Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars86
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio Download|Change
Price:£12.85
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Was there ever an author who created such a stunning array of characters as P.G Wodehouse. In this one of Betram Wooster's finest outings, not only do we have Bertie and Jeeves. We also have Gussie Fink Nottle, Aunt Dahlia, Tuppy Glossop and of course Madeline Bassett. It's a shame that Bingo Little couldn't make it, but you can't have it all.
Ah what's that, I'm straying from the plot...thank you Jeeves, I'll attend to that immediately. The story revolves around Gussie Fink Nottles attempts to woo Madeline. They appear to made for each other. Gussie is an old school friend of Bertie's who now spends his time raising newts in his substantial country pile. Madeline is possibly the world's biggest drip who believes that the stars are God's daisy chain. The book revolves around Bertie, with Jeeves's help machinations to bring the two love birds together. This is complicated by Madeline's belief that is in fact Bertie who loves her.
A hilarious romp from beginning to end, this is one of Wodehouse's finest and remains a joy to read
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2012
So off we go to Brinkley Court for more high japes and adventures. Along the way hearts will be sundered, friendships forged in childhood will be momentarily broken and mentally negligible young men will make complete fools out of themselves. If you're already aware of the books but can't quite determine which one this is (after all, they do share very similar plots), then this is the episode with Gussie Fink-Nottle dressed as the devil and Bertie making an eighteen mile round trip on an old bicycle to rescue a key which was in Jeeves's pocket all along.

The interesting thing with these stories is how Wodehouse gets around the Superman problem. Of course the main flaw with any Superman story is that he is so much more powerful than anyone else; so invulnerable to attack, that every villain on the planet has to get access to kryptonite to make a dent on him. (Now, one would think that was a rare substance, but no, it seems to be as freely available to the criminal classes as lock-picks.) Wodehouse faces a same issue. Given how smart and assured Jeeves is, given that the man never makes a mistake - how does one eke out a novel worth of material with a central protagonist who can just step in and save the day in an instant? Well the answer is of course young Bertie Wooster. By creating tension between the young master and his valet, by letting Bertie get the idea that Jeeves has somehow lost it, we are treated to over two hundred pages of hilarious thrills and spills as Wooster's advice causes calamity and disaster at every turn. (It would be like a missing Conan Doyle novel, where Watson tells Holmes he's gone off his chump and starts to investigate the murders himself). Of course Jeeves will inevitably step in and save everything at the end, but even when all is resolved it's clearly just at pause until the next set of incredible and hilarious confusions begins.

Comic writing at its absolute best. The Master strikes again.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
One of the very best Jeeves and Wooster books. I prefer the full, one-story books to the story-a-chapter books, and this one excels. Bertie decides to take over from Jeeves in resolving his friend's love issues, and only succeeds in causing mayhem everywhere, including getting everyone engaged to the wrong people! As always it falls to Jeeves to sort everything right and restore harmony, but on the way to doing so there is so much brilliant writing that you really do not want the book to end. Classic Wodehouse.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2016
I thought I was reading Right Ho, for the 1st time but when Jeeves told Bertie what Faute de meaux meant I realised I was re-reading this book, Anyone who is a Regular visitor to P.G. Wodehouse's work will know but if you are one of those unfortunate people who have never come across him before do yourself a big favour and buy some, this isn't the 1st Bertie Book, but it doesn't really matter, all of them are excellent just like the Books with his other Brilliant Characters, Lord Emsworth, The Oldest Member, Mr Mulliner etc. P.G.s use of Language is wonderful, with his initialising where he uses initial letters and not the whole words (e and b instead of Eggs and Bacon) and his knack of leaving the nouns of sentences after using the adjectives for instance a Cup of Hot and Steaming when Bertie is offered a Cup of tea in Jeeves and The Feudal Spirit a another Book in the series well worth reading, I took my time with the book and I suggest you do the same as the book is like a fine wine, a Malt Scotch, or an excellent meal, It like all Wodehouse's should be savoured and When you are asked why do you read this book you definitely wont say Faute de meux.
22 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If there's one thing Bertie Wooster should never do, it's make elaborate plans to bring estranged lovebirds back together.

And he demonstrates just why in the second full-length Jeeves novel, a screwball disaster saga that sees Bertie confidently trying to fix people's lives. Of course, things go horribly wrong, and Wodehouse's arch, nutty look at what happens next is an absolute gem.

When Aunt Dahlia summons him to Brinkley Court for a prizegiving, Bertie sends his newt-fancying friend Gussie instead -- especially since Gussie is enamoured of a girl staying there, the soppy Madeleine Bassett. But when Bertie hears that his cousin Angela has broken off her engagement to Tuppy Glossop -- and his aunt is in need of money -- he rushes down to assist all his relatives and pals by advising them to feign such sorrow that they're unable to eat.

Unfortunately his plan falls through, and they manages to enrage the cook Anatole to the point where he storms out. Even worse, the prize-giving is a disaster and the wrong people end up engaged -- and pursued by homicidally angry exes. Only Jeeves' formidable brain can somehow save the day -- and Bertie's behind.

P.G. Wodehouse made a pretty good living off of spoofing the upper crust of England, and the subtlely intlligent servants who bail them out. "Right Ho Jeeves" is a prime example of his writing -- some small mistakes rapidly balloon out into a crazy tangled mess, which only an intelligent manservant can rescue Bertie from.

Much of the book's charm comes from its complex plot and series of disasters (such as Tuppy's homicidal rampage). And as usual, poor Bertie finds himself the object of young ladies' affections -- in this case, the appallingly goofy Madeleine thinks he's madly in love with her, when she's not rambling about fairies and bunnies. If there's a flaw, it's that Jeeves' final solution is a bit limp.

But Wodehouse's writing is what really makes the book timeless. It's arch and wry, whether he's describing basic actions ("He leaped like a lamb in springtime"), or goofy dialogue ("But if you were a male newt, Madeline Bassett wouldn't look at you. Not with the eye of love, I mean").

Jeeves and Bertie are the perfect comic team -- Bertie is proud, goofy, and not terribly bright, while the quiet Jeeves is a towering intellect with wry wit. And they're backed by a colourful, small cast of nutty aristocrats, schoolboys, sharp-tongued aunts and cousins, newt-fancying fish-faced men, and a girl who talks about how "every time a fairy sheds a tear, a wee bitty star is born." Yech.

"Right Ho Jeeves" is a hilarious, tangled farce of love, money, jealousy, dinner jackets and the mating rituals of newts. Absolutely priceless, from start to finish.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2014
This is one of my favourite Wodehouse books, everything about it is just about perfect. I first read this book 30 odd years ago and just howled with laughter, since then I've lost count of the number of times I've read it and it's never failed to cheer me up. It's not just that it is hilariously funny in places but it's also beautifully written. Buy this book! At 49p it would a crime not to.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2000
Wodehouse delivers his usual cocktail of fun and frolics in this, the cream of the Wooster collection. Jeeves takes an instant dislike to a rather natty jacket, leaving the atmos. not a little chilly, with Bertie deciding to solve his own - and others - problems. However, as always, it is up to Jeeves to extrapolate Bertie from his self-inflicted mess. Features Madeline the-stars-are-gods-daisy-chain Basset, and Gussie Fink-Nottle in a pretty frightful pair of scarlet tights. A scream from start to finish.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2012
When I started this and heard Wooster and Jeeves bickering about an item of clothing (in this case a jacket), I thought that this would prove to be rather formulaic. And indeed there were the usual love tanglements, disentanglements and misunderstandings. But the quality of the language and humour was laugh-out-loud cracking and there was innovation here. Wooster spends his time through most of the book being consultant problem-solver, Jeeves seemingly off-form. This leads to some hilarious effects, including the world-weary diplomacy of Jeeves' responses and the eventual return of the master.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2011
Avid fan as I am, and as far as I know owner of all the P.G. Wodehouse books, on surfing amazon, I saw they now have audio CDs/DVDs of Jeeves. You might think, it ridiculous to want an audio copy too. But I hasten to say .... Richard Briers is the personification of Bertram Wooster !!! So I splurged a little :-))))- and bought 3 so far. I think Richard Briers would be a hard act to follow, a lovely, lovely gentleman. Followed much of his work on TV, so I'm a real fan of Richard too.
Just the right note, wonderful humour, great purchase !! I hope to find more !!
kind regards L.B.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2014
I think that this novel is only really challenged by [The Code of the Woosters] for the honour of being the finest story about Bertie Wooster and Jeeves.

There are a lot of things one can say about 's books - immature, very childish, total unworldly, lacking in any political or ecological conscience … It is difficult to challenge any of those judgements (and I should know because most of them have been applied, regularly, to me, too). However, I prefer to think of them as exquisite, beautifully written, faultlessly constructed, charming and ceaselessly entertaining. Sadly all too few of those epithets have ever been applied to me!

[Right Ho, Jeeves] is, to my mind, the apotheosis of Wodehouse's world. His plots are always full of Byzantine twists, his characters are usually hilarious, but in this novel he excelled his own extremely high standards and brought off a comedy classic.

There are two set pieces in particular (Gussie Fink-Nottle's address when presenting the prizes at Market Snodsbury School's Speech Day, and the stream of outrage from Anatole, the sublimely talented yet extremely temperamental French chef, when Gussie appears to be pulling faces at him through the skylight of his bedroom) which must rank among the finest examples of humorous writing. If one is prepared briefly to suspend disbelief and enter Wodehouse's world the rewards are enormous. This particular book was first published in 1934, but is already looking back to an unspecified Corinthian past, largely of Wodehouse's own imagining.
In this world, gentlemen always wear suits, and occasionally spats though never (in England, anyway) white mess jackets, or not, at least, if Jeeves has his way. They also never bandy a lady's name or break an engagement, no matter how disastrously they might view the prospect of nuptials. Bertie Wooster, though not the brightest chap ever to have ventured into metropolitan life, is a stickler for such correct behaviour, and frequently finds himself beset as a consequence.

Wodehouse's writing is a joy - always grammatically perfect, yet he is able to capture the different voices with clinical precision. Bertie rambles in a manner now reminiscent of Boris Johnson (though without the egregious narcissism) [though, of course, in reality it is the other way round with Johnson trying to be like Wooster, but lacking the charm to pull it off] while Jeeves favours a cultured orotundity of speech, peppered with a mixture of highly scholarly references to poetry and philosophy contrasted with bathetic allusions to his rather bizarre-sounding family. The plots are immensely intricate, to the extent that they make Agatha Christie's novel seem entirely transparent, but Wodehouse always ties up every loose end, no matter how impossible that might seem even just one or two chapters from the end of the book.

I have read this novel several times before, and am confident that I will read it several times again, as it never fails to cheer me up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)