Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like to BBQ then this is the ONLY BBQ you will ever need.
I have saved off reviewing this until I had had enough time to use it properly and couldn't be happier. Having bought several cheap BBQ's in the past which have lasted probably a couple of years, I thought it was time to get serious and get the daddy of BBQ's.

Yes it's more expensive and you can get a cheap imitation from B&Q however with Weber, you are buying...
Published 14 months ago by Edward

versus
0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Assemby instructions look clear but they are not easy to follow
That saId we like webber. The old one rusted away after twelve years. Ee hope the new one will last as lomg and bring the sun out too!
Published 20 months ago by Robert


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like to BBQ then this is the ONLY BBQ you will ever need., 5 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weber 57cm One-Touch Premium (Kitchen & Home)
I have saved off reviewing this until I had had enough time to use it properly and couldn't be happier. Having bought several cheap BBQ's in the past which have lasted probably a couple of years, I thought it was time to get serious and get the daddy of BBQ's.

Yes it's more expensive and you can get a cheap imitation from B&Q however with Weber, you are buying a premium product and one that I know will last many years. I have had this for 2 years now and its still as good as new, probably using it in the summer at least 3 times a week.

If its your first kettle BBQ then it will take some getting used to and you must learn to use it like an oven. Its great for whole roast chicken, whole pork/rib joints and I have even done a whole turkey crown in this thing. Try not to keep checking it too often as it lets all the heat out. The cooking grill is hinged on either side which means you can add extra coal during the cooking process if, say, you are doing a large piece of meat which takes a while. I even bought a beer can device that you fill with beer/wine/OJ and spices that the chicken sits on and tastes amazing.

If your more into burgers and sausages then I would recommend putting charcoal to one side of the grill so that its not directly under the food as it will burn however with the lid on, these are cooked to perfection. I would also recommend getting the charcoal lighter chimney as it makes light work of getting the BBQ started with the absolute minimal of mess and fuss. I also bought a smoker - basically a small metal box with holes in which you fill with wood chips (that you MUST presoak first) and put this directly onto the the coals and with the lid on makes the meat taste amazing. I bought the oak chips from a Scottish distillery on ebay and were far cheaper than the JD whisky ones found at B&Q etc.

Emptying the ash couldn't be easier as the "one touch" system means that you can simply remove the deep ash pan underneath and empty the contents away and it also has a rotating blade thing underneath the grill which is used to scrape old ash into the pan below.

I would highly recommend getting the lid holder accessory which sits on the rim and is used to hold the lid when you are checking the food. Really this should be included with the BBQ as it's so handy. I also go the BBQ tool holder which does the same.

If you take your BBQing as seriously as I do then you will not be disappointed as this BBQ really is the best you can get and they don't call me the "Grill-Master" for nothing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget Gas, 8 Jun. 2010
By 
A. Jones "Forty something" (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Weber 57cm One-Touch Premium (Kitchen & Home)
I have over the years purchased a number of different BBQ.....My weber is now 5 years old and used week in week out and although you will pay top prices compared with some of the DIY stores.....you will notice why.........the kettle is capable of so much more, have a look on the web for a dish called beer can chicken.......I would recommend you purchase a starter chimney, a brush and mit....if you leave it out as I do then a cover is a must.

After fiveyears of use it still looks good no rust and sits well on the patio if you are a BBQ warrior this is the weapon of choice........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Quality, 26 Aug. 2013
By 
Ant (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Weber 57cm One-Touch Premium (Kitchen & Home)
Its quality all the way with Weber and this barbecue is no exception. I already have a smaller compact Weber and have been using that for about three years and I must say that it transformed my barbecuing - mainly because of keeping the lid on and often using indirect cooking. A chimney starter was enormously helpful too. The only problem was, as I got better at barbecuing, more family wanted to come round to share it! So I bought this and got a great deal including a cover, tools and an apron.

