Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars solar pull torch
What a great idea. You sometimes neeed a torch when you least expect it and can never find one, but with this, you just eave it on a windowsill to charge the solar panel so you always know where it is, it doesen't take up much room. If for some reason it has not charged because someone has moved it out of the daylight, just give the cord a few pulls and you're away, it...
Published on 29 Dec 2010 by Jenny R

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars JonM
I ordered three of these for Christmas presents. One works beautifully (you can test whether it works without removing the packaging). All well and good.

The other two do not work at all (through either solar or hand dynamo charging per manufacturer's instructions). Due to the volume of orders Amazon have at 12th Dec (when I discovered that the items don't...
Published on 12 Dec 2011 by JonM


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars solar pull torch, 29 Dec 2010
This review is from: Lighthouse 3LEDPULL Solar Powered Torch with Pull Cord (DIY & Tools)
What a great idea. You sometimes neeed a torch when you least expect it and can never find one, but with this, you just eave it on a windowsill to charge the solar panel so you always know where it is, it doesen't take up much room. If for some reason it has not charged because someone has moved it out of the daylight, just give the cord a few pulls and you're away, it works. Great, reasonabkle priced torch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars JonM, 12 Dec 2011
This review is from: Lighthouse 3LEDPULL Solar Powered Torch with Pull Cord (DIY & Tools)
I ordered three of these for Christmas presents. One works beautifully (you can test whether it works without removing the packaging). All well and good.

The other two do not work at all (through either solar or hand dynamo charging per manufacturer's instructions). Due to the volume of orders Amazon have at 12th Dec (when I discovered that the items don't work) a replacement is unlikely before Christmas so I've had to substitute alternative gifts for the other intended recipients.

Given the poor reliability of the product (four separate items are reported dead on arrival in the small number of reviews here if this review is published) I've gone for a refund rather than replacement to save for future presents.

I'd seriously consider de-listing something that is so demonstrably unreliable, or failing this Amazon, please test it yourself before shipping (and only send out the good ones) so that customer time is not wasted returning stuff that should not have shipped in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use Lighthouse torch, 16 Jan 2011
This review is from: Lighthouse 3LEDPULL Solar Powered Torch with Pull Cord (DIY & Tools)
I bought this torch for a present as I already had one. I find the solar charge holds well and the pull cord is so easy to use compared to a wind up type. It fits nicely in the hand and is ideal for an emergency torch, the led bulbs limiting its power when a really bright torch is needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars precision in hand!, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lighthouse 3LEDPULL Solar Powered Torch with Pull Cord (DIY & Tools)
Our original solar torches finally seem to be coming to the end of their efficient life and they are no longer available in the market place. They have given us a good run for our money but trying to find replacements has been very frustrating, to say the least! There seem to be too many alternatives with mountains of small cheap ones, and some we bought from Maplins for our two small grandsons did not last very long. However, I finally took the plunge and ordered on of these. What a surprise! It is so precisely made, definitely a piece of quality engineering! It is a pleasure to look at and use with it's dual funtion charging. I only hope that it gives us as much reliable service as it's looks promises. Only time will tell but it has been a good start! Oh yes, the old torches have the batteries, which are getting tired, wired in. This little gem allows you to very easily change the battery, when required, with the turn of a penny in a slot, another well thought out design element.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Green Light, 16 Sep 2011
This review is from: Lighthouse 3LEDPULL Solar Powered Torch with Pull Cord (DIY & Tools)
Received this very quickly and it seems an excellent eco-friendly little torch.

It worked straight out of the packaging, and with a pleasantly bright beam. The pull out action was very smooth and easy. The torch sits snugly in the hand and is not heavy.

I've got it sitting on the windowsill now, and it's reassuring to know that I don't need to worry about batteries any more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real Ecofriendly torch, 3 Sep 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lighthouse 3LEDPULL Solar Powered Torch with Pull Cord (DIY & Tools)
This torch is great. It is Ecofriendly without the cranking handle, and a good bright beam of light. I have been using this torch a lot since it arrived and not once using the pullcord charger, just the solar power unit. Leave it on a windowsill during the day and it's ready for night use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Try something else, 29 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lighthouse 3LEDPULL Solar Powered Torch with Pull Cord (DIY & Tools)
Bought this because I have one same design from Muji, which I think is brilliant--always charged from solar cell, very bright and useful, ring pull much easier than winder--unfortunately Muji don't seem to make them anymore, so have been searching for an alternative. This one doesn't seem to charge from solar cell unless in direct sunlight and, though easy to charge from ring pull, never get bright enough to be much use. My suggestion--try a different brand
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Does not work, 26 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lighthouse 3LEDPULL Solar Powered Torch with Pull Cord (DIY & Tools)
On receipt of this item put it outside to charge in full sunlight. After 3 hrs switched it on and nothing happened. After using the pull cord generator for 20mins and still no light chucked it in the bin.
Total waste of money and about as much use as a "Solar Powered Torch"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some quality issues, 28 Sep 2011
This review is from: Lighthouse 3LEDPULL Solar Powered Torch with Pull Cord (DIY & Tools)
Looks like a great product but mine arrived and did not work at all. Looking at the other 5 or 6 reviews here that makes 2 out of 6 which just did not work ! Might just be a coincidence but it looks like this product has a serious quality control issue. So - take your chances all. Product looks great - which one are you going to get - the dead one or the perfect one ! Only other comment is that the cable for the pull handle looks scarily weak - probably ok for someone being careful but my bet is that this would break fairly easily and you would be back to relying on the solar charger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Battery does not hold charge., 15 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lighthouse 3LEDPULL Solar Powered Torch with Pull Cord (DIY & Tools)
The battery in the product does not seem to hold any charge. I pulled the cord for 2 mins, switched it on and a very dim light appeared for about a second and then faded. Avoid this product, I am returning it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews