Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Local Natives - The lords of the manor?
4.5 stars

Do you ever find yourself putting put on an album listening to it only once and yet knowing that it is good and going to get better? A rare occurrence admittedly but one which you will experience with the wonderful "Gorilla Manor". The Wolf has comprehensively captured in his excellent review the various elements of what makes this album special...
Published on 3 April 2010 by Red on Black

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too noisy
I heard the music when I went to scool - I was working with clay that day and the music sound very nice.
But now when I listen to the cd, I remembered it different.
It's too noisy.
But maybe I will turn more happy by listening to it. I hope so.
Published 22 months ago by Berit Bekker- berit bekker


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Love this and they are even better live!!!, 8 July 2010
This review is from: Gorilla Manor (Audio CD)
I was going to there gig at Shepard's Bush Empire so wanted to get a little more familiar with there songs. I love this album and they were even better live!!! Amazing atmospher and great entertainers, will go again as well as buy the next cd :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a bit sub fleet foxes, 12 Feb. 2011
By 
Jon A. Crowcroft "mindyourpsandqa" (cambridge, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gorilla Manor (Audio CD)
but very strong songs and arrangements - they do some danged strange things with drums some times....very good - would love to see them live (here's hoping someone books them for glastonbury)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good album, 18 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gorilla Manor (Audio CD)
I bought Hummingbird first and so was slightly disappointed with this album since Hummingbird is such a fantastic album....but I'm getting used to this album. Looking forward to next album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great First Album., 29 Sept. 2013
By 
Kevin Williams "Kev" (Newport, S.Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gorilla Manor (Audio CD)
Heard these guys first on Radio 6 Music, loved their sound straight away, quirky vocals, great harmonies.
Buy immediately. Get 'Hummingbird' too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff, 17 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gorilla Manor (Cd/Dvd) (Audio CD)
Great album, takes a few listens and you can hear some influences coming through, but nothing wrong with that if the point of reference is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Local Natives Album, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gorilla Manor (Audio CD)
I love this album and very happy with my purchase :) I love all the songs and there is also a video of live jamming sessions. Even better (:
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Promising, but in need of some focus, 20 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Gorilla Manor (Audio CD)
Local Natives are a band which arrive with a hyperbole level of hype mostly based upon advanded singles 'Airplanes' and 'Sun Hands', which were both released earlier in the year. The band hail from Los Angeales but the record is named after the building in New England that they spent most of ther time recording (much like Grizzly Bear did with the album 'Yellow House'). Comparisons to the Dodo's, Fleet Foxes and Arcade Fire have been prominant, but it is definetly with the afore-mentioned Grizzly Bear that this band stands mostly beside.

Debut single 'Airplanes' is probably the most indicative song on the album as a whole. It is all layered vocals and crushing percussion with the song's majesty laying in the fact that it never explodes as you think it might, instead it keeps the pace restrained and is all the stronger for it. Unfortunatky the same can't be said of second single 'Sun Hands' which inexplicedly decides to go into a Foals-esque (remember them?) math-rock riffage, this is thankfully one of the few hiccups on an otherwise restrained and mature release for a band so young. Track 5 'Shape Shifter' is a wonderful vocal-led collage of ideas and within it's five-and-a-half minute length goes through more peaks and troughs than Mauna Kea, once again the song gains most of it's strengh through subtle changes and inconsequental percussion. Other highlights include 'Card's And Quaters' and 'Who Know Who Cares' which both feature a wonderful use of strings and in the case of the former, a rolling drum beat that I'm sure Timbaland will try and incorperate into one of his pop-produced songs in the future. The band also find the time to cover the Talking Heads' classic 'Warning Sign' and whilst Local Natives can't manage to better the New Yorker's original, they can at least lay claim to the second best recording of such a faboulous song.

I hope Local Natives are given the time they need to grow and explore their musical pallete because there is a masterpeice within this band which I'm sure with the right amount of time and nurturing they will one day discover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album!, 10 May 2013
By 
A. Ballantyne (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gorilla Manor (Audio CD)
Such a great 'play it over and over and over again' album! Need extra copies for the office, the car and your friends!! Buy at least two!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gorilla Manor....Love It, 2 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gorilla Manor (Audio CD)
Absolutely brilliant first album. Its a real grower that i still count as one of my favourites of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best album 2010, 5 July 2011
This review is from: Gorilla Manor (Audio CD)
For me this was by a whisker the best album of 2010. Mr Wolf as usual sums it up... GLORIOUS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gorilla Manor
Gorilla Manor by Local Natives
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews