Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loud, extreme and surprisingly good
I went into this expecting to see... well, basically what's been described so many people here. Mindless, extreme action. Sometimes, that's what you want to watch, sometimes it isn't. Today, I was curious.

One of the first things that struck me (besides the use of 'teabagging' as seen in various FPSes) was how video game violence translates to "real film"...
Published on 21 Mar 2010 by Magnus Hølvold

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Running Man for the attention deficit generation
**** spoilers ****

Basically, Gamer is a reworking of The Running Man - death-row inmates are given the option to participate in an ultra-violent combat game, with the chance (ha-ha - as if!) of winning their freedom. The twist here is that boo-hiss villain Ken Castle (played with relish by Michael C Hall) is into a little nanotechnology mind-control. It's...
Published on 25 Mar 2011 by Cartimand


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loud, extreme and surprisingly good, 21 Mar 2010
By 
Magnus Hølvold "Magnulus" (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gamer [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I went into this expecting to see... well, basically what's been described so many people here. Mindless, extreme action. Sometimes, that's what you want to watch, sometimes it isn't. Today, I was curious.

One of the first things that struck me (besides the use of 'teabagging' as seen in various FPSes) was how video game violence translates to "real film". Gamer is the most effective translation of video gaming to film, and it made me realise just how horrific some of the things we find hilarious and awesome in our games would be in a more realistic medium. Body parts go flying, heads are blown off, and every step of the way, the game/film connection felt very deliberate and fairly powerful at times.

The social commentary is not very deep or subtle, but it's interesting and probably not as far from the truth as one would want to think. The film goes to extremes because it tries to portray the extremes of humanity in a world where Second Life and Modern Warfare are real. It's not, as one reviewer here calls it, a misogynistic and homophobic film.

Visually, it's as over-the-top as everything else in the film. The jittery, jolted imagery is meant to convey the game world and succeeds some of the time and fails miserably some of the time. Most of the time, it works just about enough for me to roll with it without making too much of a fuss. The Kingdom was much worse in my opinion.

Perhaps I just had really low expectations. Perhaps I'm a braindead dimwith. Whatever the case, I quite enjoyed Gamer.

Tarkovsky, Kubrick or Kaurismaki this ain't. Don't expect it to be a ponderous, slow-moving meditation on the devaluation of human life like Moon. Expect it to be a crazy, extreme belly-roar about how human life is worth flick-all these days. Take it for what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Running Man for the attention deficit generation, 25 Mar 2011
By 
Cartimand (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Gamer [DVD] (DVD)
**** spoilers ****

Basically, Gamer is a reworking of The Running Man - death-row inmates are given the option to participate in an ultra-violent combat game, with the chance (ha-ha - as if!) of winning their freedom. The twist here is that boo-hiss villain Ken Castle (played with relish by Michael C Hall) is into a little nanotechnology mind-control. It's loud, it's trashy, with lots of shaky-cam effects and seriously (I mean nausea-inducingly) strobing, quick-changing images. There's plenty of OTT action - some impressive and some downright silly - can you really run a car on alcohol-tinged vomit and urine?. Butler, although somewhat hamstrung by the whimsical script, does a decent enough job, but he was put to far better use in 300 and Beowulf and Grendal.

It's all a bit soulless though. We all know that the baddy will get his comeuppance - conveniently broadcast for the media-hungry public to see (once again a la Running Man) and loving family man Butler will earn his reward, but did I really care? Not much, to be honest.

It's not as clever as it thinks it is and certainly not as good as the films it seeks to emulate (as well as The Running Man, I detected some hat-tips to the original Rollerball and The Matrix). Leave your brain at home though and go with the flow and Gamer's crazy ride should just about keep you entertained for 90 minutes - special mention to the utterly off-the-wall song and dance routine just before the grand showdown!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Butler's Got Game, 31 Jan 2014
By 
timelord007 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gamer [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Blu ray, Region 2/B, Running time 95 minutes.

Trivia.
1)Michael C'Hall is better known for his long running serial killer series Dexter.
2)Sam Witwer played Davis Bloome/Doomsday in Season 8 of Smalville & StarKiller in the two The Forced Unleashed video games as well as Aiden in the US version of Being Human.
3)Logan Lerman is best known for his Percy Jackson movies.
4)Terry Crews star's as Hale Ceaser in the 3 Expendable movies.
5)Milo Ventimiglia starred as Peter Petrelli in Tv show Heroes & Rockys son Robert Balboa in the film Rocky Balboa.
6)Directors Mark Neveidine & Brian Taylor credits include Crank & Crank 2 & Ghost Rider Spirit Of Vengeance.
7)Keith David voices the Slayers commercial.

Review.
In the future death row convicts are controlled by user's in a mind controlling doom laden environment of brutality & survival game called Slayers which is created by Ken Castle a reclusive billionaire who allows millions of user's to use there convict avatars in a brutal life & death viewed by a audience of millions all over the world.

30 wins will allow the convicts freedom from there incarceration but nobody has yet succeeded in accomplishing 30 straight wins but will teenager Simon who's so far unbeaten with his avatar Kable who he leads to victory weekly be the first to player to achieve 30 wins.

Kable is seeking his freedom as he's nears his 30 matches which will allow Kable to finally be set free or will he?

What is Castles true motives, Will Kable be allowed his freedom & be allowed being reunited with his family & bring Castles brutal combat game Slayers to an abrupt end?

Timelord Thoughts.

This is a full on action shoot em up that doesn't skimp on brutality & hardcore violence.

Gerard Butler stars as Kable a convict avatar who seeks his freedom from this brutal game of combat & be reunited with his family who he was kidnapped from & imprisoned to play Slayers.

Butler is excellent in his action man roles & really delivers the action goods in this movie with this, 300 & Olympus Has Fallen, Butler's carving out a decent set of very good action movies.

Michael C'Hall is fine as Ken Castle a lunatic Billionaire who won't allow Kable his freedom gives a menacing charming performance.

The action is wildly over the top arm's, Limbs & heads are blown to pieces & this film can't be taken seriously but it is very entertaining if you switch your brain off for 95 minutes & go with it you might be surprised how much you enjoy the movie.

A beer & pizza Friday night movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dexter like you've never seen him before, 15 Aug 2013
This review is from: Gamer [DVD] (DVD)
Okay, I know that this is really a `Gerard Butler' film, but you can't talk about Gamer without mentioning TV's most charming serial killer, Dexter (played by Michael C Hall). Here, we see a side of him which wouldn't be seen dead in Miami Metro PD. He talks with a southern US accent, sings and dances while he brainwashes hordes of badguys to do his bidding - he really lets his `dark passenger' run wild!

But anyway, enough of the baddie. We're really here to watch Gerard Butler as a convict who's forced to allow himself to be controlled by a computer game playing kid in a violent game of death. And it is violent.

The shoot outs are pretty well done and there's plenty of action and sexual depravity to keep the (mainstream) masses amused.

Don't expect too much in the way of a story or character development, but were you really thinking there would be in a Gerard Butler film (bless him)?

It's style over substance. Which is a bad thing if you're looking for a deep and meaningful film. However, I was expecting rampant bloodshed and plenty of fighting and I got just that (plus Dexter behaving like he was on drugs). What more could I wish for? Well, apart from a coherent plot, but, hey, you can't have everything in life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You may love it or you may loathe it but..., 17 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gamer [DVD] (DVD)
This film is one of the kind people may love or loath completely, depending on which side they're on. IMO I find it a little distopic Sci-Fi gem, being all based on the freaky question: What if virtual reality could substitute the actual one we live in or,even worse, was manipulated by a mean yet powerful despot-like bloke?
As for the item itself,I can say this dvd is brilliant, featuring a very good picture and sound quality as well as very accomplished performances by the cast. One of Gerard Butler's best efforts and a film I recommend to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Style over substance, 15 Feb 2012
This review is from: Gamer [DVD] (DVD)
Gamer follows an interesting idea of giving criminals a chance to leave prison providing they survive being a 'character' in a shoot 'em up game, however, if they lose, they die. It does remind me heavily of the superior Schwarzenegger movie The Running Man, but with the main difference being that Gamer is based on a mixture of putting a human in a videogame. Unfortunately, whilst an interesting idea, it isn't that well executed. Some of the dialogue is hammy, the acting is rather lacklustre and the effects feel over-stylised for what is actually needed, losing what should be a tense feel to Butler's character. Still, it has enough moments in it to make it a low-end rental due to some of the more frenetic scenes being well executed and its fast pace. 2.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Dire, 14 April 2014
By 
Mr. Kenneth W. Roper "Elvis and Alabama fan" (Kidlington England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gamer [DVD] (DVD)
This is dire, correction way beyond dire, if its in a buy one get one free deal leave this on the shelf, better still take it and place it in the best place for it, the nearest dustbin to save some other poor sap buying it. The Director seems to believe that filling the screen with obscure CGI is entertainment then God above only knows what he'll come up with next, which wouldn't have to be any good to better this pathetic offering. Avoid at all costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gamer, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gamer [DVD] (DVD)
If u like dumb action films with not much focus on story then this is your thing. Gerard Butler and Michael C Hall r gr8
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A rollacoaster ride!!!, 19 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. A. T. Clarke "welsh dragon" (Wattsville,south wales uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gamer [DVD] (DVD)
Gerard Butler in this futuristic thriller,loads of action and fast paced throughout,Some excellent effects too.Keeps you watching to the finish,an enjoyable movie well worth purchasing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This I recommend., 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gamer [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Good movie.
The shipping went smoth and fast.
The parcel was undamaged.
I have enjoyed watching it.
I cancer recommend it to those who like a good action movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae9402a0)

This product

Gamer [DVD]
Gamer [DVD] by Brian Taylor (DVD - 2010)
£3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews