Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "PASS" - Pull the pin / Aim at base of fire / Squeeze lever slowly / Sweeping action
We've had one of these Kidde 1.0 kg extinguishers at home for years, thankfully unused. I've just ordered a new one because after 10 years the recharge indicator indicates recharge is necessary (i.e. cheaper to replace). It looks fine on the wall, the bracket is simple to fix. This 1.0 kg size is adequate for a bin fire or small kitchen emergency. I would say that a fire...
Published on 14 Jan 2012 by AllYouNeedIsNow

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars we ordered a Kidde extinguisher - we received a Fireblitz one
We ordered this Kidde fire extinguisher as it has good reviews from buyers who had actually received the Kidde product, & Kidde is a well known manufacturer, 'the world's largest manufacturer of fire safety products.'

I noted several previous reviewers had found that what they received was not in fact a Kidde product but I assumed, wrongly, that that such a...
Published 12 months ago by G.Bennet


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "PASS" - Pull the pin / Aim at base of fire / Squeeze lever slowly / Sweeping action, 14 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidde KSPS1X Fire Extinguisher Multi Purpose 1.0kg ABC (DIY & Tools)
We've had one of these Kidde 1.0 kg extinguishers at home for years, thankfully unused. I've just ordered a new one because after 10 years the recharge indicator indicates recharge is necessary (i.e. cheaper to replace). It looks fine on the wall, the bracket is simple to fix. This 1.0 kg size is adequate for a bin fire or small kitchen emergency. I would say that a fire blanket is more important to have, or buy both. A smoke alarm is more important than either, so get that first!

This is useful: How to use your extinguisher:

Remember the PASS Word
Stand 6 to 8 feet away from the fire and follow the four-step PASS procedure recommended by National Fire Protection Association:

P - Pull the pin and hold the extinguisher with the nozzle pointing away from you.
A - Aim low at the base of the fire.
S - Squeeze the lever slowly and evenly to discharge the extinguishing agent. (When the agent first hits the fire, the fire may briefly flare up. This should be expected.)
S - Sweep the nozzle from side to side, moving carefully toward the fire. Keep the extinguisher aimed at the base of the fire.

Only use your extinguisher after making sure:
All residents of the home have been evacuated to safety.
The fire brigade has been notified.
There is a clear exit behind the person using the extinguisher.
Use your extinguisher only to keep a small self-contained fire from growing, only when the room is not filled with smoke, or to create a safe pathway out of the home. Read the instructions and become familiar with your fire extinguisher's parts and operation before a fire breaks out.

Fire extinguishers are only one element of a complete fire survival plan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars we ordered a Kidde extinguisher - we received a Fireblitz one, 25 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidde KSPS1X Fire Extinguisher Multi Purpose 1.0kg ABC (DIY & Tools)
We ordered this Kidde fire extinguisher as it has good reviews from buyers who had actually received the Kidde product, & Kidde is a well known manufacturer, 'the world's largest manufacturer of fire safety products.'

I noted several previous reviewers had found that what they received was not in fact a Kidde product but I assumed, wrongly, that that such a problem would have been fixed. It has not been.

What we received was a '1Kg ABC Dry Powder Fire Extinguisher with Bracket' made by a 5-yr old Kent company called Fireblitz.

Their product is for sale on amazon under its true identity (at a higher price!). It has no reviews. But, checking out Fireblitz, it does seem they make reliable products. It is the sort of extinguisher we wanted. So we decided to keep it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars wrongly presented product, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidde KSPS1X Fire Extinguisher Multi Purpose 1.0kg ABC (DIY & Tools)
It's not what it says it is which is a problem for a safety item. It is not Kidde. The image for this product is incorrect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong extinguisher, 9 May 2013
This review is from: Kidde KSPS1X Fire Extinguisher Multi Purpose 1.0kg ABC (DIY & Tools)
Just have to say that a different extinguisher turned up. It wasn't a Kidde one. I should have trusted the previous reviews that stated this problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1 kg Fire Extinguisher, 9 Sep 2011
By 
Satisfied Customer (Gloucestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kidde KSPS1X Fire Extinguisher Multi Purpose 1.0kg ABC (DIY & Tools)
Difficult to review this item as the last thing one wants is to use it in a real emergency situation. Luckily we have not had that unwanted opportunity to use it, but I am confident that should there be a fire in the house, this extinguisher would be a great help to put the fire out. It is easy to fit, easy to remove from its base, and it has a pressure gauge to indicate when the extinguisher should be replaced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't be taken in, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidde KSPS1X Fire Extinguisher Multi Purpose 1.0kg ABC (DIY & Tools)
I was very disappointed with the item. was not KIDDE Fire Extinguisher at all. A total con leave well alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Home Safety, 12 Aug 2011
By 
Owen Power (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidde KSPS1X Fire Extinguisher Multi Purpose 1.0kg ABC (DIY & Tools)
I purchased this because of the recent concerns some Beko fridge/freezers were faulty and might be a fire hazzard and my fridge was on the list. While Beko promptly arranged for the fridge to have a safety check nonetheless, I think every home should have an extinguisher in case of electrical fires due to a fault in freezers, washing machines, PCs and all the rest of the electrical goods that we have at home. The extinguisher was delivered very promptly and the instructions for use are clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT a kidde extinguisher and a pain to return., 14 May 2013
By 
This review is from: Kidde KSPS1X Fire Extinguisher Multi Purpose 1.0kg ABC (DIY & Tools)
This is NOT as advertised. It is not a Kidde extinguisher. You'll get another random make.

I returned mine. If something could save your life, you want to be able to rely on it, in my opinion. And if like me, you work unpredictable hours and days, it could be a pain to return. They send you a prepaid label in the post, but you have to say what day you want to take it to the post office, as it's valid for one day only. A real pain all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1.0kg ABC Fire Extinguisher, 11 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidde KSPS1X Fire Extinguisher Multi Purpose 1.0kg ABC (DIY & Tools)
Superb value for money, and peace of mind, your never know, great to have this handy, ordering another one for the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the product ordered, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidde KSPS1X Fire Extinguisher Multi Purpose 1.0kg ABC (DIY & Tools)
The Kidde extinguisher ordered was substituted for an inferior brand without my prior knowledge or seeking my consent. It's arrogance to suppose that this substitution is in some way permissible - it isn't! The return option offered, though convenient for FastCarDirect, was entirely impractical and inconvenient for me. I really resent the fact that I, the customer, would have had to go completely out of my way to rectify FastCarDirect's blatently bad service. Given that this has obviously been the experience of countless other customers, I'm surprised and disappointed that Amazon allows it to continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews