Customer Reviews


197 Reviews
5 star:
 (110)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (27)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lost but not forgotten
I have been riveted to this show. I loved series 1-5 and have been looking forward to finally watching season 6 for some time.

I was left with very mixed feelings. The good - the acting from all the cast, especially the main characters is fantastic. The music, costume, props,setting, filming and editing can be beautiful and makes you lost in every moment...
Published on 11 July 2011 by S J Keeler

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars NO, NOT IN PURGATORY. THEY WERE...CalvinBalling IT ALL ALONG!
I was a huge fan of LOST. I managed to avoid watching the episodes when first aired in order to enjoy each season in a LOST-binging weekend, when the DVDs were released. What a disappointment was waiting for us at the end!

>>>>>> SPOILERS AHEAD...
Published on 12 July 2012 by NeuroSplicer


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lost but not forgotten, 11 July 2011
This review is from: Lost - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
I have been riveted to this show. I loved series 1-5 and have been looking forward to finally watching season 6 for some time.

I was left with very mixed feelings. The good - the acting from all the cast, especially the main characters is fantastic. The music, costume, props,setting, filming and editing can be beautiful and makes you lost in every moment (excuse the pun!). And I liked the fact that the whole series kept the viewers guessing. You never quite knew what was coming next and who to trust; just like the characters themselves.

We have had flashbacks and flashforwards in previous series but this had the flash sideways - a sort of paralel world although you are kept guessing about the reality of every situation.

But... although moving I was left with so many unanswered questions. Some they attempted to explain, although you do get a sense that the writers made it up as they went along and didn't really have a clear sense of direction at the start. It explores many of the big questions about life; religion, humanity, Science, fate, destiny etc etc but it does really leave it up to you to make your own conclusions. I quite liked this but was frustrated to find that some characters were not included in this resolution of sorts, perhaps the actors did not want to return?

It is worth watching the documentaries on the DVD's - some helpful guides from the producers which help to explain some of their choices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lost and never lost, 30 Jan 2012
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Sixth and final season of Island mystery series Lost.

NB: This is not a very good jumping on point for new viewers.

Viewers who have been with the show all the way will find all seventeen episodes of the final season here [the final episode is a double length one, but is only counted as one episode] in a dvd box set that contains five discs. Plus some versions of it have an extra sixth disc with a few more extras.

Languages and subtitles are as follows:

English, Italian, Spanish.

Subtitles: English, Italian, Spanish, Swedish, Norwegian, Danish, Finnish, Icelandic, Portugese, Dutch.

Those who saw the fifth season will recall it ended with a bang. A very big one. Designed to ensure that the Island was destroyed and Oceanic flight 815 never crashed.

As those who know their quantum physics - or who saw the 2009 Star Trek movie will know, meddling with time lines produces one result

Spoiler follows, but it's a spoiler you'd find on the back of the box in the blurb for part one anyhow...]

They flashed back. They flashed forward. And now they flash sideways. Into a world where the Island was destroyed in the 1970's, and the plane never crashed.

But at the same time, those who survived the end of season five - and other characters who were elsewhere on the Island, have to soldier on. Because a long standing threat is about to make itself known. The truth as to why the characters were brought to the island will come out. And they will have to fight for their future. And that of the rest of the world....

This close to the end, you will expect answers.

And some do come.

But you will probably spend a lot of time wondering where the season is going, as some things do seem to change from week to week.
What answers you get may seem anti climactic after so long.
And certain elements are left up to the viewer to draw their own conclusions.

the flash sideways are very clever and contain many delightful nods to things gone by from earlier seasons. But what they build to, just like the rest of the events in the finale, is something that will split opinion.

If you're looking for final answers to absolutely every question the show raised, you will be disappointed.

But...

If you think it was all about the characters rather than the questions, this is a fine ending. Because whilst they were lost figuratively and literally, by the end they are not. Which might leave you with a lump in your throat.

But either way, anyone who has come this far with the show will want to see it to the end. Just be prepared for the fact that it's a season which divides opinion.

The extras on the dvd are slightly light compared to earlier seasons as well.

Discs one to four have a commentary on one single episode each.

Disc five has:

New man in charge: twelve minutes of footage that was cut from the final episode for timing reasons, and which is basically an epilogue to the show. This is required viewing, because it does answer [definitively] three questions. The third being one that every fan will have asked post the final episode.

There's a thirty six minute long making of documentary about the season. Which is also about how those involved reacted to it coming to an end. You might just get something in your eye whilst watching it.

Other features are a bit cursory:

Hero's journey runs for just under ten minutes and considers the actions of certain chaacters across the course of the show.

See you in another life brotha is the same length and is a brief making of feature about the flash sideways.

There are four on location features, all running about six minutes or so each, and about the making of an individual episode. These are short but watchable.

There's the usual season blooper reel. Some of which are quite funny.

The aforementioned sixth disc has two more on location features.

A short one called Sayid V Dogen, about a making of a fight scene in one episode.

Chicken hunt, which runs for four minutes and is about flash sideways Hurley's life there, and is pretty good.

But well worth a watch is Lost live: clips from a concert of music from the show, done with readings by cast members. Good reading, good writing, and great music makes you wish you could see the whole thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must see, 18 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
If you've got to this point in the Lost journey you MUST SEE this last series. I had to resist watching it all at once. It is one of the most entertaining programmes Ive watched in the last ten years. Im just sad its all over. Expect lots of answers however I would like to talk to the writers about the ending!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost forever, 12 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
So brilliant, pacing myself with watching two episodes per week. Don't want to get to the end because I don't want it to end, totally hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars makes your head spin, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Finally most of it is explained and we get to the end but my teenage son and I had trouble linking it all up. Very enjoyable end to the series but you do find yourself saying but....but...but...
Worth watching if you have seen all the other series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars NO, NOT IN PURGATORY. THEY WERE...CalvinBalling IT ALL ALONG!, 12 July 2012
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lost - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
I was a huge fan of LOST. I managed to avoid watching the episodes when first aired in order to enjoy each season in a LOST-binging weekend, when the DVDs were released. What a disappointment was waiting for us at the end!

>>>>>> SPOILERS AHEAD <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<

I started watching LOST for the deep personal stories that touched and interweaved with each other unexpectedly and mysteriously. I continued to watch LOST because of the paranormal mysteries that were hinted of having very normal explanations. Well, maybe not normal but at least logical. What was the Black Smoke? Why is Ben so important? Do the dead resurrect on the Island like Jack's father or dead means dead, like Ben's daughter? Why can it there be no children getting born on the Island? What do the Numbers mean? How was Lock able to walk again and why did he have to die at the end? Why did the statue have four fingers? And what about the polar bears, the one on the island and the other fossilized with a Dharma collar in ancient Egyptian ruins.

As it turns out, the creators of the series had no clue whatsoever. They kept throwing PostIts with ancient, urban and and religious mythology on the board and THEN they tried to mold the resulting pulp of ideas into a narrative. This way, something was bound to catch your interest every week. Yet, they had no idea where the story was going. Not even at the end. Well, especially at the end.

The problem with Season 6 of LOST was that, during the previous seasons, it had hooked us with so many lines that we expected either a fish or at least some uneaten bait at the end of them. Most of these lines simply ended, never to be picked up ever again.

No deeper meaning. No logical explanation that can tie around everything. Just a luminous steampunk spring that "is important".

I could not put it in words until I came across Jonathan McCalmont's Blog, Ruthless Culture: LOST was nothing but CalvinBall. To those unfamiliar with Bill Watterson's brilliant Calvin&Hobbes comic strip, CalvinBall is an imaginary game whose rules are made up as we play along. No one keeps score, no one plans ahead, no one wins.

I did not expect the creators of LOST to provide serious answers to life's cardinal questions.
I did expect them to answer their own d@mn questions, though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How Else Could They End It?, 8 Jan 2011
By 
A D. Pate (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lost - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
To be fair, part of the reason Lost started off as being so intriguing was that there was so much mystery involved. Polar bears, the black smoke, the foot statue and so on. An then as the series went on, they had to explain everything. I saw an interview with Dominic Monaghan (Charlie) where he said it was only meant to last about three seasons and the writers had an ending for it. But then ABC rolled in and said "we've got good ratings, write a few more seasons". So they had to keep it going, introducing new characters, the concept of a time travelling, disappearing island, a nuclear bomb, the oceanic six that got off the island but then came back and all that jazz.

Then season six; they had to wrap it up somehow. And I can't think of another way they'd do it. So considering they had to explain all that and conclude six years of mystery, they did an okay job of it. The whole parallel universe/alternate reality thing is a little far-fetched but so was the rest of the series. I won't give the ending away, but it does make sense and is quite clever if you look at it from the right angle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spot on, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Gives us the opportunity to watch over again, as it lost us a few times.
would recommend for everyone to give it a go
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lost season 6, 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
very good am able to watch the whole lot now,really enjoy it.So now we have the dvd can watch again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LOST & FOUND, 10 Nov 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Well it was NEVER going to answer ALL the questions, was it?
All in all an enjoyable watch. Sad it's finished realy.

Given the plot (there was a plot! I'm sure) it probably rates another watch of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lost - Season 6 [DVD]
Lost - Season 6 [DVD] by Evangeline Lily (DVD - 2010)
£12.77
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews