Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars21
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 June 2009
This second series of Bleak Expectations is at least as funny as the first - which was brilliant. If you like your Dickensian parodies, and particularly if you like them by turns silly, witty, sly, ever-so-slightly naughty and plain old daft, then you'll love this. Buy it today and give your ears a comedy treat!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2011
If you like bizarre, surreal comedy with enough one liners to have you laughing out loud, you are in for a real treat with the whole series of Bleak Expectations.
I have never laughed so much in my life. A Dickensian parody in the Pyhtonesque style, writer Mark Evans is a genius with the storylines and characters. Pip Bin is the narrator of stories of his adventures in his younger days. All the stories include his nemesis Mr Gently Benevolent (played brilliantly by Anthony Head) who always has an evil scheme to try and get rid of Pip and his companion Harry Biscuit.
Each story carries on from the previous but each is completely different with so many jokes that it is truly amazing how Mark Evans keeps them all so original!
This is truly a masterpiece of radio comedy and I would not be surprised if this transfers to a TV show.
Get all 3 series and have your day(s)brightened up. Best listened to in the car so you can laugh as loud as you like without embarrassing your wife/husband.
My wife never listens to Radio4 but she is a convert to this. HURRUMBLE!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2010
Series 2 of what is, quite simply, the funniest new show to grace Radio 4 in years. Wonderful, silly, laugh-out-loud stuff spoofing Charles Dickens and just about everything else, recounting the Victorian misadventures of Pip Bin, inventor of the bin, and his best friend, Harry Biscuit. Thrill as Pip Bin accidentally builds a national railway network. Gasp as an invading Martian army comes face to tentacle with the inhabitants of Pippa's goose sanctuary. A great cast, in which Anthony Head's portrayal of the excruciatingly evil and inappropriately named arch-villain, Mister Gently Benevolent stands out, although the whole the cast are truly excellent and pretty well pitch-perfect. They are blessed with some of the best comic script-writing I've ever come across. Anyone who likes the Goons, the Pythons and the Day Today will love this. It's one of those rare shows that you can listen to over and again and laugh every time as much as the first.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2009
Didn't know what to expect with this but very funny and witty. Uses Dickensian references but not so you would not find it funny anyway. It is ludicrous and clever at the same time. Tom Allen is a real find. if you like 'Old Harry's game', Just a Minute, Have I got News For You, Never Mind the Buzzcocks - you will enjoy this madness
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2010
If you've listened to the first series you will know how clever and funny Bleak Expectations can be. Series two is no disappointment. With Anthony Head's Mr Gently Benevolent brought back to life and the Sternbeater family replacing the Hardthrashers, the saga continues as fresh as ever. If you enjoyed the first series then you must buy the second series. (The third series will be out soon. I look forward to that.)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 January 2010
This is just as weird and wonderful as the first series and I love listening to it. Many of the characters from the first series make a comeback alongside some new ones a number of traditional and popular culture references are included too. There are a number of great lines and phrases, my favourite being "Nick it, nick it, nick it!" from the pickpockets.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2011
i love all of bleak expectations and my very favourite episode is the one where pip has to build an entire railway network :) it is quite surreal if you're new to it but stick with it because it is so hilarious. i can never stop myself laughing out loud at some of the one liners, brilliantly written, cannot praise it enough.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 February 2010
For anyone who hasn't come across Bleak Expectations, buy this now and have hours of pleasure.

Set in the early 19th century, it follows the changing fortunes of Pip Bin and his friend Harry Biscuit as they thwart the evil plans of Pip's guardian, the fiendish Mr Gently Benevolent.

Guaranteed to lift the winter blues.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2010
This is pure pleasure.
Hours of listening joy. So funny and BBC comedy at it's best. The characters are little gems, a real mish mash of the Dickensian world: You don't have to have read all the Dickens books, but it certainly makes it all the funnier when you are in on the 'secret' jokes.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
After loving the first series I just had to treat myself to the 2nd.

With the continuing memoires of Sir Pip each 30 minute episode leaves on a cliffhanger to his tale, the amusing inventions of his now son in law, who is documenting the story, are simply hilarious and made all the funnier with Sir Pip's displeasure at embracing these new fangled devices (which never work for more than a minute at most).

As with the previous series this is classic British comedy at it's best and had my husband amd myself howling from start to finish.

On to the next series.

Harrumbles!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)