Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN AFFECTIONATE FAREWELL
Remember how Betty originally got the job? Playboy Daniel was a womanizer, Betty so accident prone and such a sight, his father hired her on the spot - here at last a secretary Daniel would never try to seduce. Seemingly totally out of place where style was all, Betty was ridiculed by colleagues and had a tough time. She proved better than the lot of them, ever...
Published on 20 Oct. 2011 by Mr. D. L. Rees

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ugly betty dvd
It was so disappointing to receive the dvd and find out that I can't watch it , because it is the wrong region.
I would really expect that the company ensur the dvds can be watched in the country they send it to. Disappointing
Published on 11 Aug. 2012 by Laura


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN AFFECTIONATE FAREWELL, 20 Oct. 2011
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ugly Betty - Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Remember how Betty originally got the job? Playboy Daniel was a womanizer, Betty so accident prone and such a sight, his father hired her on the spot - here at last a secretary Daniel would never try to seduce. Seemingly totally out of place where style was all, Betty was ridiculed by colleagues and had a tough time. She proved better than the lot of them, ever bouncing back whatever the putdowns and humiliations - she the one genuine article amidst the artifice. Gradually all turned to her whenever they had a problem....

This fourth season brings the warmhearted series to a close, happy endings contrived for all (even those who do not particularly deserve them). The scripts are a hoot, storylines OTT, the performances hilarious (camp bitchiness for some a speciality), episodes full of colour and speed. Particularly enjoyable are the merciless digs at the world of fashion. Those involved in that world clearly relished the joke, as shown by so many guest appearances.

Throughout, America Ferrera has proved the perfect Betty, thoroughly goodnatured, ever the optimist. We leave her "ugly" no longer (not that she ever was), her worth recognized.

20 episodes are preceded by an excellent "All You Need to Know" feature. Bonuses include a Gag Reel and Behind the Scenes when filming in the Bahamas.

Clearly the cast thoroughly enjoyed themselves. Most viewers did too. Thanks go to all. It has been fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Series!!, 9 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ugly Betty - Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
The whole Ugly Betty series is a must see for anyone who loves American shows. This final series finishes off the story perfectly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ugly Betty - Season Four, 26 Aug. 2011
By 
N. Wilson "nigel-wilson" (Bristol, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ugly Betty - Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
The Fourth and final season the amazing hit show "Ugly Betty" nicely concludes the stories we've fallen in love with over four years of excellent programming.

The writers of the programme, of course, conclude the programme in the way the audience wants, which is perfectly satisfying, although unfortunately some of the stories are a little rushed in places to ensure the season gets completely concluded- I often think at least another season could have been made to properly and carefully finish off the show, but that's just me being bitter that one of my favourite shows was cancelled!

As ever, the writing and acting in this season, as well as the wardrobe and costume, are absolutely brilliant. This season sees the conclusion of the story of Betty, the "unattractive" New Yorker struggling in the world of media and magazines, and her friends and family and there are some truly outstanding moments- in particular this season, Justin's story finally come to a head; the one that we've all been anticipating since day one- and it's done brilliantly!

It's a shame the show was cancelled because I think there could have been more stories to tell- but as far as season's go, this probably isn't the strongest but it doesn't detract from how satisfying and enjoyable it is, nor does it lower the quality of the show. I'm sorry to see the show go, but this season wraps everything up nicely, and I highly recommend this boxset.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ugly betty dvd, 11 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was so disappointing to receive the dvd and find out that I can't watch it , because it is the wrong region.
I would really expect that the company ensur the dvds can be watched in the country they send it to. Disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Region 1, 7 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I missed that and bought it for my daughters
Got it, they were happy and they got comfy
that evening to a TV dinner and boom the dvd
does'nt work cause it's not compatable with
most European players.
Paid a few quid more and bought the Region 2
version and have thrown the other away as
they said they'd return the price but not the
postage (the sender that is not Amazon.UK)
cheaper to forget it, so i did
As for the serie Ugly Betty, its a bit hit with
my girls and wife
The beautiful in ugly and the ugliness of beauty.
That's the serie in a sentence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 11 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Ugly Betty - Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Love this box set. Is amazing. Love ugly Betty and was very cheap too :D I absolutely love the story lines and all the drama in it. A great buy for anyone who likes American comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ugly betty, sesason 4, 10 Jun. 2011
By 
Fran "Fran" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
The product arrived fast enough, is region 1 and even if my DVD player is region 0 it can't read it and i really can't explain why.
Pity i was really looking forward to watch the last season
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brought a tear to my eye :'(, 8 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Ugly Betty - Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Well what can i say? What a great and final series of UB. I am so sad that the producers didn't renew this show for a fifth season. The final episode was so sad, but it has been such a great program over the years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 16 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Ugly Betty - Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
I was quite shocked when I found out Ugly Betty had been cancelled and that this season would be its last season. I cannot wait to own this season on DVD so I can re-live every funny moment of Betty. Season 1-4 of Ugly Betty are utter amazing. Following Betty and seeing her develop from being "ugly" to becoming beautiful in the last season. Also, all the other characters are very fun to watch. These DVD's are worth the buy, you can't go wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourate shows, 18 Sept. 2014
By 
M. Burris "mbu" (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ugly Betty - Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
I am an Ugly Betty fan from the get-go. Couldn't put it down from episode1 till I completed every episode (obviously fitting everything else in my life around it) but I loved it and my two teenage kids who sat down to see what was taking up my interest watched an episode with me then watched the full box set. I now have the full series and got value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ugly Betty - Season 4 [DVD]
Ugly Betty - Season 4 [DVD] by America Ferrera (DVD - 2011)
£24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews