Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most satisfactory sir...
Was there ever an author who created such a stunning array of characters as P.G Wodehouse. In this one of Betram Wooster's finest outings, not only do we have Bertie and Jeeves. We also have Gussie Fink Nottle, Aunt Dahlia, Tuppy Glossop and of course Madeline Bassett. It's a shame that Bingo Little couldn't make it, but you can't have it all.
Ah what's that, I'm...
Published on 31 July 2002 by Mr. Robert Kelly

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Superb book, sloppy edition
Can't fault the book, but this is a pretty sloppy edition: quite a number of words mysteriously abbreviated, some sentences I suspect incomplete. In most cases you can guess what should be there.

For some, these flaws might be worth the extremely low price; aficionados and sticklers for accuracy should probably shell out bit extra for better edition.
Published 4 months ago by troup


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 24 Nov. 2013
Fantastic, would recommend this adaptation, well read, well paced and extremely funny. The two main characters are so believable. You can sit back and picture the story unfold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Right On, Jonathan!, 9 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Right Ho, Jeeves (Audio CD)
Superb reading of PG Wodehouse's comic masterpiece. the sheer marvellous nonsense of it all comes to sparkling life! I rate Jonathan Cecil as oojah-cum-spiff, don't you know?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gussie is a superstar, 22 Nov. 2000
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Right Ho, Jeeves (Paperback)
Gussie Finknottle is one of the most endearing characters in literary fiction. His incompetent passion for Madeline Bassett is the setting for the usual trouble that Bertie can get himself into all by himself. Madeline's fascist protector is also a wonderful comic character and the added confusion of assorted fancy dress just makes the whole situation even more priceless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out loud and marvel at perfect plotting, superbly crafted language and the sheer delight ..., 22 Mar. 2015
By 
Ross Nockles (Norwich, Norfolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Timeless, endlessly re-readable. Laugh out loud and marvel at perfect plotting, superbly crafted language and the sheer delight of it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Usual Wodehouse and Jeeves Give Satisfaction, 23 Dec. 2007
No doubt buoyed by the success of his previous novel `Thank you, Jeeves' Wodehouse sets about `Right Ho, Jeeves' with his typical vim and vigour.

In this, the second and in an odd occurrence for Wodehouse, second consecutive Jeeves novel sees Bertie Wooster begin to question the infallibility of Jeeves. Bertie questions Jeeves methods in his counselling of Gussie Fink-Nottle in relation to Madeline Basset and also of Tuppy Glossop and his engagement to Bertie's cousin Angela. Bertie's review of Jeeves may have unfortunately being somewhat coloured due to a disagreement about the wearing of a mess jacket. Anyway Bertie retires to his Aunt Dahlia's country pile `Brinkley Manor' (under which title it was originally published in America) in order to take charge of matters himself. Shortly Angela is engaged to Gussie while Bertie himself is engaged to Madeline while Aunt Dahlia is estranged from her cook Anatone whom has handed in his portfolio.

So can Jeeves resolve the situation uniting the parties rendered asunder by Bertie and so saving his masters blushes while also rendering the mess jacket redundant. Well the former is a given and the resolution of the second and third have to be read to behold the wonders unfolding. Wodehouse shows us how the larger canvas was crying out for Jeeves and Wooster and vice versa. Another triumph.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GENTLE HUMOUR!, 24 Jun. 2013
By 
Mrs. B. Preston "beverleyboo" (warrington) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
CLASSIC GENTLE HUMOUR, NO ONE COULD BE OFFENDED BY P.G WODEHOUSE, I PROMISE YOU WILL LAUGH AND LISTEN AGAIN & AGAIN. BUY IT NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 21 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. Full of the dry wit I liked from the Fry and Laurie depiction, and very easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Brilliant, 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I must say What-ho and Top Tiffin for an excellent read.
Simply Brilliant
More if you would please Mr Jeeves
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hard to get hold of the whole series, 17 April 2014
By 
V. Emmerson (Derby) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought as a Christmas gift for a friend who was having trouble finding a copy. The recipient was happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars PG's best, 18 April 2015
By 
AM Groves (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can not read any of these books with out hearing the voices of Fry and Laurie. Always entertaining and amusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews