Customer Reviews


162 Reviews
5 star:
 (83)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lost and never lost
Sixth and final season of Island mystery series Lost.

NB: This is not a very good jumping on point for new viewers.

Viewers who have been with the show all the way will find all seventeen episodes of the final season here [the final episode is a double length one, but is only counted as one episode] in a dvd box set that contains five discs. Plus...
Published on 30 Jan 2012 by Paul Tapner

versus
30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How Else Could They End It?
To be fair, part of the reason Lost started off as being so intriguing was that there was so much mystery involved. Polar bears, the black smoke, the foot statue and so on. An then as the series went on, they had to explain everything. I saw an interview with Dominic Monaghan (Charlie) where he said it was only meant to last about three seasons and the writers had an...
Published on 8 Jan 2011 by A D. Pate


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lost and never lost, 30 Jan 2012
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Sixth and final season of Island mystery series Lost.

NB: This is not a very good jumping on point for new viewers.

Viewers who have been with the show all the way will find all seventeen episodes of the final season here [the final episode is a double length one, but is only counted as one episode] in a dvd box set that contains five discs. Plus some versions of it have an extra sixth disc with a few more extras.

Languages and subtitles are as follows:

English, Italian, Spanish.

Subtitles: English, Italian, Spanish, Swedish, Norwegian, Danish, Finnish, Icelandic, Portugese, Dutch.

Those who saw the fifth season will recall it ended with a bang. A very big one. Designed to ensure that the Island was destroyed and Oceanic flight 815 never crashed.

As those who know their quantum physics - or who saw the 2009 Star Trek movie will know, meddling with time lines produces one result

Spoiler follows, but it's a spoiler you'd find on the back of the box in the blurb for part one anyhow...]

They flashed back. They flashed forward. And now they flash sideways. Into a world where the Island was destroyed in the 1970's, and the plane never crashed.

But at the same time, those who survived the end of season five - and other characters who were elsewhere on the Island, have to soldier on. Because a long standing threat is about to make itself known. The truth as to why the characters were brought to the island will come out. And they will have to fight for their future. And that of the rest of the world....

This close to the end, you will expect answers.

And some do come.

But you will probably spend a lot of time wondering where the season is going, as some things do seem to change from week to week.
What answers you get may seem anti climactic after so long.
And certain elements are left up to the viewer to draw their own conclusions.

the flash sideways are very clever and contain many delightful nods to things gone by from earlier seasons. But what they build to, just like the rest of the events in the finale, is something that will split opinion.

If you're looking for final answers to absolutely every question the show raised, you will be disappointed.

But...

If you think it was all about the characters rather than the questions, this is a fine ending. Because whilst they were lost figuratively and literally, by the end they are not. Which might leave you with a lump in your throat.

But either way, anyone who has come this far with the show will want to see it to the end. Just be prepared for the fact that it's a season which divides opinion.

The extras on the dvd are slightly light compared to earlier seasons as well.

Discs one to four have a commentary on one single episode each.

Disc five has:

New man in charge: twelve minutes of footage that was cut from the final episode for timing reasons, and which is basically an epilogue to the show. This is required viewing, because it does answer [definitively] three questions. The third being one that every fan will have asked post the final episode.

There's a thirty six minute long making of documentary about the season. Which is also about how those involved reacted to it coming to an end. You might just get something in your eye whilst watching it.

Other features are a bit cursory:

Hero's journey runs for just under ten minutes and considers the actions of certain chaacters across the course of the show.

See you in another life brotha is the same length and is a brief making of feature about the flash sideways.

There are four on location features, all running about six minutes or so each, and about the making of an individual episode. These are short but watchable.

There's the usual season blooper reel. Some of which are quite funny.

The aforementioned sixth disc has two more on location features.

A short one called Sayid V Dogen, about a making of a fight scene in one episode.

Chicken hunt, which runs for four minutes and is about flash sideways Hurley's life there, and is pretty good.

But well worth a watch is Lost live: clips from a concert of music from the show, done with readings by cast members. Good reading, good writing, and great music makes you wish you could see the whole thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost forever, 12 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
So brilliant, pacing myself with watching two episodes per week. Don't want to get to the end because I don't want it to end, totally hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must see, 18 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
If you've got to this point in the Lost journey you MUST SEE this last series. I had to resist watching it all at once. It is one of the most entertaining programmes Ive watched in the last ten years. Im just sad its all over. Expect lots of answers however I would like to talk to the writers about the ending!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lost but not forgotten, 11 July 2011
This review is from: Lost - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
I have been riveted to this show. I loved series 1-5 and have been looking forward to finally watching season 6 for some time.

I was left with very mixed feelings. The good - the acting from all the cast, especially the main characters is fantastic. The music, costume, props,setting, filming and editing can be beautiful and makes you lost in every moment (excuse the pun!). And I liked the fact that the whole series kept the viewers guessing. You never quite knew what was coming next and who to trust; just like the characters themselves.

We have had flashbacks and flashforwards in previous series but this had the flash sideways - a sort of paralel world although you are kept guessing about the reality of every situation.

But... although moving I was left with so many unanswered questions. Some they attempted to explain, although you do get a sense that the writers made it up as they went along and didn't really have a clear sense of direction at the start. It explores many of the big questions about life; religion, humanity, Science, fate, destiny etc etc but it does really leave it up to you to make your own conclusions. I quite liked this but was frustrated to find that some characters were not included in this resolution of sorts, perhaps the actors did not want to return?

It is worth watching the documentaries on the DVD's - some helpful guides from the producers which help to explain some of their choices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How Else Could They End It?, 8 Jan 2011
By 
A D. Pate (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lost - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
To be fair, part of the reason Lost started off as being so intriguing was that there was so much mystery involved. Polar bears, the black smoke, the foot statue and so on. An then as the series went on, they had to explain everything. I saw an interview with Dominic Monaghan (Charlie) where he said it was only meant to last about three seasons and the writers had an ending for it. But then ABC rolled in and said "we've got good ratings, write a few more seasons". So they had to keep it going, introducing new characters, the concept of a time travelling, disappearing island, a nuclear bomb, the oceanic six that got off the island but then came back and all that jazz.

Then season six; they had to wrap it up somehow. And I can't think of another way they'd do it. So considering they had to explain all that and conclude six years of mystery, they did an okay job of it. The whole parallel universe/alternate reality thing is a little far-fetched but so was the rest of the series. I won't give the ending away, but it does make sense and is quite clever if you look at it from the right angle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars makes your head spin, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Finally most of it is explained and we get to the end but my teenage son and I had trouble linking it all up. Very enjoyable end to the series but you do find yourself saying but....but...but...
Worth watching if you have seen all the other series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spot on, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Gives us the opportunity to watch over again, as it lost us a few times.
would recommend for everyone to give it a go
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lost season 6, 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
very good am able to watch the whole lot now,really enjoy it.So now we have the dvd can watch again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LOST & FOUND, 10 Nov 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Well it was NEVER going to answer ALL the questions, was it?
All in all an enjoyable watch. Sad it's finished realy.

Given the plot (there was a plot! I'm sure) it probably rates another watch of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Folding Mirrors, 22 Jan 2011
By 
G. Young (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lost - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
(***Possible spoilers ahead***)

We are presented with a story about an Island, the word and its meaning should be considered within the show's mythology; an eye land, the land of the eye, the land of perception, the eye of the mind. The series deals heavily with perception, time and interpretation. What you get out of the series really depends on what you put into (or are prepared to put into) it. Lost poses all the questions worth asking, literally, everything regarding the universe, consciousness and time. The viewer was the unseen character who saw what the Island saw, the writers kept that thread throughout the entire show. Even if you decide, after watching, that you did not enjoy Lost you could at least investigate some of the literary references; Lord of the Flies by William Golding, Everything That Rises Must Converge by Flannery O'Connor, or Island by Aldous Huxley, to name but a few.

Lost was an incredible journey. It was beautifully complex, the ending was symmetrical, reflective and deeply moving on so many levels (emotionally and intellectually) that you need to spend some serious time to consider its meanings. I do not want to give away too much detail but you will (perhaps) find the mirroring of Season Six and the flash sideways particulary intriguing, watch the scenes in the bamboo field and the church very closely. Lost made us think, it made us look at just how deep and complex we are despite the vacuous nature of modern life, it made us think about our perception of time and of consciousness and of our place within both.

Many of the answers were subtle, some were handed out on a plate (some were hated when given) and some require an element of hard work (you have to earn them) and independent thinking. The show is a puzzle and needs to be pieced together but it is all there. I fear many people watched The End and after about three seconds decided it was rubbish (it was really that one scene many people objected to but the church is used as symbolism and as a platform for a moment of transcendance, a moment beyond religion(s), beyond the notions of heaven and time but it was not the first time we were shown this church in Lost...) there is a lot more going on in the flash sideways than mere purgatory. Think of the Light at the heart of the Island, "It is the source; life, death, rebirth." - What element surrounds and ties all these together and is at the heart of the show? Watch LA X again; we are shown the detonation of the bomb twice, that is for a very specific reason(s) - there are two outcomes, both real, think about it. Lost kept the sci-fi elements all the way through the sixth season and blended them with elements faith but you really need to give it some serious thought. I saw the flash sideways as a real place, another dimension related to quantum physics and multi-reality consciousness, a mirror universe inhabited by metaphysical imprints of the characters created in the flash of the jughead detonation and that is the real beauty of the flash sideways - they are left purposely ambiguous.

Key episodes in this Sixth and Final Season are Ab Aeterno, (one of the best in the entire series) Across The Sea, Happily Ever After and Lighthouse. These episodes are rife with hidden and open meanings. The finale, indeed the whole series is open to interpretation but that is the whole point. Such a literary show needs to be approached on the level(s) it was written.

Everything did indeed happen for a reason, every event led to another, so nothing is rendered 'meaningless' as many have claimed of the finale. The crash, the flashbacks - the linear timeline - the flash forwards, (there is the key to the whole show right there; 'time' and the perception and the manipulation of time) the time travel, jughead, the flash sideways, they are all related. Everything you need to know about Lost is inside the show but sometimes you have to dig deep and unearth the treasures by yourself. The main mystery of the Island was revealed in 'Ab Aeterno' and the nature of the heart of the Island within 'Across The Sea' but many people did not like or accept these answers but they were given.

Much of the fabric of Lost is surreal and that is intentional. Some people were looking for scientific, rational answers to mythological, irrational questions. However, if you look at the show from a certain angle, there is a great deal of science (blended with fiction) throughout. The writers were purposely blending reality with the surreal to create that feeling of question and mystery, so one question inevitably led to another and another and another. That is why we watched week after week, season after season, year after year, because we love mystery and they revealed enough without showing everything in glaring, forensic detail, ruining the illusion.

Many of the 'answers' are completely open to interpretation because they are suggested rather than stated and that is the beauty of Lost, it is a very different experience for different people and therefore the experience becomes very personal. If you didn't like the show that is fine but for some of us there is nothing else like it because a rarity came upon us, (along with The Soprano's and Six Feet Under) a tv series that lifted us out of the everyday and the banal and deep into the inner (eye) realm of imagination and enabled us to make the show what we wanted. To give it our own meaning.

I still think the flash sideways 'ending' is a new dimension (not purgatory) created in the white flash, a real place for consciousness and memory to merge from one timeline into another. Like two mirrors slowly folding in on each other. But maybe that's just me...

Finally, the best piece of Lost is left alone, it surrounds the Island now, it glints along the ripples of the water, in creeping tendrils that float and hang upon the vines and the earth.

Mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lost - Season 6 [DVD]
Lost - Season 6 [DVD] by Evangeline Lily (DVD - 2010)
15.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews