Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars86
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio Download|Change
Price:£12.85
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 June 2004
Being a great fan of P.G. Wodehouse, I am glad to see that they are finally in this format! The life of a certain Mister B. Wooster is rather how i wish my own to be! Possibly the funniest book I have read in a long time, greatly reccomended to all! Wodehouse is a literary genius!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2002
The scene when poor old tee-total Gussie Fink-Nottle awards the prizes at Market Snodsbury Grammar School under, shall we say, the influence, may just be the funniest ever written in the English language.
If you don't laugh reading this book you're probably dead.
11 comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 February 2008
This is a pretty much faultless combination of the words of P.G.Wodehouse and some terrific acting. All the cast are good, but the main plaudits must go to the two stars. Richard Briers plays Wooster not as a complete silly ass, but as a man with a sense of his own dignity even if that is the only sense that he has. And Michael Horden is masterful, managing to convey an astonishing range of emotions and information within a simple phrase such as "Indeed, sir".
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
First published in 1934, Right Ho, Jeeves was the second full length novel by PG Wodehouse to feature his two most enduring creations, the good natured Bertie Wooster, stylish man about town who always seems to be in a scrape, and Jeeves, his inestimable, ineffable valet. In this one Wooster is terrorised by various Aunts, is threatened with marriage and generally has a pretty grim time if it until he is saved by a cunning plan of Jeeves’. Oh, wait, that’s the plot of most of the books, but never mind, Wodehouse writes with such wit and charm and Wooster and Jeeves are such great characters to be with that you can forgive that and just look forward to how Bertie is going to get into trouble and how will Jeeves save him this time.

In this tale Bertie returns from a holiday in Cannes to find his old friend (the improbably yet delightfully named Gussie Fink-Nottle) has been seeking Jeeves’ advice on courtship. Wooster decides to take charge of the case and chaos soon ensues. I won’t try to describe the chaos, suffice to say that it is deliriously funny. This contains one of Wodehouse’s most famous scenes, where a somewhat inebriated Fink-Nottle gives prizes at a local school. It is comedic perfection.

This version is a full cast radio adaptation of the book, dating I think from the 1970s. Richard Briers plays Wooster, and Michael Hordern is Jeeves. It is comedy gold. The two actors were inspired choices for the parts, Briers all energy and upper class twittery (yet not totally stupid for all his faults) whilst Hordern is understated, calm, reserved, and gets more out of a single surreptitious cough than most actors would wring from a dozen lines of Hamlet. Have you ever heard the phrase ‘I laughed so much I nearly died’? Well, that applies to me with this recording. I heard it for the first time while driving, and about 5 minutes in there is a moment so funny (Jeeves’ strangled expression of disgust at an item of apparel recently acquired by his master) that I burst into laughter so uncontrollable that I nearly lost control of the car. I had to pull over until the moment had passed, then put something else on the radio that wasn’t so funny. The whole production had me in tears of laughter from start to finish.

Its 6 episodes long, each episode half an hour (so three hours total) on 3 discs in a double jewel case. I garuantee that it will be the funniest 3 hours of your life. Unmissable, 5 stars.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 August 2007
"Right Ho Jeeves" was first published in 1934 in the UK, though was first published in the US under the name "Brinkley Court". The book is set in England and features Wodehouse's best known creations : Bertie Wooster and his valet, Jeeves. Bertie is the book's wealthy, good-natured and rather dim narrator. He's a member of the "idle rich" and, rather than having to work for a living, lives off an allowance provided by his uncle. He spends much of his time in the bar-room of the Drones Club, is fond of the occasional wager and has an appalling dress sense. Luckily, Bertie has Jeeves, to look after him. Without Jeeves, Bertie's life would be a mess : he makes an excellent hangover cure, his bets usually win and is intelligent enough to rescue Bertie from nearly any situation. He disapproves of Bertie's more garish items of clothing, and will - occasionally - take it upon himself to deal with the offending item.

The book opens with Bertie's return from Cannes, having spent two months on holiday with his Aunt Dahlia, his cousin Angela and Madeline Basset - Angela's best friend. Arriving back at his flat, Bertie is surprised to learn that Gussie Fink-Nottle has been a frequent caller in his absence. Gussie, an old school-friend of Bertie's, is something of a reclusive character : he doesn't drink, looks rather like a fish, prefers country life to the city and is a noted newt-fancier. Gussie has apparently fallen in love, and has - wisely - taken to visiting Jeeves for his advice on how to win the young lady's heart. However, following a disagreement with Jeeves about a white mess jacket purchased in Cannes, Bertie decides to take over Gussie's case.

By sheer coincidence, the object of Gussie's desires is none other than Madeline Basset - who, after the trip to Cannes, has returned to Brinkley Court (Aunt Dahlia's stately home). Bertie sends Gussie off to the stately home in question - though his motives aren't entirely noble. As well as spending time with Madeline, Gussie will also be delivering a speech at the local grammar school's prizegiving day - a job Aunt Dahlia had intended for Bertie. However, when word comes through that Angela has brokern off her engagement with Tuppy Glossop, Bertie and Jeeves race off to the countryside to offer their support. Naturally, Bertie's attempts to ease smooth things over land everyone in a great deal of bother.

A very easy and enjoyable read.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2015
There is nothing like Wodehouse. I read this book out aloud to someone who was convalescing and very depressed and it had us both in stitches. I am sure I had first read it 50 odd years ago along with various other P.G. Wodehouse but one can always return to them and they always make you laugh.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2013
I bought this for my husband as he loves Jeeves and Wooster. Michael horden's voice is brilliant as Jeeves and Richard Briers has a lovely distinctive voice and much loved as Bertie Wooster. We love listening to it in the evening before we go to sleep. It never fails to make us laugh.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2012
Inept Bertie Wooster and his genius valet return for more adventures. Romantic train-crashes and bad-tempered aunts are included.

This book may not be the best of the series, but when you are talking about the greatest comedy double-act of all time, does that matter?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2013
Like really, Bertram is so funny. And Jeeves is just amazing.
The satire and sarcasm (British humour? lol) is so amusing and the plot is intricate
He is a master of weaving... weaving words on a loom that is a story and paint that are the characters
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2016
I'm working my way around to getting every Wodehouse in the series, replacing tatty old paperbacks with hardbacks (and filling in the blanks in my collection).

The books are a fantastic read, and this edition will please every Wodehouse fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)