Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Items
The fob watch looks alright, kind of like the Master's one except for the 'aluminium brushed looks like' which place it in a 'cool but not as great as it could be' category. But still amazing, come on, it's the Master Fob watch. The carving are really nice, and the lightning effects are pretty and do their little effect. Just one regret, in fact, the manual isn't really...
Published on 28 Sept. 2012 by Hunter

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Looks cheap and nasty.
With some items you think 'the photos don't really do it justice.'

In this case, the publicity photos make the watch look vastly better than it really is.

The zinc alloy material looks VERY cheap and nasty. The entire face of the watch is made of bright polished metal, which in practice makes it quite difficult to tell the time.

I can...
Published on 22 Dec. 2010 by Steampunk


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Looks cheap and nasty., 22 Dec. 2010
By 
Steampunk "JS" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dr Who MASTERS FOB WATCH (Toy)
With some items you think 'the photos don't really do it justice.'

In this case, the publicity photos make the watch look vastly better than it really is.

The zinc alloy material looks VERY cheap and nasty. The entire face of the watch is made of bright polished metal, which in practice makes it quite difficult to tell the time.

I can only presume that you're paying a VERY inflated premium for the official DR WHO association, because as a watch this is wildly over-priced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disapointing, 7 Jan. 2010
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dr Who MASTERS FOB WATCH (Toy)
This replica is neither an actual replica of the screen used watch or a really durable real watch for everyday use. But the most disapointing thing about this watch is the fact that it is exactly the same as the Limited Edition save for the edition numbers on the back. Anyone who bought the Ltd version is going to be hugely upset that they are now churning out more, non limited versions.

The watch is well made, although you do wonder why non licenced versions are better made than this for virtually the same price. The light up dial is nice, but the button to activate it is just annoying and protrudes too far and is in a daft place. It is very difficult to tell the time on this watch too as the hands just blend in to the dial completely and you end up angling the face towards the light so that the reflection on the hands makes them stand out. The glass is acrylic as are most pocket watch glasses, but as this is full hunter, no problem with that. It is light and feels inexpensive, and the outer pattern seems stamped rather than etched into the metal, which also appears inexpensive and tinny.

I wish they would release the Doctors version and address these problems, as for the price you can get a better made replica elsewhere, which is a shame as the licenced versions should be leading the way, not lagging far far behind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars My Son just loves it., 31 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dr Who MASTERS FOB WATCH (Toy)
My Son was desperate for this watch, I read some reviews and tried to move him away from purchasing it because he was spending his own pocket money he had saved. I think it is very expensive for what it is, the inside is nice, it lights up and everything, the dial is nice, but the metal it's made of feels cheap and a little 'unfinished'. There are much nicer pocket watches out there for a whole lot less. But that said, he loves it and thinks it is really cool. He is happy and that's what matters most really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Items, 28 Sept. 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dr Who MASTERS FOB WATCH (Toy)
The fob watch looks alright, kind of like the Master's one except for the 'aluminium brushed looks like' which place it in a 'cool but not as great as it could be' category. But still amazing, come on, it's the Master Fob watch. The carving are really nice, and the lightning effects are pretty and do their little effect. Just one regret, in fact, the manual isn't really clear about how to change the hour. Except that, it's a great goodie, especially for a Dr Who one. It's kind of hard finding items of this show and SciFiCollector is the only shop where we can find as much products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do reviewers actually own the product they critique?, 1 Dec. 2009
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dr Who MASTERS FOB WATCH (Toy)
One wonders if some reviewers actually have purchased the product to hand. Perhaps the last one was referring to the Character Options item? Who knows?

It's made from zinc, as descripted. There is a slight deviation from the actual prop - the depressable button on the side for the night light. It's not exactly a 'toy' but an actual working fob watch. As opposed to the plasticky toy version, this is actually smaller, fits nicely into the palm of your hand and is what it is - a pocket watch replica. My particular watch - and I've had it for quite a while BEFORE it was officially released - is quite robust. It's certainly not for swinging about like a child's toy or playing with. So, it is 'robust' enough for using or displaying as a pocket watch.

This is also a re-release from the LTD EDITION of last year. Again, this isn't a toy and is suitably robust enough for purpose. The only criticism I would have is the watch face - it's plastic whereas I would have or expected it to have a glass fascia (but in this world of health and safety perhaps this is why it's plastic?).

For the price I am not going to quibble - it's about right for an affordable replica of a popular TV show ie Doctor Who prop. And is within reach of most to purchase. I have seen some dubious replicas knocking about on Ebay from the Far East claiming to be 'authentic prop replicas' made from metal ... they look more and more like the Character Options version ie plastic and not at all as presented.

I think this item, together with the badge pack (which is ONLY available from Sci-Fi Collector; where I got mine from BTW before it was released on Amazon; ordered direct from them), would make a very nice Christmas present. But it's worth baring in mind that this is NOT a toy but a working watch made from metal/zinc. If you want a toy buy the Character Options version.

And as it's not a toy won't survive being chucked around, that 'robust' factor again, like a toy. Just like any other pocket watched out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleased, 1 Feb. 2010
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dr Who MASTERS FOB WATCH (Toy)
Although the watch is a little smaller than I expected, I still really enjoy it. It does what the description says: it tells time and lights up. Sure the clear case is plastic, but it doesn't really bother me. Overall I quite like the way it looks and performs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's awesome!, 3 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dr Who MASTERS FOB WATCH (Toy)
(This review is by my 10 year old who owns the watch!)
I got this watch for Christmas and I love it! The way that's its a cool Doctor Who watch but that it actually works is the best!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 5 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Dr Who MASTERS FOB WATCH (Toy)
This item was a Christmas present for my daughter, and she LOVED it. The photos didn't do it justice, especially when lit up. The only thing that stops it being a 5* rating is that the chain was very 'cheap looking', but other than that, just, wow. ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and nasty!, 30 Nov. 2009
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dr Who MASTERS FOB WATCH (Toy)
Oh dear, this is a product that is guaranteed to disappoint however owns it; made of low quality materials that are not robust enough for it to be a toy, or detailed enough to be of interest to a collector.

Avoid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dr Who MASTERS FOB WATCH
Dr Who MASTERS FOB WATCH by Underground Toys
£39.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews