Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FireWire 800
If you are looking for a cable to connect your DV video camera to a new iMac, this is a good choice. Good price.
Published on 4 Feb. 2010 by Bjorn Wahlsten

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't work for DV cameras
If used to connect DV camera to Mac, the camera appears to be recognised by OSX, and some controls are available in Adobe Premier, but won't capture, and iMovie does not detect the camera at all.

Found that the similarly priced Belkin cable did work and DV camera is detected by iMovie and imports without any problems - hence it's an issue with this cable, and...
Published 14 months ago by Ed Seymour


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought to imports movies from Mini DV camcorder to MacBook Pro, 15 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CPO 2 m FireWire 800 Cable 9 - 4 Pin - Black and Blue (Accessory)
Purchased this to import home videos from Panasonic NV-DX100 Double Density 3CCD Mini DV camcorder to iMovie on my MacBook Pro. Camcorder has 4-pin output, MacBook has only 9-pin input. Worked very well and a much cheaper solution that you will find elsewhere. Order arrived within a couple of working days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfectly good cable at pretty keen price, 22 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CPO 2 m FireWire 800 Cable 9 - 4 Pin - Black and Blue (Accessory)
No problems with this product - no gold plating on the outer bit of the mini plug, but the contacts appear to be gold plated. No fancy flourishes, perhaps might not stand so many insertions/removals as a costlier cable, but at this price, buy a few just in case. Cables usually die of abuse, rather than old age.

As another reviewer said, be aware of the fact that there are a couple of mini firewire plugs - this is the 4 pin sort, suitable for most firewire camcorders. Worked fine between my macbook pro and an old Canon MV600. Many DV camcorders can function as a webcam when plugged in, which is handy.

Summary - it's a cable, it works fine, it's a really good price and it arrived unfeasibly quickly. Can't fault it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent cable, works with Sony TRV30E connecting to new iMac (late 2012), 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CPO 2 m FireWire 800 Cable 9 - 4 Pin - Black and Blue (Accessory)
Having just purchased a new iMac (late 2012), I wanted to be able to connect a Sony TRV30E camcorder to the new iMac via the Apple Thunderbolt to Firewire adapter.

Having read the very helpful reviews, I just wanted to reiterate, this cable simply works. No other adapters are required, the 9 pin connects perfectly to Apple's Thunderbolt adapter and the 4 pin fits snugly to the Sony camcorder.

When I opened iMovie '11, the camera was seen immediately. If you have a Sony camcorder or 4 pin Firewire connector and want to import DV video into a new iMac, then this is cable is an essential piece of kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Firewire, 7 Feb. 2010
Does exactly what it says on the box - connects effortlessly between video camera and iMacFireWire Cable, 9 pin to 4 pin, 1.8 Meters (6ft), IEEE1394b Rated also known as Sony I Link, used for I Pod / Computers Male to Male
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, 22 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was surprised at the quality of the cable. I was expecting a stiff, cheap, thin cable for the price but was pleasantly surprised that it was of the thick, flexible type. Looks like it'll last for a long time indeed.

Bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great price and no issues with product or delivery, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Needed it to link 2 macs and it did just that with no issues at all. Connectors are snug fit and don't lose connection and the length of cable makes it ideal for me. Good kit and excellent deivery speed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant... Cheap and works..., 9 Feb. 2012
This review is from: CPO 2 m FireWire 800 Cable 9 - 4 Pin - Black and Blue (Accessory)
For years, I looked for something to transfer my videos to my laptop. Shop assistants were not able to help for sure but suggesting complicated, expensive products.
This cable worked for transfering recordings from my Panasonic GS1-NV to Macbook like magic. I did not need to make any setting adjustments neither. Just attach 4 pin end to camcorder (Edit Main/Mini USB), 9 pin to Macbook (Firewire) and start the iMovie. The program iMovie authomatically picks up the camcorder recording and pops up a window with "Import" button. Click on this button for the transfer. It is as easy as that...
Low price is a big bonus. Highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Buy, 2 Dec. 2012
By 
mc (Southampton, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: CPO 2 m FireWire 800 Cable 9 - 4 Pin - Black and Blue (Accessory)
Arrived practically the next day - excellent service. This product performs the same way as the more expensive brands on the market. I would recommend this buy to prospective customers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fire wire, 13 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CPO 2 m FireWire 800 Cable 9 - 4 Pin - Black and Blue (Accessory)
excellent! worked first time, good price too.speedy delivery. information of this item was well set out containing a photo, which enabled me to know i had the correct lead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good cable, 6 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This cable is a chunky qaulity cable with fairly decent screening and solid connectors (not gold). I use it to connect my Sony mini DV camcorder to my iMac. Works a treat.

2 points to note:
I ordered a 2m cable and received a 5 metre one. I'm not that bothered, but if not having a mess of cable is important to you, be insistent in the comments when ordering.
The cable is pretty thick and stiff - all good stuff, but if you want a neat cheeky little one for travelling in your backpack, bear this in mind.

All in all, I'm very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews