Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great songs, Same Sony
The dissapointing thing is the fact we know there are live recordings of the track list featured on "this is it soundtrack" so why didn't sony use those live versions, that would have been a must for fans. instead they throw together another greatest hits. I expect Sony will release the live one shortly after the sales of this album start to decrease. They only reason I...
Published on 26 Oct 2009 by Mr. S. J. Griffiths

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very very disappointed!
I am shocked as on going to iTunes they too had This is it as an 'Album only' track!

The reason I don't intend purchasing the whole album is due to the fact I have ALL of Michael Jackson's studio albums already, including History. Why are customers expected to purchase the whole album? A great shame I say.
Published on 26 Oct 2009 by K. L. Hopwood


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very very disappointed!, 26 Oct 2009
By 
K. L. Hopwood (Plymouth, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am shocked as on going to iTunes they too had This is it as an 'Album only' track!

The reason I don't intend purchasing the whole album is due to the fact I have ALL of Michael Jackson's studio albums already, including History. Why are customers expected to purchase the whole album? A great shame I say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a missed opportnity, 7 Nov 2009
The sound quality of the movie "this is it" and the performances by the band during the rhearsals that were captured are are absolutely amazing.

To release an accompanying album that does not contain these performances (but is instead a repackaged greatest hits) is a fantastic opportunity completely missed.

The sad thing is, true MJ fans who wish to honour his memory are the ones most likely to buy this, whereas they shold be the very people who boycott it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great songs, Same Sony, 26 Oct 2009
By 
The dissapointing thing is the fact we know there are live recordings of the track list featured on "this is it soundtrack" so why didn't sony use those live versions, that would have been a must for fans. instead they throw together another greatest hits. I expect Sony will release the live one shortly after the sales of this album start to decrease. They only reason I give this 4 stars is because the music is of course fantastic, the booklet is nice, original, has loads of nice pictures of michael performing in the rehearsals. The single "This is it" isn't bad, it's a pretty song, however the song is unfinished and its apparent when listening the track, it's obvious its a demo, and one in the early stages of development, still worth having but there must have been other songs they could have included.

On the whole the cd makes a nice programme to the film, rather than anthing else. If Sony had included the live versions on this album It would have 5 stars and no complaints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 Nov 2009
By 
Mrs. C. A. Powell (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
All I will say is, what a fantastic album. Absolutely Brilliant and a real tribute to his untimely death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is That It, 27 Oct 2009
By 
How can sony release a song and ask the fans (who have every other track MJ's ever published) to buy a whole album to get 'this is it' track no wonder the track never sold cause its not for sale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars CHEATED (Sing to the tune of Beat It), 6 Nov 2009
This album isn't what the title suggests,
It only shows the buyer what the label does best,
Your CHEATED, just CHEATED!

It's NOT the soundtrack, it's just the songs,
Sony are doin', what they do best,
They've CHEATED, your CHEATED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars this is it!, 24 Oct 2009
i was hoping to see more unreleased songs on the album such as one more chance and ive found loads of unreased tracks on youtube so this album was the last opertunity to get them out there for his fans as a last gift to us so where are they.

yes i am happy with some of my favouret trackson the last album but why have not the family got together with a tribute of there own and said a few words to introduce this album to his fans.

the poem on here is great its a final opertunity to hear his voice one last time!
the photos on the cd cover and inside the cd are great. i was unsure about some of the other recordings that were on the second cd though. however as for cd one i expected to see a repeat of the history cd as it was what his fans had asked for for the concert. anyway its a tribute and gift from the king of entertainment and the king of pop rock and r&b : ) look forward to the cinema experience thank you mj!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Cash In Or A Touching Reminder?', 22 Oct 2010
By 
Antony May (East Sussex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
While it may be hard for some to appreciate, the passing of Michael Jackson was (and still is) a major event in a lot of people's lives. To some (including myself) he was more than just an artist, a performer, an entertainer - he was both a GENIUS an inspiration and a genuinely good, kind hearted and grossly misunderstood man-boy. What has this all to do with a review of a cd? Everything - because for those of us that loved and admired Michael, 'This Is It' is far from a 'cash in'. Yes, it is yet another 'Greatest Hits' album, yes it is another repackaging but to Sony's credit it has also been intelligently and compassionately complied to bring both happy memories, laughter and tears to the eyes of Michael's TRUE fans.

Why do I say all this?

Simply because just one listen to the running order of the first cd convinces me that this album was put together primarily as a tribute to a great man with a huge talent. All are some of Michael's best loved and most iconic tracks. 'Thriller' reminds us of how MJ reinvented music videos, 'Smooth Criminal' how he blew us away with his dancing, 'Black Or White' reminds us of his love for ALL of the people of the world and 'Man In The Mirror' was his message to each and every one of us. Jarvis Cocker and his like may have thought of Michael harshly (I admire Jarvis also I should state) but while Michael was not a God (nor thought of himself as such) he truly did try and make the world feel and be unashamed to feel. In showing his own feelings and writing songs that left him vulnerable to attack he was both brave and foolhardy but some of us loved him for doing so...

'This Is It' not only contains some of Michael's greatest songs it includes two versions of the previously unreleased title track and a second cd of very personal sounding (hence priceless) demos that are not only VERY different versions to the finished songs but really do give the listener a chance to hear the artist at work. Last of all is "Planet Earth' - a spoken poem. Michael's both brilliant and childlike words and speaking voice are sure to tug at all but the most skeptical of hearts and are sure to bring a tear into the eyes of those of us (like he was) unafraid to feel.

Cash in or touching reminder? That depends on how you felt about Michael Jackson I guess...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Typical Sony, 23 Oct 2009
How long is this going to continue? Sony have released so many compilations of Michael Jackson's greatest hits over the past few years. People are getting fed up with this. Why can't they release a compilation of unreleased tracks. They would definitely sell them by the truckload and fans would be able to hear new music from the King of Pop.

Of course I will buy this item as there are some rare demos to listen to but surely Sony have missed the boat here. They could have included a cd full of unreleased tracks that would definitely have generated increased sales. I just think the true MJ fan is fed up of being handed out the same songs in different packaging again and again.

Shame really. Doesn't take from the music though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the fans pay the price, 21 Oct 2009
By 
Victor Preston "gvb" (birmingham, west mids United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
this new album is being promoted with the same name as the forthcoming movie.
even though these are all studio tracks not the expected live versions.
with only one "new" track in two versions and a handful of demos.
will 'this is it' be released as a single?, probably in december.
to tie in with the release of the new dvd.
could michael have the christmas number one?, possibly if the single includes rare tracks.
the fans pay the price for being michael jackson fans.
it deserves 5 stars for the quality of the music.
1 star for the concept.Michael Jackson's This Is It
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

This Is It:  [VINYL]
This Is It: [VINYL] by Michael Jackson (Vinyl - 2009)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews