Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE definitive Ferry collection
This CD collection contains the majority of Ferry's hits spanning four decades.It concentrates on his solo career which ran in tandem with his Roxy Music work in the 1970s.Bryan Ferry is possibly the most accomplished musician alive at producing cover versions that become definitive in their own right.Bob Dylan fan's might disagree but,his version of 'A hard rains a-gonna...
Published on 21 Oct 2009 by Mr. Bernard Brannigan

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic from the early Indie movement
Lovely selection of one of our most innovative singer's work. His slightly fragile, tender, vibrato voice keeps him in the 'Indie' genre. I personally prefer ' The best of Roxy Music album which I also purchased on Amazon.
Published 16 months ago by someone


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE definitive Ferry collection, 21 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. Bernard Brannigan "Bernie Brannigan" (Belfast,Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This CD collection contains the majority of Ferry's hits spanning four decades.It concentrates on his solo career which ran in tandem with his Roxy Music work in the 1970s.Bryan Ferry is possibly the most accomplished musician alive at producing cover versions that become definitive in their own right.Bob Dylan fan's might disagree but,his version of 'A hard rains a-gonna fall'is THE version to beat(similarly with his cover of 'Jealous Guy' with Roxy Music).Ferry is also a consumate crafter of his own tunes.Sadly 'Sign of the times'is not present on either audio or DVD version in this collection.This song is an underrated masterpiece by Ferry and the video(as seen on 'The Kenny Everett Video show' at the time)was one of his best.'Can't let go' is present to represent the excellent 'The bride stripped bare' album on the CD(this is Ferry's song about the alienation he felt while living in LA); while it is represented by 'What goes on'(a Lou Reed cover)on the DVD.'Bete Noire' is represented by two tracks 'Limbo' and 'Kiss and Tell'.The version of 'Limbo' on this album is the original and best(rather than the rather pared down and drumbeat heavy single version).I have always felt that 'Limbo' is one of Ferry's most underrated songs and should have been a solo number 1 hit for him!
The real treats for committed fans of Ferry are the 2 previously unheard tracks:'I don't want to go on without you' which is a song originally recorded by The Drifters and,'Fool for Love'(from the 'Frantic' album) in a previously unheard vocals and piano only version.It is in the stripped down versions of Ferry's songs that you can really appreciate his songwriting craft.Again,it would have been nice if the vocals/piano version of 'The only face' could have been included as this is by far the most beautiful version of the song;even better that that on his collaboration with Jools Holland.
Turning to the DVD ,this is where many of the gems in this collection are.Promo videos such as 'Girl of my best friend'and'Don't want to know'have rarely been seen.Another highlight is Ferry's rendition of 'Positively 4th street'from the BBC's 'The Culture Show';Ferry takes Dylan's song expressing anger and turns it around 90 degrees into one of regret.
All in all an excellent collection from an artist that has never failed to innovate from the 70s through to the 00s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazon tracklisting incorrect, 15 Feb 2010
By 
Caligula (George, Western Cape South Africa) - See all my reviews
Great set, but DVD only contains first 25 tracks as indicated by Amazon, not 28 as listed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All favourites on this CD., 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Bryan Ferry (Audio CD)
All good songs some not heard for ages,saw him in concert last week and was fab so glad bought the CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Bryan Ferry, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Bryan Ferry (Audio CD)
Excellent value. Wonderful songs on this album.
I am very pleased with purchase and will recommend album to friends.

Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Almost, but not quite........................?, 25 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Best of Bryan Ferry (Audio CD)
A pretty good retrospective and it almost earned 5 stars except for a couple of issues. It inevitably happens when artists have previously released Best Of's etc. The Rolling Stones and U2 remain the main protagonists though! To induce sales previously unreleased or different versions make an appearance which in the case of Bryan Ferry is a shame given the extent of his back-catalogue. Mind you I had forgotten how good the early singles were (Let's Stick Together & The In Crowd in particular), so I can't really complain too much. All it needed for 5 stars was the inclusion of my all time favourite - 'Another Time, Another Place' from his 2nd solo album. Never mind though as that was rectified when it was downloaded from Amazon - job done. Now my own version for the car is how it should have been. That said it's still a good value sampler from the king of cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 29 Jan 2014
By 
Mrs. Sa Perowne (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Bryan Ferry (Audio CD)
Always been a very fan of this singer and his music and to have so many favourites on one cd is a real bonus
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars exquisite, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Bryan Ferry (Audio CD)
A master of vocals as far as I'm concerned and a must for anyone who is delving into Bryan Ferry for the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FAB, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
FABulous - fantastic - Most of the DVD clips I had not seen before - Very good sound as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My sister absolutely adores this man and would marry him ..., 22 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Bryan Ferry (Audio CD)
My sister absolutely adores this man and would marry him tomorrow if possible. I bought this CD for one of her birthdays because I haven't seen it in her collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent collection, worth it for the DVD disc, 11 Feb 2010
By 
Og Oggilby "Og Oggilby" (North London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another year, another Bryan Ferry 'Best Of'. Like any successful artist who's enjoyed a long career, Ferry (and his sometime chums, Roxy Music), are now in one of those invidious positions of having more compilations out than original albums. If that sounds cynical, it's not meant to - it's just what record companies do. Ferry apparently has a new album ready to go sometime in 2010 (ever the procrastinator, the release date has already moved from March to the late Spring or Summer), and this album was put out pre-Christmas 2009 to raise Ferry's profile in advance of the new release. However, it performed poorly, sales-wise, which doesn't necessarily augur well for how the new album will do - perhaps Ferry has become a victim of over-saturation of the marketplace with compilations. That being said, there's nothing wrong with the music on this collection, and the DVD is worth it, featuring some rarely seen promo clips amongst the hits. The booklet isn't up to much, frankly, and although it has the air of being somewhat hashed together, it still rates highly to me because of the undoubted crafted quality of the recordings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best of Bryan Ferry
The Best of Bryan Ferry by Bryan Ferry (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews