Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars58
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£12.71+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
Remember how Betty originally got the job? Playboy Daniel was a womanizer, Betty so accident prone and such a sight, his father hired her on the spot - here at last a secretary Daniel would never try to seduce. Seemingly totally out of place where style was all, Betty was ridiculed by colleagues and had a tough time. She proved better than the lot of them, ever bouncing back whatever the putdowns and humiliations - she the one genuine article amidst the artifice. Gradually all turned to her whenever they had a problem....

This fourth season brings the warmhearted series to a close, happy endings contrived for all (even those who do not particularly deserve them). The scripts are a hoot, storylines OTT, the performances hilarious (camp bitchiness for some a speciality), episodes full of colour and speed. Particularly enjoyable are the merciless digs at the world of fashion. Those involved in that world clearly relished the joke, as shown by so many guest appearances.

Throughout, America Ferrera has proved the perfect Betty, thoroughly goodnatured, ever the optimist. We leave her "ugly" no longer (not that she ever was), her worth recognized.

20 episodes are preceded by an excellent "All You Need to Know" feature. Bonuses include a Gag Reel and Behind the Scenes when filming in the Bahamas.

Clearly the cast thoroughly enjoyed themselves. Most viewers did too. Thanks go to all. It has been fun.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 26 August 2011
The Fourth and final season the amazing hit show "Ugly Betty" nicely concludes the stories we've fallen in love with over four years of excellent programming.

The writers of the programme, of course, conclude the programme in the way the audience wants, which is perfectly satisfying, although unfortunately some of the stories are a little rushed in places to ensure the season gets completely concluded- I often think at least another season could have been made to properly and carefully finish off the show, but that's just me being bitter that one of my favourite shows was cancelled!

As ever, the writing and acting in this season, as well as the wardrobe and costume, are absolutely brilliant. This season sees the conclusion of the story of Betty, the "unattractive" New Yorker struggling in the world of media and magazines, and her friends and family and there are some truly outstanding moments- in particular this season, Justin's story finally come to a head; the one that we've all been anticipating since day one- and it's done brilliantly!

It's a shame the show was cancelled because I think there could have been more stories to tell- but as far as season's go, this probably isn't the strongest but it doesn't detract from how satisfying and enjoyable it is, nor does it lower the quality of the show. I'm sorry to see the show go, but this season wraps everything up nicely, and I highly recommend this boxset.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 9 March 2012
The whole Ugly Betty series is a must see for anyone who loves American shows. This final series finishes off the story perfectly!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 7 June 2012
I missed that and bought it for my daughters
Got it, they were happy and they got comfy
that evening to a TV dinner and boom the dvd
does'nt work cause it's not compatable with
most European players.
Paid a few quid more and bought the Region 2
version and have thrown the other away as
they said they'd return the price but not the
postage (the sender that is not Amazon.UK)
cheaper to forget it, so i did
As for the serie Ugly Betty, its a bit hit with
my girls and wife
The beautiful in ugly and the ugliness of beauty.
That's the serie in a sentence.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 16 March 2011
I was quite shocked when I found out Ugly Betty had been cancelled and that this season would be its last season. I cannot wait to own this season on DVD so I can re-live every funny moment of Betty. Season 1-4 of Ugly Betty are utter amazing. Following Betty and seeing her develop from being "ugly" to becoming beautiful in the last season. Also, all the other characters are very fun to watch. These DVD's are worth the buy, you can't go wrong!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 8 June 2011
Well what can i say? What a great and final series of UB. I am so sad that the producers didn't renew this show for a fifth season. The final episode was so sad, but it has been such a great program over the years!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2014
I have loved every second of Ugly Betty not just this episode and the actors and actresses are amazing. It has a good story line; a young girl building her way up in life to a beautiful young woman but it is a little like a soap opera with new twists and turns at every corner. America Ferrera (Betty Suarez) plays the part so well and really brings her to life in each season, fulfilling the requirements to play this complicated character from the unfashionable, naive Betty to the beautiful, sophisticated Betty. It is great for all...I mean 12+ of the family. Stick to it through season one and then you will fall in love with these characters!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 10 June 2011
The product arrived fast enough, is region 1 and even if my DVD player is region 0 it can't read it and i really can't explain why.
Pity i was really looking forward to watch the last season
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 11 December 2011
Love this box set. Is amazing. Love ugly Betty and was very cheap too :D I absolutely love the story lines and all the drama in it. A great buy for anyone who likes American comedy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2015
I am a huge Ugly Betty fan and have watched the first two series of Netflix and then bought season 3 on DVD. I having been looking for season 4 and hoped this would be on the fire stick via Amazon prime, but you need to purchase the series of pay per episode and this was expensive, so I was delighted to find the Season 4 Dvd at a great price. The Dvd box set has numerous discs and is well presented and the picture quality is crystal clear. I have only watched the first three episodes thus far, but they are as humerous, witty , warm and emotional as the first three seasons, I can't wait to watch the rest.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Ugly Betty - Season 3 [DVD]
Ugly Betty - Season 3 [DVD] by America Ferrera (DVD - 2009)

Ugly Betty - Season 1-4 [DVD] [2007]
Ugly Betty - Season 1-4 [DVD] [2007] by America Ferrera (DVD - 2011)

Ugly Betty - Season 2 [DVD] [2007]
Ugly Betty - Season 2 [DVD] [2007] by America Ferrera (DVD - 2008)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.