Opening the box and assembling the barbie is, for me, part of the enjoyment of the Weber. Even the packaging oozes quality. Pretty straightforward to assemble, but take care to follow the instructions closely, and maybe take a look at a Youtube video - there are a few about for this model, and although one is a French video, there's no dialogue! Most care needs to be taken on attaching the ash catcher ring, threading the control through it and clipping the ring inside the leg joints under the main pan. Then, when attaching the legs, make sure you do as instructed to make sure they are properly pushed in - don't hammer them! Take your time, set out all the pieces and enjoy the process - or get someone who likes doing that sort of thing...

Comes with charcoal rails to hold charcoal back for indirect cooking, so you don't need to buy those separately, a disposable drip tray and a charcoal measuring cup. The instruction book has a useful table setting out times and suggested grilling methods for various foods.

This model really seems to be THE charcoal barbecue - there are lots of accessories available for it, plus many videos feature it.

Highly recommended, as is the stockist. Oh, if you're getting one - get a chimney starter too. And a cover. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep the lid on!, 7 Sept. 2011
By 
JohnEurope (Sonthofen Germany) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Weber 57cm One-Touch Premium (Kitchen & Home)
First of all its the reputation. Even after many years of grilling on the patio using mediocre equipment, you just have to buy a Weber and then you think: "Why didn't I do this years ago?" The quality really is the best. The materials are solid and stable. The grill works like a dream. In addition there is lots of support available: tips in the owners' manual, helpful books available and lots of tempting but also very high quality extras or accessories which make grilling exciting. Once you've understood the rule "keep the lid on as much as possible" you really start cooking; anything and everything seems possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here is my review for the One Touch Original, 1 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Weber 57cm One-Touch Premium (Kitchen & Home)
Same product but this one has an ash catcher on, it's good, but not sure if worth the premium. Here is my review for the original:
This is the updated name (with a few minor improvements) for what was previously known as the One Touch Silver, so it is worthwhile posting my Silver review for this item also as I hope it helps people in selecting this great barbecue:

Look at reviews on Amazon.com and you will see that people have had these for 20 years and they are still going strong.
So what makes it a classic? First, it was the first of its kind in its design. The food should be cooked with the lid on. This allows even cooking of the food and not the burnt outside/uncooked inside phenomena beloved of barbecues.
Most items should not actually be cooked over the coals, but instead "indirectly". This is really simple- pile the coals on one side, the food on the other, and put the lid on. Try beer can chicken. Get a small chicken or two, rub in salad oil dressing, get a small beer can, drink half, then shove it (with the remaining beer) up the chicken's jacksi. Put it on indirect heat for 2 hours covered- basting in a mixture of white wine vinegar and soy sauce every 30 mins or so. It comes out so succulent it is unbelieveable. Try that on your £500 gas barbecue!
Second reason- it is a classic in its build quality. It is designed to last years, left outside, uncovered. It is covered in a ceramic paint, and takes some hammer. I dropped the lid on stone flags when it was brand new, but I don't worry about a bit of scuffing/ chipping on it- it will get plenty more abuse over the years. You will see other "kettle" barbecues (ripped off from the original design of this); don't even bother.
The food tastes so much better on this than a gas barbecue- no drying out of the food, and a smoky taste.
So how does the product work? Well it is easily assembled (just a hammer needed) in about half an hour. There is a grate near the bottom of the kettle where the coals are put, then a cooking grill that rests further up the bottom half. The "one touch" feature is three metal "leafs" that sit in the very bottom of the kettle. These leafs can be rotated with a handle on the outside, and cover some vents which should be open when cooking. As the ash develops from the coals on the grate, it drops down into the bottom of the kettle- some of it will fall out of the holes onto the circular silver tray you can see on the photo between the tripod legs. However, when you have finished your cooking and the coals have cooled, you can then rotate the silver leafs, and they will gradually push all of the ash in the bottom out onto the silver tray, which is then removed and poured into a bin.
Fat also runs out of the bottom of the barbecue onto the silver tray.
There is also a metal vent on the top of the barbecue which can be opened and closed to increase/ decrease the heat- the more the vents are open, the more air gets in and the hotter it gets.
Don't bother cleaning it (apart from shifting the ash) after barbecuing. It used to take me forever to clear my gas barbecue. Here, all you do next time you heat it up is rub the cooking grill with a wire brush and all muck comes off it. Weber recommend you wash the kettle out once a year- that is it!
There is one reason many of the professional barbecuer's use this - search for example for the barbecue pit boys who show you how to barbecue properly- it is because it is the best.
Also get a Weber fire starter chimney. This essential piece of equipment is filled with your coals/ charcoal, put four pieces of scrunched up newspaper underneath, and light it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect summer grilling from a top quality BBQ, 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weber 57cm One-Touch Premium (Kitchen & Home)
Get ready for summer... don't waste your money on cheap BBQs (or gas powered jobs), the Weber is the dogs danglies of the outdoor grilling world - and you can't go wrong with this one.

Easy to light and use, the lid with thermometer means that the inside temperature can reach 200C or more - ensuring that your food is well cooked through. Plenty of room to cook for 4-6 people. You can adjust the airflow at the bottom and in the lid, and the ash is collected easily in the bucket at the bottom.

It's very, very well made in heavy gauge steel that feels like it will last for years - indeed ours is quite happy to sit outside for most of the summer.

Like all BBQs, it's a bit of a pain to clean - but the solid enamel metal and good, thick wire racks at least mean you can attack it with oven cleaner and scourers without worrying that it will dissolve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A revelation., 15 April 2012
This review is from: Weber 57cm One-Touch Premium (Kitchen & Home)
OK so I've had BBQs for more years than I'd care to mention and, like most blokes I guess, until now barbecuing basically meant carbonising the flesh of some poor beast that had given up it's rights to oxygen so that I could indulge my manly instincts to play with fire. Not much has changed on the carnivorous pyromaniac front to be fair, but at least now the poor beastie's sacrifice is being treated with the respect it deserves.

What's different about the 'Weber way' and why am I so impressed? The answer lies in the use of kettle style indirect cooking and the ability to effectively manage both the position of the charcoal and the temperature inside the kettle. I've now tried sirloin steaks, pork loin, burgers, fish and whole chickens in the Weber, all with excellent, succulent, carbon free results.

Others have spoken about the build quality of the Weber, so enough said - it's excellent.

I'd heartily recommend 'Weber's Complete Barbecue Book' as an accompaniment to this BBQ as it has many really exciting recipes and more importantly some excellent basic instruction and theory about the art of barbecuing.

Remember: KEEP THE LID ON!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars webertastic, 25 April 2011
This review is from: Weber 57cm One-Touch Premium (Kitchen & Home)
We have had ours for 7 years now and I have to say it is the best Barbie we have ever had. Over the years I have tried many BBQ's from both gas & charcoal types and the weber is the only one I would and have recommend to anybody in the market for a new barbie.
It's a lot of money to spend whwn you can get a similar looking one for half the price BUT 7 YEARS LATER OURS LOOKS AND WORKS AS NEW.
Whole chicken, legs of lamb, joints of beef,steaks, down to the humble burger and suasage all cook and take on the barbie flavour without any burnt or black and half cooked centres of the lookalikee competition.
We live for the outside summer evenings and this little cooker has pride of place on our patio. When and if we have to replace ours weber BBQ it will be with the same type and model as the extra ash catcher is bloody useful.
we can only give 5 stars but is worth TEN.
Prionnsias S.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the box!!, 17 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weber 57cm One-Touch Premium (Kitchen & Home)
Easy to use, easy to assemble, Easy to clean = just what we needed (& made a perfect fathers day & birthday present too!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best I have used, 8 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weber 57cm One-Touch Premium (Kitchen & Home)
we bought this for a BBQ weekend we have organised for around 20 or so people, and thing thing was brilliant. Took me about 20 minutes to put together, and it's a very solid, high quality bit of kit. The ash collector makes emptying a doddle, and the integrated thermometer is incredibly useful.

I'd recommend the following accessories to make life easier:

Lid holder - allows you to slide the lid to one side rather than have to hold it or put it down. Lid is large and heavy (and hot obviously) so being able to stow it while turning food is great

Chimney starter - I was sceptical, but for me it's essential. Allows you to get all charcoal evenly heated before starting. However, even more useful is the ability to do the same when you coals are running low. You can get another batch all heated up and just tip them in fully heated when they are ready
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Weber 57cm One-Touch Premium
£235.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews