Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly recommended
This is quite a a departure from the Daziel and Pascoe books we expect from Hill, but I thoroughly enjoyed this novel set in occupied Paris.
It focuses on a young mother who compromises herself with links to an Abwehr agent in order to secure her husband's return to Paris from a German PoW hospital and to ensure safe passage for her young children to Vichy. The...
Published on 23 Feb 2006 by Jon Mack

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ordinary thriller
A lot of books have been written based in WWII in Europe, but the collaboration of the French, and it's impact on ordinary people, was an interesting slant.

Having said that, the book didn't really catch my imagination until towards the end. I felt that the setting could have been so much more interesting and, in a lot of places, the events happening on the...
Published on 4 Dec 2006 by Janie U


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly recommended, 23 Feb 2006
By 
Jon Mack (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Collaborators (Paperback)
This is quite a a departure from the Daziel and Pascoe books we expect from Hill, but I thoroughly enjoyed this novel set in occupied Paris.
It focuses on a young mother who compromises herself with links to an Abwehr agent in order to secure her husband's return to Paris from a German PoW hospital and to ensure safe passage for her young children to Vichy. The book details the utter self-destruction of Parisian society presided over by the Axis, and the revenge of the Parisian mob against collaborators.
This might sound a bit 'heavy', but the book is characteristically well written and moving. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reginald Hill - The Collaborators, 31 Oct 2005
By 
RachelWalker "RachelW" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Collaborators (Paperback)
This old, republished novel from Hill may surprise many of his fans who only know him through his Dalziel and Pascoe series (though, as he likes to point out, they only constitute half his actual authorial output). A novel of wartime in Paris, it's completely different from almost every other book of his that's readily available. Different in everything but style, adeptness at drawing character, and excellence.
The Collaborators is an intelligent, moving, challenging novel that questions the nature of personal loyalties during war-time. It's written with Hill's usual style, married to a great understanding of human behaviour in times of great trial, and with sly traces of humour (though it's less obvious than some of his most recent D&P novels). Taking place over a period of about 6 years, it may be 450+ hardback pages, but it moves very quickly, and there's never a dull moment. The characters and their complicated relationships, with others and themselves, are extremely well done. It's very different, but very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb - factually accurate and a gripping story, 18 Aug 2007
By 
Gareth Norris (Buckinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Collaborators (Paperback)
The history of France during 1940-45 is complex and much debated, and Reginald Hill's book captures the essence of these complexities very well. Following the plight of a French family and a German Officer posted to Paris during the Occupation, the book covers the history of this period in excellent detail. It picks up on many of the political and sociological issues faced by the French people during this period and how they dealt with them - and indeed how they reacted to the changing prospects of the war. The atrocious realities of the round-ups of French Jews and their subsequent deportation are told with breathtaking clarity. It goes on to draw astute parallels between the defeat of 1940 and the liberation of 1945. The story itself plays brilliantly on how humanity struggled and coped (or didn't cope) with the events of this era, and keeps you guessing right up until the last few pages as to the fate of the main characters. A wonderful, moving, thought-provoking read made the more chilling by its closeness to the reality of the period - the characters may be fictitious but the story is all too real. Definitely recommended - an absolute must to anyone interested in the history of the period. Thank you Mr Hill!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An astute piece of writing, 6 Feb 2013
By 
bookworm "Sue K" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collaborators (Kindle Edition)
I've just started to read Reginald Hill and what a book to start with! His writing style is clear and concise. The story centres around a group of Parisiens who, for one reason or another, decide to collaborate with their Occupiers during WWII - some for purely opportunistic reasons, others simply to save their skin and one woman who is desperate to save her children. The story doesn't deviate from this plot which makes it extremely tight and tense. One of the best books of occupied France I have read in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Collaborators - the story of patriotism juxtaposed with family loyalty, 15 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collaborators (Paperback)
I first read this story in the Readers' Digest collection of novels circa 1992 - yes, way back when! Anyway, to cut to the chase, this novel left an impression on my psyche for the best part of twenty years. I have been searching for this book, and I read this book again, which reaffirmed why it had left such an impression on me.

Janine Simonian is a Parisian shop girl working in her parents' cafe, who married a Jewish man and had two children with him. The Second World War has broken out, the Germans have come to occupy France, which is how she meets Lieutenant Gunther Mai... Her Jewish husband has been injured in the fighting, and her children were nearly shipped off to a concentration camp, with her mother in law. The only way she could help her loved ones was by becoming a Nazi Collaborator...

When one cuts through the lengthy 'gangster dialogue' between the Resistance characters, one is left with a poignant tale of the lengths a human would go to save their loved ones. A must-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars different, 12 Dec 2013
By 
Mrs Lofts "Polly" (Manchester England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collaborators (Paperback)
I am a big Reginald Hill fan especially Dalziel and Pascoe. However, this novel, a departure from the crime novels and set in France during the second world war, was very enjoyable. I have read many similar novels but this was different and interesting. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous read, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collaborators (Kindle Edition)
France during the second world war, the horrors of your country being occupied by another nation and the start of ethnic cleansing and its effect on families. Well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Collaborators has made me want to read every Reginald Hill book., 27 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Collaborators (Kindle Edition)
Quality writing. Well plotted and researched. Enjoyed the story line as not predictable and felt I was actually in France in the second World War. Completely engaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book of two halves, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collaborators (Kindle Edition)
At first I found this book to be a little confusing as it jumps forward in time by, in some cases, many months. I realise it had to do this to cover the time period involved, but a smoother transition would have helped. However it really came alive in the second half building to an intriguing finale. Well worth a read particularly if you are interested in this period of French history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really terrific, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collaborators (Kindle Edition)
I have only read Reginald Hills Dalziel and Pascoe books before. This book is quite different but as usual the writing is terrific and the plot as good as any thriller. Do Buy It.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Collaborators
The Collaborators by Reginald Hill
3.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews