a boat obsessive myself, I like it even more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historical spy thriller with a nautical theme, 19 Sep 2000
By A Customer
Set in the period before the First World War, this gripping story tells of the adventures of a yachtsman and his non-sailing friend as they uncover disturbing events in the eastern North Sea in a small boat.
For sailors and non-sailors alike, this is a classic spy novel where the protagonists' curiosity and sense of adventure combine with sinister military planning in the misty waters around the Frisian islands. If you enjoy historical novels, this is a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest adventure novel ever., 27 Oct 2003
By 
Ian Thumwood "ian17577" (Winchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This novel, the first ever spy story, is truly of it's era. The story's heroes may seem quaint by the standards of the 21st Century (it is interesting to observe the manners between foes!!)but Childer's novel accurately predicted that Britain's main threat at the turn of the 20th Century was Germany rather than the more traditional foe of France. Consequently, this book caused shock waves in England and Childers even received the wrath of Winston Churchill such was it's radical prediction. Whilst no invasion via the Frisian Islands materialised, it is allged that this book prompted the navy to develop it's base at Scarpa Flow. Clearly this book was explosive stuff one hundred years ago!
The story concerns two men who uncover the covert plans of the German navy whilst under the pretext of hunting for duck. Whilst the first half of the book concerns itself with aspects of sailing and builds up a tremendous atmosphere that evokes the period and bleakness of the coast of Germany, the pace accelerates as the incredible truth eventually becomes apparent...
Having re-visited this book over and over again, for me it represents my defining image of the twilight of the British Empire. This is a must for all lovers of well -written spy and adventure stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boy's Own : A Must, 23 Oct 2007
This has long been a favourite of mine, and the wonderful new Penguin edition is an absolute must have for admirers old and new.

A wonderful spy novel that should grip thriller fans as well as any amateur seafarer. The Riddle Of The Sands deserves the term classic.

The movie too made in the late 70s is also worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book, 12 April 2006
By 
Sarah J. Marquis "SassyJ" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a beautiful book, I loved every second, have read it cover to cover many times. The story brilliantly captures the nervousness of the period leading up to the Great War. The atmosphere is amazing, you can almost see the cold windswept dunes of the German coast. The tension builds fast to the climax and the ambiguous ending just leaves you wishing that there was more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wicked, 2 Aug 2007
A magnificent read! The language takes some time to get used to, but that was to be expected from a book that is over 100 years old. It's a great thriller and I found it difficult to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Riddle Of The Sands, 14 July 2006
This is just a beautifully crafted book. Although its espionage is old fashioned (no e-mails or computer codes here) the descriptive writing that Childers uses to depict the growing German menace that existed just before WWI is quite exquisite. The story is told at a pace that on occcasions you can stop and feel the Friesan salt spray on your face whilst never wanting to linger too long in case you miss something. I read this as a teenager and again as I turned 30. Having just read it again it has lost none of its charm. A great story of espionage and intrigue that is extremely well told. And not a dry Martini in sight....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Mystery on the Tides, 21 Mar 2001
By A Customer
I suspect, like many people, I was one of those who knew the title of this book but did not have the faintest clue as to its contents. However, I eventually picked up this accessible edition to rectify this lapse and thereby unite the title to a story - I was not disappointed! Childers' novel will appeal to readers interested in detective thrillers and/or maritime adventure. The author is a savant of the terminology of sailing and this (with the reprinted channel navigation charts) creates a real "hands on" feel to the seabourne escapades undertaken by the hero - Carruthers (how English a name!) - and his misanthrope companion Davies - a man who seldom sets foot on terra firma. I shall not eloborate upon the espionage plot of the novel for that would rob readers of the main pleasure of a detective novel. Finally, a word about the novel's atmosphere: the sandbanks and mists, the mudbanks and tidal channels which form the greater part of the setting might not, at first thought, suggest an exotic tale but rest assured, it will be the strangely haunting quality of this half sea/land-scape that anchors the book to the memory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'The Riddle of the Sands' in the COLLECTOR'S LIBRARY edition, 13 Jun 2012
The little Collector's Library volumes are of beautiful quality, with fine paper and sewn bindings - and now offer a perfect alternative to the bigger Everyman's editions when you want a permanent copy.

This is a fairly disappointing volume in the series, however, because of the clumsy and simplified redrawing of some of the maps. The original book included facsimiles of Admiralty charts, and particularly important were the close-scale ones of the Frisian coast. In no other work of fiction are the maps so important: they are genuinely characters in the novel in themselves, something much more than just 'local colour'. This is after all a story of yachting and spying out a mysterious landscape, and the heroes spend a lot of time puzzling over and discussing these same charts (not in a way that slows down the story, I should add!). There is little in them that is actually redundant to the text.

There must be other reprints around that do a better job of the maps, surely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews