Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FireWire 800
If you are looking for a cable to connect your DV video camera to a new iMac, this is a good choice. Good price.
Published on 4 Feb. 2010 by Bjorn Wahlsten

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't work for DV cameras
If used to connect DV camera to Mac, the camera appears to be recognised by OSX, and some controls are available in Adobe Premier, but won't capture, and iMovie does not detect the camera at all.

Found that the similarly priced Belkin cable did work and DV camera is detected by iMovie and imports without any problems - hence it's an issue with this cable, and...
Published 12 months ago by Ed Seymour

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FireWire 800, 4 Feb. 2010
By 
Bjorn Wahlsten "PolarBear" (Canarian Islands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CPO 2m FireWire 800 Cable 9 pin to 4 pin - Black and Blue (Accessory)
If you are looking for a cable to connect your DV video camera to a new iMac, this is a good choice. Good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Firewire 800 9 pin to 4 pin - Excellent, 30 April 2010
This review is from: CPO 2m FireWire 800 Cable 9 pin to 4 pin - Black and Blue (Accessory)
I would like to say what a speedy service this was. Ordered it Thursday lunch time and was delivered the next day.

A must have item if you have a digital camcorder with DV (IEEE 1394) and a iMac with a Firewire 800 9 pin. I used iMovie which picked up the camera straight away, with a very good quality.

Thanks : )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No problems at all, 10 Aug. 2010
By 
E. Budd - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CPO 2m FireWire 800 Cable 9 pin to 4 pin - Black and Blue (Accessory)
I needed this cable to connect an older digital camcorder to my newer Mac. Went to Maplin who wanted to charge me £19 for it. I thought 'hmm'. Found this one on Amazon, ordered it, and it arrived within days.

To be fair the Maplin one had gold plated connections, and might be superior in other ways I don't understand, but this one is working just fine for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old mini DV cam-corder, 24 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CPO 2m FireWire 800 Cable 9 pin to 4 pin - Black and Blue (Accessory)
I have an old JVC mini DV with loads of tapes to copy to DVD, after much searching found this cable - perfect for copying sound and footage to laptop. plug and play - no drivers needed. Very happy with purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be sure you know what you need., 12 Jun. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CPO 2m FireWire 800 Cable 9 pin to 4 pin - Black and Blue (Accessory)
Firstly, I echo the reviews of other buyers, quality product - delivered quickly.

A word of advise for the less tech savvy: Firewire (IEEE 1394) has three types of connector, 9,6 and 4 circuit. Examine your device closely to see which shape your ports are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't work for DV cameras, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CPO 2m FireWire 800 Cable 9 pin to 4 pin - Black and Blue (Accessory)
If used to connect DV camera to Mac, the camera appears to be recognised by OSX, and some controls are available in Adobe Premier, but won't capture, and iMovie does not detect the camera at all.

Found that the similarly priced Belkin cable did work and DV camera is detected by iMovie and imports without any problems - hence it's an issue with this cable, and not the Mac or camera.

It may work with other Firewire devices, but didn't work with a DV camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Decent cable, decent price., 28 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CPO 2m FireWire 800 Cable 9 pin to 4 pin - Black and Blue (Accessory)
There is not alot really to say about this, ordered and received it fairly fast, works totally fine with my 13" early 2011 Macbook Pro OSX Lion and my trusty Sony DCR-TRV250E which is a digital 8 handycam. Imovie pick's it up automatically and starts a import prompt, speed from the camera to the mac is nice and zippy too, all in all a good reliable lead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Firewire 1.8M IEEE1394, 800 cable, 9 pin to 4 pin, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CPO 2m FireWire 800 Cable 9 pin to 4 pin - Black and Blue (Accessory)
Above product purchased from CPO (Computer Products Online).
The firewire works extremely well and downloading from my old camcorder to my Apple could not be easier.
The delivery service from CPO was also very speedy.
mikexrc92

1.8M IEEE1394 FireWire 800 Cable, 9 pin to 4 pin, for Digital Camcorders / Cameras
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for Mac, 18 Oct. 2012
By 
Mr. Julian B. Berks "Jules" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CPO 2m FireWire 800 Cable 9 pin to 4 pin - Black and Blue (Accessory)
Bought it to connect my old Sony DV camera to my 2011 MacbookPro.
Impressed at the quality of the lead, especially given the price. I'd not be disappointed at 3 times the price in a store.
Plugged it in and it worked perfectly.
what is there to say - if you want to get your dv firewire camera working with a Mac, this is just the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good product, 3 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CPO 2m FireWire 800 Cable 9 pin to 4 pin - Black and Blue (Accessory)
What can you say about a lead? it is a good length and is quite a sturdy product, it should last a good while. I have bought leads in the past that fell apart not from Amazon I hasten to add, there should be no worries with this one. The item came within 2 days of ordering with free delivery. That was a surprise I was expecting it to take longer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Apple Thunderbolt to FireWire Adapter
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (125)   
Buy new£20.83
In stock

Neet® - FireWire 800 to 400 Cable - (2m) - 9 Pin to 4 Pin - IEEE 1394b (for Mac & PC) - 2m FLX Pro Lead
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (276)   
Buy new£7.95
In stock

FireWire 400 to 800 Adapter by Neet® - 6 pin (female) port to 9 pin (male) FW 800 Connector ** WHITE ** Ultra Compact **
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (276)   
Buy new£4.90
In stock