Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New blood...
SPOILERS

Having just watched both of Zombie's remakes of the Halloween films, I have to say that I found them immensely satisfying, but H2 seems to come in for more criticism, so I thought I'd concentrate my review on this film.

I've only seen the theatrical version, but have ordered a copy of the vastly different Director's Cut (only available on...
Published on 9 Mar 2011 by Ian Armer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dumb Sequel.
I quite enjoyed Rob Zombie's attempt at the first Halloween. It was sort of ridiculous but you got the impression that Rob Zombie had intended for it to play out that way. This sequel is plain awful though. It just knocks around, seemingly unsure of where it's going to go next whilst regurgitating the best parts from the previous film.
There is also the dumb...
Published 6 months ago by Kezia


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ABYSMAL SEQUEL TO AN INCREDIBLY BAD REMAKE. HAS NO REDEEMING VALUES WHATSOEVER., 13 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halloween II [DVD] (DVD)
THE MOVIE

So I was bold and ordered HALLOWEEN 1 (remake) and 2 together. I did enjoy some of Zombie's previous movies, so why not give his HALLOWEEN reboot a chance?
It turned out to be a complete waste of time and money.
Every remake has to stand up to the original and in this case the remake is just abysmal
HALLOWEEN II (1981) VS. HALLOWEEN II (2009):
- Zombie pumps his remake full with fancy dream sequences and pseudo-psychology, while the original is a straight-forward slasher set almost entirely in the hospital, taking place right after the events of HALLOWEEN 1.
- H2 (1981) was genuinely suspenseful, atmospheric and highly entertaining, H2 (2009) is repetitive, slow-paced and incredibly boring. It fails to stay on track and keeps drifting off in truly annoying dream sequences. Any bit of suspense is killed off by frequently drifting off into the dream world.
- I don't like what they did with the Loomis character in Zombie's H2. Loomis is a real prick. In 1981's H2 his only goal was to stop Myers, in the remake he wants to cash in
on the Myers murders. Most of the movie he spends promoting his book. I don't blame Malcolm McDowell (he does a good job as usual) - it's the script, that totally re-wrote his character.
- Needless to say Jamie Lee Curtis' Laurie Strode is far superior to Scout Taylor-Compton's (she still can't act!). The remake's H2's Laurie is just the dumbest movie hero ever in a movie. Utterly Braindead. I just wished they'd killed her off in the first minute.
- Kill scenes in H2 (1981) are pretty well done and vary. The remake's kills are repetitive and poorly executed. They are shot too quickly to even see what is going on.
HALLOWEEN 2 (2009) is so bad, that even Halloween 3-6 and Resurrection look great in comparison.
Even if you don't compare the remake Part II to the original it still is a very bad movie.
I couldn't wait until the end credits, but this movie goes on forever and ever with a seemingly endless and lame finale. If I were Carpenter I'd sue Zombie for this!
1.0 OUT OF 5.0 STARS

THE DVD

Reviewed version: 2010 Entertainment In Video UK DVD
Feature running time: 102 mins. (Theatrical cut)
Rating: R (MPAA) / 18 (BBFC)
Aspect Ratio: 1.85:1 / 16:9 (anamorphic)
Audio: English 5.1, English 2.0
Subtitles: English SDH
Chapters: 12
Extras: Deleted Scenes, Featurettes, Music Videos.
Region: 2

Picture: B-
Audio: B-
Extras: D

HALLOWEEN I (2007) was released in the UK by Paramount. They at least gace us the Director's Cut. EIV doesn't deem it necessary to release the Director's Cut of Part II, instead providing only the Theatrical cut of the film.
The Director's Cut doesn't include more gore and it doesn't make the movie any better however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dumb Sequel., 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halloween II [DVD] (DVD)
I quite enjoyed Rob Zombie's attempt at the first Halloween. It was sort of ridiculous but you got the impression that Rob Zombie had intended for it to play out that way. This sequel is plain awful though. It just knocks around, seemingly unsure of where it's going to go next whilst regurgitating the best parts from the previous film.
There is also the dumb supernatural stuff with a white horse, Myer's younger self and his dead mum. The sequences just come across as what they are, a poorly constructed attempt to work the dead mum (the actress happens to be married to the director) back into the script.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful Sequel Of The Remake, 20 Dec 2013
By 
Timelord007 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Halloween II [DVD] (DVD)
Positive.
End credits.

Negative.
Were do i start....
1)Awful incoherent mess.
2)Poorly acted.
3)Rubbish dream sequences that make no sense.
4)Pointless sequel to a average remake.

Dvd, Info.
Running Time 100 minutes, Behind the scenes, Trailer.

Trivia.
1)Tyler Mane played Sabbertooth in the original 2000 film X-Men.
2)Danielle Harris played young Jamie the Niece of Michael Myers in Halloween 4 & 5 + the remake & this sequel & appeared in another horror film Urban Legend.
3)Sheriff Bracket played by Brad Dourif is better known as the voice of Chucky in the Child's Play movie's.

Review.
Crap, Dire, Awful.

You want more oh ok then this sequel to the 2007 remake is awful, Not so bad it's good awful oh no so bad i lost 100 minutes of my life awful.

The opening 20 minutes look promising until we realise it's one big dream & ruins any tension built up to this point.

Now we have Michael who after being shot in the head is alive, The dream sequence shows him escaping the ambulance seeing visions of his mother Deborah Myers & a white horse telling Michael Halloween approaching & to bring Laurie home.

Confusing plot point.
As this isn't real his resurrection is a mystery so is this part real & hospital scenes a dream or is it all a dream?, Michael now even weres a coat as he returns to Haddonfield to finish what he started & Kill his sister so she can be reunited in death with there mum.

There are some warped imagery in this film that has no place in a Halloween movie & confuse the viewer as Michael sees his the ghost of his dead mother & a white horse several times & one stage his sister on a table echoing the last supper & is to be eaten WTF?.

This film was made very quickly but that's no excuse for shoddy camera angles & pointless dream sequences, As a fan of horror & Halloween films i want to see Michael Myers terryfing the town of Haddonfield not spending half the movie in a pointless dream sequence & the other half in fantasy land seeing white horses & his ghostly mum.

I can't even praise the kills as they non inventive & shot so fast & rapid the viewer can't see what's going on.

Malcolm McDowell returns as Doctor Loomis cashing in on Michaels reign of terror by releasing a book about him but it's obvious Mr McDowell's there just for the paycheck, Phoning in his performance which is a shame as he's a good actor, Mr McDowell isn't a patch on the original movie's Donald Plesance as Doctor Loomis who was magnetic & captivating in his performances.

This movie concludes with a daft ending with Michael stabbed to death by Laurie & then Laurie is commited gone insane due to the recent trauma that Michael has brought upon her & now she starts seeing her mum & the white horse as her brother once did.

Rom Zombie returns to direct this sequel to his remake & quoted he made this sequel to take the characters in another direction, Well he successfully done that as he sent them off the rails over the cliff into oblivion.

This films on par with Jason Goes To Hell as clueless sequels going against there roots as Michael is nothing like the shapes character of the original film.

Infact i have seen far better fan films on You Tube who care about the character than this load of tosh.

Pointless drivel & utter tripe save 100 minutes of your life & give this a miss & stick to Halloween, Halloween 2 1981, Halloween H20 as there the best three in the franchise.

Timelord Rating.
1/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as scary as originals, 4 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halloween II [DVD] (DVD)
The 1st remake I enjoyed but this sequel lacked something Michael Myers just didn't seem scary anymore not a patch on the original films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hell of a film more like!, 17 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: Halloween II [DVD] (DVD)
Oh Dear!
Im probably missing the point, BUT Hollywood must be pretty scant of writers if this is what to expect.

Having seen the remake of Halloween and must admit pleasantly surprised, I waited with baited breath to watch this. I should have known there was trouble when the film went on sale with barely a whisper, well to me anyway.

At the begining we are (like the original Halloween II) back at the end of Halloween. We then go to the Hospital, as in the original..... looking good so far. BUT! No. Wait its all a dream. Michael is alive, and living on a farm somwhere biding his time, while a white horse?, his mother?? and a younger version of himself ???, kindly oblige Michael with the order that Laurie (his sister) is well.... ripe for a slice.

He then goes back to Haddonfield to carry out his work. Meanwhile Dr Loomis (a completely different character from the original)is busy trying to sell his book about Michael Myers, (I get the distinct impression that Loomis isn't particularly interested in Michael, except for a little cash flow, whereas the original Dr. at least tried to stop him and basically made this his lifes' work at doing so), Michael meanwhile carrys out his mum and other selfs wishes until the ultimate confrontation occurs at the old house - Loomis presumably dies, Laurie lives and Michael dies. The End .... or so we all hope. Some things are best left alone, and this .... well .... not impressed, just say that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars what a time waste! shame!, 2 Jun 2011
This review is from: Halloween II [DVD] (DVD)
again mr rob zombie ruined yet another halloween film! .. this has got to be one of the worst sequels i seen! changing yet again so many things! for example halloween 2 original is based in a hospital! this one starts off quite good as it looks like it picks up in a hospital where he does a few gruesome killings and proceeds to go after laurie strode! however this is just a dream she's having and wakes up blah blah blah! ... through the film yo dont see micheal much (not in his mask anyway) except when he's walking through fields doig totally sod all!! .. real real bad and if i was you i wouldnt even give it the time or day! shame really he could of made these films a modern day classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Messy and confused., 3 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halloween II [DVD] (DVD)
Clearly the result of a rushed production and a complete conflict of direction on the part of the director. Slasher / supernatural / psycho drama? Rob Zombie is obviously uncertain and awkward scenes are splashed across the narrative in a slapdash order with little structure or thought of motive. The assault on the bar is pointless as are the majority of the killings. A mile away from the first Halloween and probably the end of the franchise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars another zombie nightmare, 2 Mar 2010
By 
simon gurney (london United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Halloween II [DVD] (DVD)
Halloween 2 is a horrible movie, it feel like watching a serious of unrelated film school shorts badly thrown together, and trying too hard to be deep and meaningful. Scout Taylor-Compton is one of the worst and most irritating actresses conceivable, and just adds to the mess that is this movie, after a few minutes of her screeching its hard not to want her to meet her end as rapidly as possible. absolute rubbish, even worse than Zombies awful remake of Halloween.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars please dont waste your money!!, 28 April 2012
This review is from: Halloween II [DVD] (DVD)
I dont usually leave reviews on here but after purchasing this film recently and watched it last night i cant help but make a comment.I read alot of some good reviews for halloween 2 on here and thought "was we watching the same film. I thought the first remake was bad but this was terrible i wont give the story away but Its just far fetched tripe and not a patch on the originals please please dont waste your money on this film you ll be sourly disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Watchable but poorly executed, 21 Dec 2009
By 
D. Climo - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Halloween II [DVD] (DVD)
Halloween 2007 was a remake that I rather liked even though it made some rather big changes in the way it told the original story of Michael Myers (i.e: showing what actually made him become the tormented psychopathic serial killer that he would later become and also delved more into the psychitraic sessions between him and Dr Loomis), it was still merely a story (very gory one) that was merely getting from A to B is the best way to describe it with some average-good acting.

Now onto the 2009 sequel, Halloween 2. Again it's a story getting from A to B but this time the writers stupidly put in C (the Dream Sequences, I suppose they felt these scenes would replace the ones between Michael and Dr Loomis but these scenes soon got very irritating as they just repeatedly jump out of no where) The ending hardly makes any sense (the only way it does is if you remember a scene in the middle which is a replica of the opening murder scene from episode 1 but this time with a different character. Some characters like Dr Loomis are now completely re-written. Acting Average-good again but hey it's a slasherfest. There is some fun and scares in the film, it's just a shame that the end product has been executed so badly. Hopefully Halloween 3 will improve upon this mess (I mean this in the right sense).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Halloween II [DVD]
Halloween II [DVD] by Rob Zombie (DVD - 2010)
2.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews