Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Irreverent and Brilliant
I've watched bits of this series on TV over many years, but not being able to handle commercial television - all those breaks - I've never sat through a complete episode. But what I had seen looked excellent. So seeing this box collection available I thought I'd go for it. I was not disappointed.

I think you can best describe this as a soap for after the...
Published on 1 Jan 2011 by Barrett Bondon

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mmmmmmmmm maybe i shoud have given it 4 stars?
Well produced and put together load of tosh. Certainly to be enjoyed only, surely, from a certain knowledge you are living a safe distance from such an appalling environment.
Well developed characters, believable storylines (well sort of), and very good acting. But mostly, one is charmed by the humour seeping out of each episode. I watched the entire package over a...
Published on 14 April 2011 by db 54


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Irreverent and Brilliant, 1 Jan 2011
This review is from: Shameless - Series 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
I've watched bits of this series on TV over many years, but not being able to handle commercial television - all those breaks - I've never sat through a complete episode. But what I had seen looked excellent. So seeing this box collection available I thought I'd go for it. I was not disappointed.

I think you can best describe this as a soap for after the watershed. It has the lot: sex, violence, swearing and the list goes on. But the way the writing brings this all together is superb, with a large cast of characters all interwoven with one another. And your definitive anti-hero, Frank Gallagher, usually at the centre of it all. Many a time you find yourself laughing at something totally outrageous and thinking "I shouldn't laugh at that." But you just can't help yourself.

If I was going to be picky I would mention how some of the cast just seem to disappear at the end of a series, never to be seen again. And on the odd occasion when Frank starts moralising. That is one man who really shouldn't moralise to anyone.

This is a must-have box collection. If you've seen it on TV you will know how good it is. If you haven't then you are in for a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars totally shameless, 13 Dec 2010
This review is from: Shameless - Series 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
best series on tv and to get 7 series for a great price is excellent, brilliant postal despatch love them, a must buy for anybody
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic series, 16 Nov 2010
This review is from: Shameless - Series 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
Great british series, takes me back to the good old days!! A little gem of a comedy and drama. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Brilliant Brilliant!!!, 24 Nov 2011
By 
Julie Howard "Joolz" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shameless - Series 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
Oh what can I say - I love Shameless!! Its politically incorrect, violent, humbling and extreamly funny! One of the BEST TV shows on! I missed a few of the earlier episodes so decided to purchase this and watch it from the beginning. If you are one of those people who don't like bad language, drug use, corruption etc etc and are a prude then this show is not for you - check out Downton Abbey it may be more to your liking and itself is a fab show. Anyway back to Shameless - set in the Chatsworth Estate this programme sees the lives of everyday (ish) folk and is amazing! Frank the alcholic and one of the main characters gets himself in to loads of different scrapes and Marty the Pyromaniac (unsure if its spelt correctly) with torretts is very, very funny. You will warm to Lillian the local brothel owner and to many of the other charming Characters. If you want a good weekend in (thats probably how long it will take to watch them all) or if you want to get a gift for someone who has a fantastic sense of humour and is not put of by all of this then this is the present to buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mmmmmmmmm maybe i shoud have given it 4 stars?, 14 April 2011
By 
db 54 (london, uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shameless - Series 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
Well produced and put together load of tosh. Certainly to be enjoyed only, surely, from a certain knowledge you are living a safe distance from such an appalling environment.
Well developed characters, believable storylines (well sort of), and very good acting. But mostly, one is charmed by the humour seeping out of each episode. I watched the entire package over a few weeks and easily came to enjoy and empathise with many of the protagonists.
A series that can never be described as rivetting viewing, but quite enjoyable and well worth the 30 or so I paid for the used boxset. If they go on to film a few more series of Shameless, I probably will seek eventually to pick up a bargain price box set, just to see how things are developing (or more likely deteriorating) on the Chatsworth.
If you have not yet viewed this programme I would recommend you do so, especially as there are currently many boxsets on offer at much reduced prices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Item If You Love Shameless :D, 12 April 2011
This review is from: Shameless - Series 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
Awesome Item
Even includes the new year and christmas special which makes this a bonus
Guaranteed buy for any shameless fan
Rate ***** Fantastic item
Love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 15 Feb 2011
This review is from: Shameless - Series 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
Such a brilliant show! Has me in stitches from beginning to end. Nice to step into somebody elses more chaotic life for a while!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shameless series 1-7 DVD, 19 Sep 2011
This review is from: Shameless - Series 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
Its a great series and exceptional value to get all 7 series. Frank is just such a great character and just about everyone can relate to the going ons of the Gallaghers, if not first hand than from people you know. Far better than the canadian version, they just don't get the true rhythm of a council estate - there's nowhere else like it in the world. If you just want to sit back and laugh, then this is the series to get - but ony if you aren't offended by bad language!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shameless series 1-7,, 11 May 2011
By 
Steven Burns (Northeast, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shameless - Series 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
It has to be one of the best comedies, of course as long as you can stand the swearing! It's not unusual to have DVDs without swearing, however shameless needs the language, this is what makes it so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars undoubtedly shameful, 11 Jun 2010
This review is from: Shameless - Series 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
Besides fantactic what else can I say.
Never having watched the series from the begining I never really knew what I was letting myself in for, but what a surprise I love it.
The delivery of the goods was also pretty impressive released one day I received mine the very next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shameless - Series 1-7 [DVD]
Shameless - Series 1-7 [DVD] by Gerard Kearns (DVD - 2010)
39.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews